We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious & superb location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Luna Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Luna Apartments
Ranked #25 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spacious & superb location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Really big appartment with modern furnishing.
Location is superb on the main shopping street.
Appartment is actually three rooms. A kitchen, living and bedroom.
Huge flat screen TV, lots of BBC. We watched Wimbledon every day.
We only used the kitchen for breakfast as there were numerous restaurants near by.
Good bakery shop on the other side of the street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    41
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
91
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here, there are only 5 apartments so there aren't a lot of people coming and going from the building which is nice, it's located on the Main Street,near a to of restaurants and stores. It was great to be so conveniently located to everything. Yes, it's a little loud at night. But all of Reykjavik is loud on the weekends!the noise didn't bother us or keep us up at night. Only downside is that they are actually apartments, it's not a hotel. So there is no cleaning service during your stay or "help desk". You're pretty much on your own. This would be a good place to stay if you're trying to save money because the kitchen is fully stocked with supplies.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Red8910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I booked the 37 apartments recently for our 5 day stay in Iceland. I booked purposely as it was near to the centre and I thought would be close to everything. Unfortunately this was to be our downfall.

The apartment itself is absolutely lovely, very modern, large, comfortable bed, very clean and the heating works great, and its unbelievably central to everything, but if you fancy a nights sleep, steer well and truly clear.

We arrived on a Friday and we went for a beautiful dinner at the Italian just across the road, we came back to sleep around 11.00pm, and I dont think either of us dropped off until way past 4.30am, the road turns in to a party night at night, with singing, young people drinking and lots of noise and laughter, fabulous if you are in your twenties, not so great if you fancy a nice relaxing break.

We hoped things would get better the second night, but unfortunately it was near on 5am before either of us fell asleep. By the time Sunday day time came we both felt like zombies!

We gave Tereza a call (who manages the apartments), and I must say she was absolutely brilliant. She totally understood our predicament and actually mentioned that she was surprised that the cleaner had not left earplugs by the bed. (We had been out and bought earplugs but they didn't really help). She kindly offered to move us to an apartment at the back of the building, but we felt that this would not be much better, so at this point we chose to find alternative accommodation.

If you're a night owl then this is absolutely the place for you, you couldn't ask for more. But if you want a nice relaxing break, i'd steer clear of the central road and perhaps choose the outskirts of town a little (or at least check if they have double glazing/sound proof rooms).

I couldn't fault the service offered by Tereza and as I said the apartments were spotless, just not for us.

Room Tip: If you do stay, ask for an apartment at the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank erooney23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We arrived at the apartments after booking an hour before we arrived, we were greeted straight away and upgraded from a studio to a one bedroom apertment without charge. The owner gave us a little local knowledge and recomendationsfor bars and restaurants etc. The apartment was spotless and very modern with all the appliances you have have at home including an intigrated dishwasher. The location is perfect, right on the main shopping street although at rear of building so no noise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Location / amenities:
37 Apartments was very well-located, just off the main shopping street with the Bonus supermarket a few minutes walk away and a bakery across the road. It was also within a comfortable walking distance everywhere within the city.

We arrived in the evening and Aegir (who lives in the red house beside 37 Apartments) walked out to give us a warm welcome as we walk into the compound. We booked the studio but was upgraded to a 1 bedroom (room 4). Check in was swift and smooth, and we were able to pay with our debit card with no problems. Aegir then advised us to quickly drop by Bonus supermarket (cheapest supermarket around) to buy some necessities as it will be closing in 30mins time. How thoughtful of him. We picked up the Skyr, their local yogurt-like cheese, and kept them in our apartment fridge which came in handy. Ate them when we come back from day trips at the end of the day.

The apartment was spacious, clean, modern, new, and well-equipped with kitchen utensils (enough to last us throughout our 3 night stay without washing), fridge, dishwasher, kettle, iPod dock/ player, plenty of wardrobe storage. Aegir also showed us some cooking stuff we can use that was stored in the shared area outside our room. There was ketchup, cooking oil, etc. We only pan-fried some fish cakes the next morning and didn't really cook much in our apartment. There was also a good hair dryer (3-speed, 3 heat level) that we can borrow. In-room wifi worked well throughout our stay. There were also adequate power source around the room to charge our cameras (important because your battery does not hold that much charge in cold temperatures so we had to charge every day), some by kitchen counter, and around the living room, and two charging points by each side of the bed for us to charge our mobile devices.

The apartment does not provide bath soap/ shampoo so bring your own. Also, bring your own bedroom slippers if you don't have a habit of walking around in shoes as your feet may pick up some residual dirt when you walk barefooted. Bring your own teabags/ coffee as well so you can make them in the morning in the apartment before heading out. Bath towels are provided.

Some reviewers commented that the area may be noisy on a weekend, however that was not the case for us. We went on a quiet weekend in January and it was extremely quiet and we slept very well. The two heaters in the bedroom and living room worked very well to keep us warm at night.

Getting there:
We arrived via the flyBus service from Keflavik airport. Best to opt for the flyBus+ service where the bus (minivan transfer) drops you at your hotel. The nearest hotel to 37 Apartments is Hotel Fron, which is a very short walk away. When we got onto the minivan, we showed the driver 37 Apartments map on my phone (googleMap to show the walking distance between Hotel Fron and 37 Apartments) and asked if the driver can drop us at 37 apartments instead. He was cool about it and dropped us right outside the apartment on the main street.

Conclusion:
Great location, smooth check-in, friendly owner, well-equipped, comfortable bed, well-maintained. We'll definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acme15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We booked a studio apartment, but on arrival were upgraded to the one bedroom for our three nights. It was already dark when we flew in to Keflavik, but we caught the airport shuttle to the Reykjavik Backpackers (the 37 apartments is not a designated stop for the shuttle) and found it to be only about 5 doors down, and on the opposite side of the road, to the 37 apartments. Perfect!

The apartment itself was spacious, with ample space for bags and coats and two people. The cooking facilities were ample, though the apartments owner also gave us some wonderful recommendations for where to eat - and where not to eat. He was spot on with each!

Beds were comfortable, pillows ample and shower was hot. My initial reservation was that the apartments did not include a washing machine but we took our laundry to the Backpackers down the street and they washed and dried all of mine and my husbands clothes for under 10 euros!

Check out was easy - even when leaving at 4:30am for our 7am flight - we simply slid our access card under the door of the owner of the apartments (who lives in the little red building immediately behind the apartments.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmeliaMx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes
Level Contributor
131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Reviews were spot on as this is a great place with good location to everywhere downtown. Best bakery in town is across the street. Stayed four nights. First two wer on lower florr in back, was quiet and nice. Second time was apartment two on floor two with street view, most spacious and light. I will say noisey, even with earplugs, it is way to much noise for us. However in off season and if you pick an off day, not weekends, it would be good. The back apartment is quieter and easier to move in and out your luggage. The owner is a most pleasant and accommodating man. They have parking n the rear, and also next door. If you are not used to crowded parking in Reykjavik it may be a bit crazy to find a spot because if fills rapidly. This is not a big issue as owners are quick to help u in every way. Your will not find a better value for the quality anywhere in Reykjavik.

Room Tip: front second floor for views and light, back behind for quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PicassoPaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
41 - A Townhouse Hotel
#35 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Island Apartments
#20 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Miõborg
Grettir Guesthouse
Grettir Guesthouse
#38 of 108 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Forsaela Apartmenthouse
Forsaela Apartmenthouse
#33 of 100 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Miõborg
Old Charm Reykjavik Apartments
Old Charm Reykjavik Apartments
#18 of 100 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Miõborg
Rey Apartments Hotel
Rey Apartments Hotel
#1 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Apartments

Property: Luna Apartments
Address: Laugavegur 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Formerly 37Apartments)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, these smart luxury apartments are situated just steps away from a wealth of Icelandic cultural and culinary experiences. We offer long and short term accommodation with facilities to compliment your stay. There is also abundance of local amenities within walking distance, including leisure activities such as saunas and swimming pools. 37Apartments Hotel's unique boutique style studios and suites will satisfy both your business and pleasure needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Luna Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
37apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing