We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hofnin offers a beautiful harbour view”
Review of Hofnin

Hofnin
Ranked #21 of 473 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Hofnin has a beautiful seaside view overlooking the harbour.
Orangeville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Hofnin offers a beautiful harbour view”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Our Hotel Natura recommended this restaurant to us when we were unable to obtain a table on a Saturday night for any of TA's top five recommended restaurants. (We tried to make those reservations Saturday morning so don't make our mistake and wait so late!) I enjoyed Reindeer meatballs at Hofnin for the first time (what would Santa say?!) and I have to say the view was quite wonderful right by the harbour which sets them apart from most other dining spots. There is one table right between the two large windows where one isn't able to see outside as well but you can still see some of the lovely view.
The wine list was somewhat disappointing but that was consistent with our other dining experiences in Iceland. Perhaps accessibility presents problems. Being on an island certainly affects food prices. We found Hofnin, and all the better places to eat, very expensive though the food is very good. To put into perspective how expensive food can be in Reykjavik: a hamburger and fries at Hotel Natura is around $25! Hofnin seemed to be a popular date spot for locals (it was, after all, Saturday night) which made it a tiny bit dressier than the typical very casual dress seen everywhere in Reykjavik.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Torontolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    257
    67
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Find it if you can.”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

It's at the harbour and the only reason we found it was by doing the City Tour that day. I had read the review on Tripadvisor and made notes of the recommended restaurants and this one.
It was everything I had read and more. The staff were really friendly and we had a great table by the window.
As we are not big eaters we asked if we could have portions to share. Not a problem. Mussels was the first course and thank goodness we only had 1/2 a portion. Our dishes were overflowing and not until the bill came did we realise that it was only 1/2.
I had Catfish as my main course. Couldn't manage a desert but did have coffee.
The food is not the cheapest but it certainly is fine dining.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Viv J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious local food”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Lovely location by the old harbour. delicious langoustine and amazingly tender lamb. Not cheap but worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Having read the reviews we found ourselves rather disappointed. Perhaps our expectations had been raised too high. The service was unsmiling and offhand which is such a shame because it adds so much to the pleasure. The food was well cooked and nicely presented but was bland and boring. There was no wow factor at all.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Anniversary Treat”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Because we were celebrating our First Wedding Anniversary during our trip we decided to treat ourselves to an authentic Icelandic meal. We booked online prior to travelling after reading tripadvisor reviews.
The meal and restaurant did not disappoint, frequented by locals and tourists alike the restaurant is situated at the harbour with two large windows playing out all the activities taking place.
The menu is interesting and varied. We both had the soup of the day which was broccoli. This was very delicate in flavour and we both thoroughly enjoyed it. My husband had the reindeer meatballs which he thought were fantastic and I had the Lamb which was superb.
The service was attentive but none intrusive, just how we liked it.
As with all of Iceland it is on the expensive side, but everywhere is and we were treating ourselves.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hofnin also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Hofnin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing