We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, lovely place, bring your earplugs though.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Luna Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Luna Apartments
Ranked #24 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely place, bring your earplugs though.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Just stayed here for Icelandic Midsummer (Jonsmessa). The place was great and the location couldn't have been more central. Spotlessly clean and there was even a little balcony for us to watch the midnight sun from while prepping to go out for the night. The only thing about the place is that it is indeed on a main street so the revellers where right there. I had read about this beforehand so brought the earplugs. Problem solved!

Would definitely recommend this place as a relatively cheaper option to stay in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0529_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    41
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
91
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

I think this must be the best accomodation in Reykjavik. Our apartment was beautiful and very spacious. The interior design is absolutely amazing with great furniture and really nice art. If you appreciate great interior design you must visit 37 apartments.

The location is also really good, it's located at the main shopping street of Reykjavik (Laugavegur). So within a few steps you have access to a lot of restaurants and shops.

We staid in Iceland for 2 weeks, the last 3 nights we spent at 37 apartments. It was by far the best accommodation we've had in Iceland. The rooms are extremely spacious (especially compared with the mediocre "guesthouses" in Iceland). The bed is really comfortable and everything you need in an apartment is present (toaster, hairdryer, iPod speaker, electric kettle, extra cushions, blackout curtains, etcetera.).

Most small complaints I read on reviews (missing hairdryer for instance) seem to be fixed since a hair dryer is now present ;). Also a sign clearly states that parking is private so there's always a parking space available for guests of 37 apartments. I did not need to search for a parking space in the 4 days I spend at 37 apartments. Parking is located directly behind the apartments and is free of charge. A really nice bonus for such a central location.

The owner/manager Aegir is very nice and gave us some tips on restaurants. Because we liked the apartment so much he took (on our request) the time to give us a tour of 2 other apartments. Much appreciated. They were also converting another building to an apartment as well and we got a sneak peek. I think that place is going to be amazing just like the other apartments.

Amazing value for money compared to other apartments/hotels in Reykjavik.

Highly recommended, I would almost book another vacation in Reykjavik just to spend the night at 37 apartments again.

Room Tip: The street noise was barely audible in our apartment and did not disturb our night rest. We staid on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meinaart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Booked the 37Apartments after much trawling through the Internet for something stylish, central, yet affordable and from the very good reviews on Trip Advisor. I booked a 3 night mid-week stay as a suprise for my husband for his 35th birthday - and we had a wonderful time and I was so pleased with my choice the moment we arrived there. Aegir, the chap who runs the apartments, is really helpful and, typical of the Icelandic people, a thoroughly nice bloke. We had a one-bed apartment, on the first floor at the back of the property. Kitchen stocked with enough pots, pans, untensils, glasses etc to enable you to prepare decent meals. Lovely cooker, nice halogen hob, toaster, kettle etc. Also there is a docking station for MP3 player. In the hallway outside our room was a cupboard with iron and ironing board, plus spare loo paper, towels, tea towels and a few kitchen essentials like salt and pepper, which is for anyone to help themselves to. We had a seperate bedroom, which was lovely and comfy with a big flat-screen TV on the wall. Bathroom had no bath, but nice shower with constant hot water. Also the apartment was toasty warm, which was very nice to come back to after a long day out snowmobilling! Heating is via two big radiators in the apartment, the temperature of which you can control yourself, so if it gets to hot it can be turned down/off. We also had a small balcony, which was handy to pop out and have a ciggy on. All in all, we couldn't have been happier with the apartments, they are set back just off of the main street in Reykjavic and within easy walking distance to anything and everything you could want to visit in the town centre. I would 100% recommend these apartments and if we are ever lucky enough to go back to Reykjavic we'll be heading straight back to number 37!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dollyxdimple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

For the price, service, necessities, management and availability of parking - this is the place to stay. The apartment was safe, quiet and well-equipped in the kitchen - the only drawbacks were that it was sparse, bathroom amenities were not provided and I wouldn't classify the apartment as "romantic". With that being said, I would recommend the apartment to my friends and family - we definitely enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We loved everything about 37 Apartments. Finding it was easy. Parking right there off the street. The owner-manager was really great and helpful with emails before we arrived and once we were there. The bottom floor apartment (the awesome orange apartment - our nickname) on the back side was great for our family, including 2 younger teens, boy and girl. We were offered a choice of 2 available apartments and the kids choose the orange one because it was so cool. Great kitchen, bathroom, super comfortable bed and linens. Being on the back side was an advantage on Friday and Saturday night when Laugavegur gets really busy and noisy - unless you join in and don't care! The mid-Laugavegur location was great for walking the area. Everything was right there. We wanted to go back at the end of our traveling around Iceland, but they were already booked up.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canyonhikerbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012 via mobile

Decided to stay here because of price, location, and facilities, all of which were amply borne out in reality. Aegir, the manager, really welcoming and helpful. Upgraded to one-room apartment 'to allow us to smoke on the terrace' which was very welcome. Perfect kitchen, well-equipped, nice bathroom, cozy bedroom with double standard sized mattress, flat screen TV with USB port for playing our own films, good hifi set up with iPod docking port. Also great location, central but quiet, near the shops, wonderful bakery opposite, near the best bars, easy shuttle service to the airport (Hotel Fron, just down the street).
No hesitation in recommending it, and would definitely want to stay here again.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Great location and glad we found this place. Owner-manager is very helpful. On the nice central part of Laugavegur and not at the touristy end. Close (two blocks on either side) to lots of shops, restaurants, bars, grocery store. Culture House and Danish Embassy one street away. 37 refers to the street number. In a building containing I assume less than 1/2 dozen units. Was an office building and I believe a museum before that. Recently converted to accomodation so everything is new and kept clean. Typical narrow staircase (stayed in top floor 2 bedroom unit with my family of 4 April 2012) so be in shape to carry bags if staying on top (3rd) floor. This unit had bar fridge, cooktop (although we didn't use it), dishwasher, dining area off kitchen, balcony and living room. Offstreet parking. Laundry down the street. Within walking distance of one of the finest public pools built in 1930's. While in Reykjavic we barely used our car due to this ideal location. Expect some street noise on weekends. I assume you can avoid that by staying in the large chain hotels off Laugavegur but then you miss some of the uniqueness of this city. Beds very comfortable and nice linens and comforters. Fair on pricing vs what else we looked at. Overall ideal and very glad we found it.

Room Tip: If street noise bothers you, consider one facing back of property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Will9845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
41 - A Townhouse Hotel
#36 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Island Apartments
#20 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Miõborg
Grettir Guesthouse
Grettir Guesthouse
#38 of 108 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Forsaela Apartmenthouse
Forsaela Apartmenthouse
#32 of 100 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Miõborg
Old Charm Reykjavik Apartments
Old Charm Reykjavik Apartments
#17 of 100 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Miõborg
Rey Apartments Hotel
Rey Apartments Hotel
#1 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Apartments

Property: Luna Apartments
Address: Laugavegur 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Formerly 37Apartments)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, these smart luxury apartments are situated just steps away from a wealth of Icelandic cultural and culinary experiences. We offer long and short term accommodation with facilities to compliment your stay. There is also abundance of local amenities within walking distance, including leisure activities such as saunas and swimming pools. 37Apartments Hotel's unique boutique style studios and suites will satisfy both your business and pleasure needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Luna Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
37apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing