We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Goecco Snaefellsnes Tour- Outstanding!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goecco Indie Tours

Goecco Indie Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Experience the real Iceland on our down-to-earth eco-friendly tours. As we go along we throw in a bit of good music, local food and just enjoy real people talking to real people! We have made our way into famous travel books and the world press. So if you want to go on a different adventure go with us.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Goecco Snaefellsnes Tour- Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Jonas and Cristina - you are incredible!!! My husband and I took the Snaefellsness tour with Goecco in early May and I can't stop raving about it. Jonas was dot on time (was kind enough to wait a few minutes while we finished our last-minute scramble), and then began the journey of a lifetime! From the music, to the stories, to the food and the places we visited with Jonas and Goecco- memories we will carry with us forever. And Iceland's best-kept secret spots too:):) The best thing about this trip- Jonas takes personal interest in you, your likes and the day is suited to what you want to do, so if you're looking for a day filled with fun, adventure, and brilliance, Goecco is the one to go for. We sang, we laughed, we swam, we marvelled. And we loved every single minute of it. Go, Jonas! You're the BEST!
- Priyanka and Satheesh Nair (London)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank P_1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goecco-Reykjavik, Owner at Goecco Indie Tours, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
You two!!!! Thanks soooo much for this wonderful review!!! Thanks for introducing us to Indian food, culture and interesting discussions about the news scene!!!! You were amazing guests!!! Thank you!!!

Big hugs
Jonas & Christina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    658
    41
    17
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great personalized experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

As others have stated, Jonas is a funny and vibrant man who customizes the tour to his audience. This beats the "cattle heard" style bus tours hands down, and the white night hike was a memorable experience. Thanks guys!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MentalAnarchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goecco-Reykjavik, Owner at Goecco Indie Tours, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thanks an bunch!!!!! It was so cool to have you on the hike! Come back for a beer next time you are in town!
- Jonas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
“South Shore and Glacial Lagoon tour - the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

My 19 year old daughter and myself recently took the South Shore tour to Jorkusarlon with Goecco in May. We cannot thank Teitur enough for an unforgettable and fantastic day with stunning scenery, excellent and enthusiastic insights into Iceland and great conversation. We will remember this day forever. It was the best day we had on a great 5 day trip to Iceland. The scenery and the colors of the landscape were beautiful, all the stops well chosen and although this is a long day travelling from Reykjavik, for fellow travellers who decide to take this trip with Goecco you will be glad you did!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 334Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goecco-Reykjavik, Owner at Goecco Indie Tours, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Barbara & Charlotte thanks sooo much for writing this review!!! We are so happy that you enjoyed your day out with Teitur!!!

Big big smiles
- Jonas & Christina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic White Night Hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had one of our best travel experiences ever on the White Night Hike. Our guide (Teitur) was tremendously knowledgeable, funny, intelligent, gracious and warm. The landscape was other-worldly, like a landscape from the Hobbit, with moss-covered lava flows, wild sheep, mountains, steam vents, and burbling sulfurous sink-holes. Our fellow travelers were fun and interesting. My husband, our 21-year-old daughter and I came away from the trip feeling we understood a bit of Icelandic politics, history, geology, music, humor and perspective. In the process, we learned about ourselves too. It was super.

We left our hotel around 6 PM and got back a bit after midnight. Hiking / hot spring soaking time totaled about 3 hours. Bring good hiking boots, swimsuit. lawyers of warm clothes, rain jacket, camera and an open mind. Our trip included about an hour soak in the hot springs complete with Icelandic snacks (shark), light supper (gourmet sandwich) and beverages.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goecco-Reykjavik, Owner at Goecco Indie Tours, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you sooo much for this great, great review!!!!! Sounds like you loved the hike as much as we do!!! Great to have your family on our tour - come back soon!!!

Big smiles
- Jonas & Christina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The best!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Okay listen up everyone. I travel a lot and have done a variety of different types of tours. Big tour buses (if you happen to like being herded around like sheep), small-ish group tours (8-15 people), and frequently (including in Iceland) rent my own car and get around on my own with my own freedom. NONE of these compare with the experience and value you will get with Goecco.

My friend and I did the white night hike and south shore/glacier lagoon tours with GoEcco (the latter combination is one that no other company that I could find offers). Even though, by definition, all "tours" are four tourists, I was thrilled to discover that I would never feel like a tacky tourist when traveling with Goecco. Instead, just a small group (5) of cool people exploring the best of Iceland together. Teitur was our guide and he was funny, informative, and accommodating. We felt like we had a new friend.

We hiked through geothermal mountains, had a picnic (shark, brennivin, and homemade sandwiches and cake included) in a hot stream. We saw boiling mud pools, black sand beaches, gorgeous, powerful waterfuls, moss-covered lava fields, a glacier lagoon, and so much more. All while in the company of an amazing guide and cool people. Goecco really packs a lot of punch into the day, and for a great value too.

I can't recommend these guys enough. Words and even pictures cannot adequately express the amazing experience we had with Goecco. We had the time of ours lives and you will too!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank go12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goecco-Reykjavik, Owner at Goecco Indie Tours, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks you two!!!! Thanks for being awesome guests!!!! It was fantastic to have you on our tours!!!! And thanks for all the fun pictures - now we have proof that hidden people and elves are for real haha!!!!!

Big big smiles
- Jonas & Christina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goecco Indie Tours also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Goecco Indie Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing