We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tour Extraordinaire!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Goecco Indie Tours

Goecco Indie Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Experience the real Iceland on our down-to-earth eco-friendly tours. As we go along we throw in a bit of good music, local food and just enjoy real people talking to real people! We have made our way into famous travel books and the world press. So if you want to go on a different adventure go with us.
san diego
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tour Extraordinaire!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Three of us went to Iceland in early March 2014 and we had pre-booked several private tours in various locations throughout this spectacular country. Our final tour was out of Reykjavik with Goecco Eco Adventures.

This particular tour was called the South Coast tour (about a 15-hour adventure) and we were not fully prepared for how overwhelmingly stunning our experience would be. Jonas, our local guide, story teller, and bon vivant, picked us up about 8:00am and told us to be prepared for something super special, and, he was right, of course. He was friendly, informed, educated, well-traveled and funny. His passion for his country is evident. He knew how to avoid the crowds of other tourists by timing his tour well--and traveling further than the big buses did--YES!
Our first stop was to a secret waterfall, while the big tour buses visited a different one nearby. The secret waterfall was awe-inspiring and sacred. We were alone. The cascading spray was a true baptism of beauty.

Off we went to visit a hidden ice cave that was along a dirt road and tucked into the side of a snow-covered hill. A small entrance hole in the hillside and a meandering diminutive stream exiting the cave was the only clue to its existence. Inside, the large and winding cavern was a crystal cave of glossy blue ice that sported multiple worm-hole tubes in it's ceiling that illuminated the cave. A small stream criss-crossed small wooden bridges, allowed us to explore the cave throughly. It was other-wordly and,to make it even more intriguing, local legend indicates there may just be a frozen Viking hidden buried within the slick frozen walls. And why not. . . ? I saw strange things behind the ice. Ha!

The rest of the day and evening was filled with more fantastic features introduced with historical perspective to us by Jonas: the largest lava field in the world frosted with snow, a melting glacial river flowing to the sea, chock full of icebergs, iceberg-lets and brown-eyed frolicking seals. We walked along a silky, black, lava-sand beach, with various sizes of ice chunks tumbling in the surf line and scattered across the beach. A photographer's dream: snow white and jet black highlighted by green ice and ocean blue-grey.

We stopped at local places for bathroom breaks, food, and coffee. Everyone was friendly, the places clean, and the food was good. What else is there? I would encourage any traveler that wants to have a private tour with a great guide to go with Goecco Eco tour. He offered great tips and insider information. He speaks three languages and was engaging and fun. If you are going to spend hours on a tour, this is the one to go on. . . worth the money and the time. A true TOUR EXTRAORDINAIRE!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank whipmisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goecco-Reykjavik, Owner at Goecco Indie Tours, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
We can't thank you enough for this beautifully written review! Thanks for the wonderful, kind words it was a real pleasure to spend the day with you guys!

Big smiles and hugs
Jonas & Christina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    667
    43
    17
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Day - South coast & ice chase”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

What an amazing day! We pre booked the south coast & glacier lagoon day tour with Jonas and he was brilliant right from the first email - answering our endless questions, letting us know exactly what all to bring and even recommending other activities for the rest of our trip. The actual day was nothing short of fantastic, Jonas' enthusiasm and adventurous spirit is infectious and he kept us entertained throughout with quirky anecdotes, stories and great music. It was an incredibly long day and we saw so much but didn't feel rushed at all. There was always enough time to stop for pictures, grab a snack and just take in the view. Jonas suggested an impromptu change in the itinerary on the day - he had heard about a crystal cave and wanted to take us there. We had to skip out on a few of the other stops to do this, but it was SO worth it. Getting up close to the ice cave was the highlight of our trip to Iceland! Jonas stops at so many off the grid sights, you feel like you're on an unreal adventure discovering Iceland by yourselves. If you book only one trip in Iceland, make it one with GoEcco.

Helpful?
Thank Trisha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goecco-Reykjavik, Owner at Goecco Indie Tours, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you sooooo much for this fantastic review!!! This was such a great day!!!! I was so overwhelmed to stand in front of all this ice!!!! Thanks for sharing this day with us!!!!

Big smiles and hugs
Jonas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Day !!!!! Glacial lagoon and Ice Cave too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

What a Great day we had with Jonas on a visit to the Glacial Lagoon.
Jonas handled the long snowy drive with great care. We went to the usual tour locations and then some that were special just to ourselves. The ice cave was a huge surprise and so beautiful.Jonas was as happy to be there as we were. It was wonderful. He is enthusiastic about the environment and Iceland and her people.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rodline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goecco-Reykjavik, Owner at Goecco Indie Tours, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
This was a day I will never forget!!! Was so great to share it with you guys!!! Thank you so much for this review!!!!!

Big smiles from Reykjavik
Jonas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, Engladn
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Long but good day ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

We'd booked the 2 day glacier lagoon trip but the wind was so strong that Jonas cancelled the first day and we did an Express tour on the second day. Jonas refunded the difference in costs. We packed loads in, including a long search for the Northern Lights on the way back. A tiring day and I think if you have the time it'd be better to do the 2 day trip. Wakjng up next to the glacier would be amazing. But great nonetheless.

Helpful?
Thank Travelover47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goecco-Reykjavik, Owner at Goecco Indie Tours, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thanks for the nice review!!! We are sorry that the volcanic ash storm and closed roads came in our way, but we did our best to keep every one safe and still make the tour.

Big smiles from Reykjavik
Jonas & Christina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Worth every krona!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We booked a private trip for four to the Golden Circle in early February. Compared with some other tours, it's expensive, but then, everything in Iceland is pretty expensive, and it seemed worth splashing out on this trip which would take us off the beaten track. We weren't disappointed! Our guide was friendly, knowledgeable and entertaining. We went to places other, larger tours don't go, and the day flew by. We were lucky to have brilliant blue skies and sunshine and enough snow for a little off-roading to be exciting. Two of us took a dip in the geothermal pool. I do recommend it. Yes, it's very chilly getting changed and running round in the bitter wind to the pool, but it's a fantastic experience. We would wholeheartedly recommend GoEcco to other visitors to this beautiful country. They know what they are doing and do it so well.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pixie Cristobel... N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goecco-Reykjavik, Owner at Goecco Indie Tours, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you so much for this lovely review!!! Come back in the summer next time!!! We got more secret pools to show you!!!

Big smiles from Reykjavik
Jonas & Christina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goecco Indie Tours also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Goecco Indie Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing