We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint harborside dining”
Review of Hofnin

Hofnin
Ranked #21 of 473 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Hofnin has a beautiful seaside view overlooking the harbour.
Sparta, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Quaint harborside dining”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We dined on a Sunday evening around 6pm without a reservation. The restaurant is small and quaint and along the wharfside in Reykjavik Old Harbour. The service was quite good. The server offered to 'simplify' our young daughter's chicken dish to avoid any "pick eater problems". The rest of us had their fish stew which was served in a manner we've never seen before but from what I heard from our taxi driver is quite the norm, in a mashed potatoes like consistency. It was delicious! Throw in a couple of Gull beer's and it was aces across the board. Did I tell you eating in Iceland is the next expensive thing after airfare? Be ready for it, or do as folks recommend, taking in a very large lunch as your dinner where portions are similar but prices lower.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SpartaBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapitola56, Guest Relations Manager at Hofnin, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear SpartaBrian,

Happy to learn that you enjoyed our Fishstew. Comments like your encourage us to do as well as we can at all times.

On behalf of the management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    257
    67
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food & great atmo”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Loved the atmosphere and food was splendid. Although welcoming service it was not flawless. All in, I recommend the place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stebbieiriks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapitola56, Guest Relations Manager at Hofnin, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hi Stebbi Eiríks,

Thank you for this review, glad to hear you enjoyed the food! How was the service not to your liking? We would really appreciate that you would give us a more detailed information in this regard as we continuously try to better our service to our guests.

Thank you

On behalf of the management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Like a few other reviewers i was expecting a first class experience from the reviews. The staff were really friendly and the ambience very pleasant. However I ordered mussels relatively early in the evening and they were off the menu. Since I wanted a light menu I ordered the langoustines on naan bread. What a disappointment, the bread was soggy, the tomato sauce bland and a few langoustine tail cuts were scattered on top. I have cooked better at home. Maybe the main courses are better but the meal I received didn't warrant the rating.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judithvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapitola56, Guest Relations Manager at Hofnin, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear judithvb,

We are sad to hear about your experience at our restaurant Hofnin. Is there any way we can make this up to you? Thank you for providing us with this review, it is of vital importance to us to receive informative responses about our food and services and we do not take it lightly when our sustomers have sad experiences like you express.
Wishing you all the best and we hope if you have the change to visit Iceland again, that we can make it up to you.

On behalf of the management of Hofnin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sweet Harbour View but don't pass the salt shaker”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had high hopes for Hofnin Restaurant. And, it was a special night, our first night together in Reykjavik. It's a really lovely location, a cozy spot with a view of the harbour, and though the outdoor seating was inviting, we chose an indoor, window seat. It really is a lovely spot. And, the menu held great promise, with fresh, Icelandic ingredients and what seemed to be an interesting fusion interpretation. Perhaps it was the choices we made that evening, but we found the food incredibly salty. We chose "Humar Naan" (langustine, naan bread, chunky tomato, cream cheese and rucola) and "Snaedingur" (sushi-styled barley roll with Arctic char, lamb confit spring roll and grilled tiger shrimp with melon and salad), and the combination of too much salt, cream cheese and deep-friend spring roll seemed overly intense and rich...and simply too salty, overwhelming what seemed to be good, fresh seafood. The staff were very friendly and relaxed, the location and atmosphere are wonderful, the prices are very good (Icelandic restaurants are generally very expensive), but, sadly, some of the saltiest food we've ever eaten.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poppyandlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapitola56, Guest Relations Manager at Hofnin, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear poppyandlily,

Ouch, the salt troll was out! We are sad to hear that you had a less than perfect experience at our restaurant Höfnin. Thank you for providing us with the information and the dates. We will look into this very closely. Hoping you will return, so we can make it up to you somehow.

On befhalf of the management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ultimate Icelandic-European-Asian fusion”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

On the harbour front, we were delighted with our dining experience at Hofnin in Reykjavik. Our meals were delicious and inspired, incorporating superb Icelandic produce including lamb, Arctic Char, langoustines and locally grown vegetables and delicious sauces. The decor and ambiance was upmarket yet relaxed, and the exceptional view a real treat. Priced at average level for Iceland but serving 4 to 5 star quality, Hofnin represents excellent value and is a must-visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank upsticksandleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hofnin also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Hofnin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing