We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Seafood” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hofnin

Hofnin
Ranked #23 of 455 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Soups, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Hofnin has a beautiful seaside view overlooking the harbour.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Here in this out of the way place is this wonderful seafood restaurant that sits right next to the harbor. The service was great and the food was even better. This is a must go to place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    230
    62
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

I visited Hofnin with a friend and from the get-go, the service was amazing. The owner chef actually greeted us and brought us to our tables, which was very nice. The food was delicious and the suggested beers were great. I don't drink beer but the staff showed me a very nice one. The food was delicious and I will be going back next time I am in Reykjavik. Thanks for the great time!

Helpful?
2 Thank Elskan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Great, fresh seafood with a great view of the harbor! A nice, quaint setting to end a day full of busy sight seeing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SaminaHendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dinner whit Wife”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Immediately got the impression that they are only thinking of getting as manny gests in as they can-The Shellfish soup ( a la Höfnin ) was cold and i got the Grilled spotted wolffish (to expensive and just a sample ).My wifes grilled ribeye was cold but tasted god.
Understaffed and not the best waiters , but to make justice the environment is cool and the Deserts was awesome

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank krabbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The best indroduction to Icelandic cusine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Thi was pur first dinner in Reykjavik. I went there after a research about Slow Food Iceland and I can highly recommend Hofnin as the place to try what Icelandic cusine has to offer. The seafood was amazing as the mussels were. the service is perfect as often in Reykjavik and the atmosphere was cozy and not noisy despite the place being full. The location on the harbour is also really nice making Hofnin so easy to find that no one should miss it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alberto Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hofnin also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Hofnin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing