We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stay Apartments Grettisgata
Ranked #44 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible experience.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

If I could leave zero stars, I would. We stayed at Grettisgata apartments for 2 nights after staying at a hostel for several days. The studio apartment was approximately the same size as the private room at the hostel. It offered a kitchen, which would have been a nice addition if the appliances and dishware and cookware were clean. I washed everything right when we walked in, but was disgusted by the rusting in the electric kettle and the mysterious copper-colored gunk on the spatula. The studio apt felt damp, and there were noticeable water damage spots in the apt. On the second day, we saw that the windows (single-paned) had excessive condensation, and it was seeping into the paint beneath the walls. The apts' website describes amenities like washer and dryer, but does not deliver. We used the laundry machine and dryer in this tiny room on the side of the house. It was dusty inside. My boyfriend who is 5'10" couldn't stand up all the way. It seemed that other people had left their laundry there for months. The washer did not drain all the water from the clothes, so we put it on spin again after the wash cycle. Then, after 50 min in the dryer, our clothes were still very wet. After 3 hours, there was no difference. Finally, we had to hang our clothes in the apt. The machines also put so much lint onto our clothes. It explains the linty blanket and towels in the apt. The shower drain does not properly drain, so you cannot take a shower for more than 10 min. The temperature for the water varies, and it makes sense when one tries to fit so many apts into one house. There is no reception, and the owner claims this is to keep costs low to put more back into the apts. I seriously doubt that. The apt seemed to be poorly kept, long-term and short-term. The surfaces are dusty. Because there is no one to check one in & out, it presents a security issue. The owner gives guests the code to the box with the keys to all the apts. When other guests have the opportunity to take someone else's apt key, it just doesn't feel very safe. I would not stay here again, and I would strongly suggest to those who would want to sleep in an apt that might not have mold and is clean (which is what one pays for) and follows public health codes, stay somewhere else. Our hostel experience was quite pleasant, and this made us want to leave Iceland sooner. Prior to this lodging experience, we were having a blast.

Room Tip: The studio apt was a bust. I cannot say anything about other apts, but I can comment on the upkeep o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chorlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    39
    26
    13
    12
See reviews for
25
58
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We came to Iceland for our honeymoon and had stayed here for a few days. The apartment was clean and comfortable, full of amenities like pots, pans and other dishware. The showers were the best. Snaebjorn was always accommodating (we arrived at 5 AM and left at 2 AM on our trip). I hope he's enjoying that Brenny!

Room Tip: Parking on the street isn't free, so make sure you know how to use their meters
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristinehamn, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed here with my family, two adults, two kids 14 yrs and 10 yrs old.

We have rented a couple of apartments in Reykjavik before and wanted to try this out.

The contact with the owners before arrival worked very well and we got fast replies whenever we wanted some info.

If I understand correct, Grettisgata Apartments has several houses with apartments near by. This applies for 53b, "the main building".

First impression of the apartment was clean and moderately cozy with all in IKEA furniture and kitchen. But still functional.
There is a private master bedroom and a bed settee in the living room/kitchen.
The master bed is comfortable. Our 14 yrs complained that the cushions on the settee did not stay put together. After some rearrangements of the cushions and a extra towel to bind them together a little more under the sheet, it was all right.
The kitchen was equipped with the most basic utensils (IKEA) and nothing to complain about.
Refrigerator was clean and worked well and there was enough room to do the entire shopping at one time for breakfast the whole week we spent there.

What annoyed us a massive amount was the lack of soundproofing from the apartment above ours. Just pray to whatever you prefer that the people above you are more considerate than the ones we had. I was just on the verge of running up to tell them to stop doing whatever it was (bouncing balls, moving furniture and such) when I had the good fortune that they went outside, only to start again when they came back. At least they kept quiet at night....

So, if you have the ability, request the top floor or as I wrote - Pray.

We'd stay here again because we found it suitable for our needs and price range.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ch00dA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at grettisgata apartments for the last four nights. First of all, don't expect your room to be as big as it looks in the photos, or you will be disappointed! I didn't mind our room being small, but we specifically requested a non-smoking room and as soon as we walked in, the stench of cigarettes was overwhelming. It probably took us until the last day to get used to it. We would have complained but the reception is unmanned (they do not mention this), also it would have been nice for someone to greet us and maybe recommend some restaurants in the area. Enough complaining though, the room was reasonably clean (apart from some mould on the ceiling) but the location you cannot go past!! It's the street behind the main street so it's close to everything but quiet enough. Overall I would recommend it if location is what you are most interested in.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The apartments have a great location, just off the main shopping street and we found them easily. The apartment was perfect for us, a double bedroom, open plan living room/kitchen with corner sofa that turned into a second bed, table, cooker, fridge, microwave, kettle and toaster. They even left tea and coffee for us!
The apartment had free wi-fi which was really useful, and the bathroom had a sink, toilet and shower.
It was clean when we arrived and a cleaner came in regularly to provide us with new towels and do a light clean.
To check in was easy, you press the buzzer, explain who you are and they let you into the lobby where your keys are waiting for you. In the lobby you will also find tourist information, and a phone that you are welcome to use to ring anyone in Iceland (it was great to save my mobile when phoning tour companies). You can also ring the manager of the apartments from this phone if you need to.
I think I need to make a special mention to the cleaner (sorry I don't know her name but she was petite and blonde). We had an accident where a pizza box leaked some grease on the sofa, she was so helpful and brought fabric cleaner and cleaned it for us. The apartments didn't charge us for the damage which was really great, and we are really grateful.
There is one parking space which we used as we had a rental car, but it is first come first served, and if it's taken then you need to park on street (which was fine).
I will definitely book again if I return to Iceland. The only thing was that the apartment would have been too small for 4 people, but it was fine for us as there was only two of us. It was always warm, and there is a heater provided to make it even warmer if you need to.
It was a fantastic price for the week, the best price we found.
Thanks so much!!

Room Tip: We were in room 304 and it was great - not good for people who don't cope with stairs as it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel has 12 big apartments well located in Reykjavik where you can walk to almost everything. There is no reception and after your ring the bell, your keys is available for you. There is heat system almost everywhere inside the apartment. If I return to Reykjavil I will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller_Brazilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Bathroom in our apartment 204, was excellent. Looked like it had been reburbished recently and was lovely... Expect the shower (which worked perfectly) was slightly wonky!
The kitchen looked a bit tired but I did expect worse after comparing prices of other apartments in reykjavik and the reviews on here.
As for studio apartment it wasn't particularly open plan but that made the apartment better. Location perfect being just a few blocks down the road from the hotel Leifur eiriksson and the Hallgrimskorkja, which if your taking a tour operated excursion they will pick you up from there. On a really quiet road too
For the money it's pretty good.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Einholt Apartments
#33 of 106 in Reykjavik
367 reviews
Miõborg
Forsaela Apartmenthouse
Forsaela Apartmenthouse
#32 of 106 in Reykjavik
98 reviews
Miõborg
Alfred's Studio Apartments
Alfred's Studio Apartments
#29 of 106 in Reykjavik
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luna Apartments
#31 of 106 in Reykjavik
147 reviews
Miõborg
Alfred's Apartments
Alfred's Apartments
#25 of 106 in Reykjavik
126 reviews
Stay Apartments Njalsgata
#71 of 106 in Reykjavik
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Apartments Grettisgata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Apartments Grettisgata

Property: Stay Apartments Grettisgata
Address: Grettisgata 43, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Formerly Grettisgata Apartments)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Apartments Grettisgata 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is housed in an old villa in central Reykjavik. It offers a communal garden, along with modern self-catered apartments and studios with well-equipped kitchenettes/kitchens and free Wi-Fi. All accommodation at Stay Apartments Grettisgata feature bright interior décor, private bathrooms and free local telephone calls. Some have a balcony with garden or city views. Stay Apartments Grettisgata is located less than 300 metres from Laugavegur, the city's main shopping street. Reykjavik's harbour is about 15 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Stay Apartments Grettisgata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing