We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Reykjavik Backpackers
Ranked #76 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

In not one to write a negative review as I feel trip advisor is usually used as a mechanic for travellers to vent their frustrations and qualms.

However after 5 months of backpacking through 3rd world countries I thought we had experienced it all. Until Iceland.

Out flight didn't arrive till 11pm which meant a late checkin was required. The hostel offers and boasts a 24 reception. Upon arrival the staff member was cold, unwelcoming and blunt.

We put this down to the time of arrival. However the following day we enquired about doing a tour through the hostel. The staff on reception was more than unhelpful and proceeded to treat us like we were idiots.

In summary, for the same
price of a nice hotel room in NYC this establishment is well below par and has left a bitter taste in my mouth of Iceland and what is to be represented of their people.

Appauling staff aside the rooms in the back house were clean and warm.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guydiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 162 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Quite a cool place which has its own bar. Good location in the citycentre between all shops, bars, cafes etc. It was a pretty loud place because of all the cafe's next to it. But if you're up for that, its a great spot.

We had a troubles with the locks on the doors and the bathroom was quite unhandy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwleth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Didnt stay at the hostel but did use the 'bunk bar' during the 4 hours of happy hour, everything is two for one, coffee, beer and other alcoholic drinks. The bar could really capitalise on this trade but dont, which is a shame, they had an outside seating area at the back which was not used. The bar is very small and many of the occupants were possibly hostel guests who had 'taken over' the bar with a mass of electrical equipment, playstations, laptops,ipads galore which take up a lot of room in an already cramped space. Maybe the management need to look at using the bar - as a bar - not as a 'lounge extension'. Perfectly located right in the heart of the pedestrianized zone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SurreyGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Me and my brother stayed here last week for one night whilst following our football team who had a game in Reykjavick. It was our second stay in Iceland and we spotted this place last time and where impressed with how it looked and its location.

We arrived early in the morning (10am) and the helpful staff checked us in (taking remainder of payment) but informed us that we could not get in to the room until 2pm. This was expected however we where able to leave our bags in a secure room and use the facilities for a shower and to charge phones which was essential as we where meeting friends in town that afternoon.

We booked a private room at a very competitive rate and we where at the back of the hostel. There where 3 buildings which looked like houses and upon return to the hostel we didn't even have to go through recpetion to get to our room.

Perhaps because we where at the back we didn't have any problem at all with noise. The room itself was very clean and basic but that is all we needed. The showering facilities where shared but very very clean.

I couldn't recommend this place highly enough, friendly staff and very friendly residents too with a nice atmosphere. It was also the cheapest hostel I could find and as stated earlier in my review the location is absolutely superb.

I would stay here again if I am in Reykjavick again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cralph17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

It was our one night in Reykjavik between 2 parts of our Iceland round trip. We wanted to rest but we couldn't. I can understand the disco party on the ground floor (it was Saturday) but nobody respected curfew. It ws noisy all night long in the whole building and in the bier garden behind. Bathrooms were alwys clean but not the room. There was dirt under beds and bed sheets looked lik someone used them before. The staff was extremely helpful however very busy, I always waited to be serviced. The kichen was too small, could accommodate 4-5 people.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grregg_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very clean and well kept, friendly staff. There's a kitchen and a fridge for 4th room guests only, but we were told by the staff that you can still use them if they are not packed, which we did!
A bit of a complain for the bed, they were very, very noisy. They criecked everytime someone breathed! Apart from that, showers were nice, bathrooms big and well equipped. Very jelpful people at the reception.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Best thing about this place was the location. There are hotels close by that are around 4-5 times the cost of this place and although this is a hostel and not a hotel the difference in price is worth it. We go for the music festival Iceland Airwaves and if you are also going to this and like to socialise then this is a great place to stay as it has bands playing in the reception and most people staying are also usually staying for the festival as well. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AirwavesFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Grettir Guesthouse
Grettir Guesthouse
#28 of 107 in Reykjavik
173 reviews
101 Hostel
#50 of 108 in Reykjavik
15 reviews
Oddsson Hostel
#14 of 108 in Reykjavik
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
101 Down Town Guesthouse
#73 of 107 in Reykjavik
3 reviews
Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel
#2 of 108 in Reykjavik
479 reviews
Miõborg
Loft HI Hostel
Loft HI Hostel
#4 of 108 in Reykjavik
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Backpackers

Address: Laugavegur 28, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is located on Laugavegur, the main shopping street. We are affiliated with Iceland's longest running adventure company, Arctic Adventures, and our guests can choose from great offers on their tours. Our staff can provide expert information on what to do, see and experience during your stay and will gladly arrange some activities for our guests. With our unbeatable location and prices in a lively hostel we make it our priority to make your stay as pleasant as possible! See you in Iceland! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing