We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Exploring”
Review of Goecco

Goecco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Experience the real Iceland on our down-to-earth eco-friendly tours. We are known for finding new places and inventing new tours guided by real men and women. Come along if you want to disconnect from reality and connect with nature. Bring big smiles, an open mind and a generous spirit!
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This review is a little late but it is 100% accurate! This is one of the best tour companies that I have ever dealt with. We saw a lot of amazing things and everyone was so nice and helpful. They drove us through white outs, patiently explaining the history and culture as we went. If you want to see Iceland, book it through this company!

Thank PTTraveler89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goecco-Reykjavik, Front Office Manager at Goecco, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words and this great review! We are happy to hear you consider Goecco as one the best tour companies you ever have dealt with! This is just such a pleasure to read, as your experience means a great bunch to us and keeps us at our toes! So, again thank you very much for joining us and recommending Goecco!

Happy and BIG smiles from Iceland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

395 - 399 of 772 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014

After wondering if the 2 day tour would in fact go ahead it was great to hear a few days before the tour that we had reached the required minimum number of 4 tour members.
Jonas (and for some of the time his son Freddy) were excellent guides, giving us insight into Icelandic life, not just facts and figures. The weather was cold and windy with lots of rain but it did not matter - the sights are amazing, the company was great (3 fellow solo travellers), Goecco had some necessary rain gear for us, there was a hot shower at the end of the day, Jonas was very entertaining and he cooked a wonderful fish meal for dinner. The weather meant it was not possible to see the ice caves but there were so many other highlights it was not a big issue at all. I appreciated the "safety first" approach. There were plenty of food/toilet stops along the way which meant we were all well catered for.
This tour definitely exceeded my high expectations and given that Iceland seems to be an expensive place I thought it was good value for the cost.

1  Thank SareBearGam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goecco-Reykjavik, Front Office Manager at Goecco, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

So happy to read this great review!!! Thank you so much for your kind words and for joining Goecco! Glad to hear you appreciated the "safety-first" approach and that the weather did not influence on your Icelandic adventure, Promise us to come back for more adventures!!! We have so much more to show you!!!

Big smiles from Iceland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We did a White Night Hike. We were a really unlucky as we had very bad weather and almost no visibility. Still the guides were friendly and helpful and we finished the hike.
The highlight though was Goecco's extremely professional approach afterwards. After the tour they contacted us asking about our experience, especially given the dismal conditions we got. They handled the matter in a unbelievably professional manner, in a way that I would never have expected by anyone offering similar services to do.
Even for only that I would recommend using Goecco and Jonas and his group as totally professional and trustworthy people.

Thank Filippos Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goecco-Reykjavik, Front Office Manager at Goecco, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Thank you so much for writing this great review and for joining Goecco! We are a small tour operator company, and are absolutely in deep gratitude for your kind words! Again, thank you for recommending us - and please come back again some day. We still have many spectacular places to show you!!

Big and happy smiles from Iceland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Jonas' trip was like going out with a friend who wants to show you all the great things that he knows about a countryside he clearly loves. We saw so many breathtaking views and had time for a hot swim in the 1926 built outdoor pool. His "guiding" was low key, not like a lecture but he'd tell you all he knew. He's pretty funny too - in English. I have to go back, I want to go further North.

1  Thank RicardoGirafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goecco-Reykjavik, Front Office Manager at Goecco, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Thanks a million for this great review!!! We are deeply grateful that you enjoyed the many breathtaking views and swim too ! 
Please do come back for more tours - we´ll gladly show you around more places in Iceland!

Kind and happy smiles from Iceland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

This trip was amazing! Full of fun, laughs, lively conversations, and amazing sights!! Thanks to Jonas and Frederick for not only showing us the amazing sights but also being mindful of the weather. The weather can change within minutes!! We were lucky enough to have a nice sunny morning hike on top of the glacier to the ice caves. Due to the weather, and the melting of the cave,it would have been unsafe to go in. Thank you for making sure our well being and safety was guaranteed! It was still worth the hike! I would highly recommend this tour.

Thank SCTROJAN11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goecco-Reykjavik, Front Office Manager at Goecco, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Thank you very much for your kind words and for recommending our Goecco tour! Happy to hear you felt safe during our tour - wellbeing and safety is certainly an important thing for us! Hope to see you again on other great adventures around our beloved Iceland!

Happy and BIG smiles from Iceland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goecco also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Goecco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing