We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking/Food Tour”

Reykjavik By Day & Night
Ranked #197 of 343 Tours in Reykjavik
Attraction details
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Walking/Food Tour”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

You MUST do the walking/food tour your first afternoon/evening in Reykjavik! It is a perfect introduction to the city and it's surroundings AND gives you a sampling of the typical Icelandic dishes. The tour ends near the harbour where you can grab a hotdog from the famous stand visited by President Clinton.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“reykjavik old town”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Tapas bar near tourist information offers great food at reasonable prices for those on a budget. Also there is a range of great value sea food restaurants around the corner and a short walk down to the harbour where you can wine and dine for reasonable money. We found lovely coffee bar with games and relaxed ambience in walk up to the big church on the right. there is a fun guide gives free walk at about 2.00pm daily from square in front of the tourist info .. a lovely fun afternoon for those first time visitors to the city. park near the downtown youth hostel for 80 kr per hour.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank tim2101taichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“This tour service was eager to please, honest and helpful 24/7 in arranging a most incredible and adventuresome vacation”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Our curious and adventurous family including 2 adults and 2 grown children enjoy hiking and exciting activities when we travel. Anna at Reykjavik by Day and Night arranged the coordinated travel services we needed and rearranged them with eagerness, and the enjoyment of a job well done. Right on the main commercial street, just down from the iconic Hallgrimur's Church (Hallgrimskirkja), this tour company excelled in their service and friendliness.

They arranged: a Blue Lagoon swim as we deplaned in Iceland, super-jeep individualized tours of the Golden Circle attractions (Gulfoss waterfall, Althingi - tectonic plate valley and site of first Parliament, Geyser), snow-mobiling on the glacier, ATV's in moon-like valleys, caving, kayaking in the fjord, abundant hiking, restaurant and accommodation recommendations, car rentals and more with terrific Icelandinc honesty and big, beautiful smiles.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank HikerDoc21208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavikbyday, Manager at Reykjavik By Day & Night, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you for your review and wonderful photos. We enjoyed helping you and wish you an adventurous and happy traveling future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“South Shore & Waterfalls Self Drive is a must do!”
Reviewed March 27, 2011

This tour is just developing and we tested it out, the GPS and the route descripton were detailed and perfect. I would recommend this to anyone. It took us maybe 8 hours from Reykjavik there and back along with all the stops and sights, so its not too exhausting and its very exciting. Many waterfalls along the way, amazing black beach with giant rocks and birds nesting on the cliffs and a visit to Skogar Museum are the highlights. Many thanks to reykjavikbyday&night people for your amazing and helpful tips and organization! Hugs from Croatia!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ArwenDarlai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
1 review
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed March 19, 2011

I've been to Reykjavik twice and what made a difference was this great place. Don't get me wrong, I had a great time the first time too =).. But the second time I went to this place and from the moment I stepped into the office I felt genuinely welcome. They had a way of listening to what I wanted and then adding some really good advice and recommending other trips without being pushy. I would've missed out on some great trips if it weren't for these girls.

The girls working here are super-friendly, inspiring and have a lot of knowledge about the trips and the service is outstanding. No matter what, they go out of their way to help you. It is definitely worth a visit the first day.

They also have a very inspiring blackboard that is an attraction worth seeing, and whatever you do... Do not mention shark.. =)..

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank floppy__77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reykjavik By Day & Night also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Reykjavik By Day & Night? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing