We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”
Review of Nautholl

Nautholl
Ranked #139 of 464 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $34
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nauthóll features modern Icelandic cuisine with an emphasis on fresh local ingredients, in-house production and casual atmosphere. Nauthóll is led by master chef, Björn Ingi Björnsson, who is a part of a new generation of Icelandic chefs, committed to sustainable cuisine. Nauthóll is situated in the outskirts of Öskjuhlíd, Reykjavik's downtown nature paradise, overlooking Reykjavik thermal beach and only a 5-minute drive from downtown Reykjavik.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The food is good and fresh, service is fine, environment charming, but the local itselt is very noisy during lunch hours.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MBH59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    42
    13
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
safetybob
Level Contributor
98 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“wonderfull food and a walkfrom the hotel”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

we went with another couple wemet on the tour -the hotel recommended the place and we could walk there-we were very pleased with fine dining and greta wine

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank safetybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic !”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Nice Restaurant with a beautiful view...we ate langoustine, lamb, and local fish...it was perfect !!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mista_djo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So glad I ate here!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This restaurant is a fair way out of the centre of town. It was about a 20min walk from the main church, but boy was it worth it! It's a very simple restaurant with minimalist decor and polite staff. I chose the braised lamb shank with mash and roasted veg and it was the best food I'd had in a long time. Never had lamb so tender. Considering prices elsewhere, this was a good value meal because the quality of food and service was very very good. Like past reviewers have mentioned, it seemed that on a Saturday night we were the only non-Icelandic people eating there. Got to be a good sign right? Make the effort to head a bit out of town. You won't regret it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank everydayduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The food is better than what I experienced downtown”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I decided to try this place out to get away from all of the tourists and enjoy great Icelandic food. This place did not disappoint as we were the only tourists there and the food was great. We both decided to have the fish of the day and it was delicious and filling. There is a small geothermal beach nearby and running paths leading up to the Pearl, so I am not sure if it may get more tourists in the summer.

To get there you go to the end of bus route 19, and then walk around the university building. The restaurant is equidistant from the university building on the opposite side.

The prices are equivalent to prices in the city, but the atmosphere, food, and view are better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magicofeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nautholl also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Kopavogur, Capital Region
 

Been to Nautholl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing