We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stay Apartments Grettisgata
Ranked #48 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Small but comfortable”
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Bathroom in our apartment 204, was excellent. Looked like it had been reburbished recently and was lovely... Expect the shower (which worked perfectly) was slightly wonky!
The kitchen looked a bit tired but I did expect worse after comparing prices of other apartments in reykjavik and the reviews on here.
As for studio apartment it wasn't particularly open plan but that made the apartment better. Location perfect being just a few blocks down the road from the hotel Leifur eiriksson and the Hallgrimskorkja, which if your taking a tour operated excursion they will pick you up from there. On a really quiet road too
For the money it's pretty good.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    39
    26
    13
    12
See reviews for
25
56
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We arrived in Reykjavik after a long flight and were excited to check into Grettisgata Apartments so we could explore the city. When we arrived, we were told by the owner "have I got a surprise for you". He then informed me that they were over booked and I did not have a room. I had reserved the room over a month in advance, paid in advance and had a confirmation number but it didn't matter. He booked me into another place a couple of blocks away. He obviously did not know the place as it was truly awful. I would NEVER recommend this place to anyone. You could never know if you had a place to stay or not.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrippingOut59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reykjavik hotels

Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The apartments are well located, only a few minute walk from the centre of Reykjavik.
However the service offered is really poor and don't match the brochure content.
First of all, when we arrived at the apartments we had booked online, there was no room available and no reservation record and we had to move to another place. The apartment was clean and clean. However, the bathroom was extremely small and the water from the shower wasn't emptying and was flooding the bathroom after a few minutes. The wireless was not working in the room either. We called the staff during working hours to let them know about those 2 issues and they assured they would send someone to fix them. The brochure specifies that staff would be on site in 10 to 15 minutes. We are still waiting for them. Issues have never been fixed during our stay.
Also, please note that the rooms are not noise isolated and that you can hear everything that happens in the apartment next door.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jupiter219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Spent two nights here in March with hubby and adult daughter. Bedroom/sittingroom, kitchen and bathroom were all nice and clean. Great location, only a few minutes walk to Laugavegur. Met the owner both at arrival and check-out. Will stay here next time we visit Reykjavik.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northernstar64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We rented a studio on the second floor facing the back courtyard for 12 nights. The location of the hotel was great. Everything in the downtown area is within a 10-15 min walk, and there is a grocery store one street down. I would consider the room adequate since we were there only to sleep. The walls are by no means sound proof, but the outside noise wasn't really an issue. There is a single parking spot in the driveway shared by all of the units, and the street parking on this particular block of Grettisgata was free of charge. The rooms have a kitchenette which consists of a small fridge, sink, 2-burner stove, and microwave (adequate for making breakfast/lunch) which can save money. The basic dinnerware & utensils were provided but no can opener. We had wifi in the room, but the signal was weak except for by the window. No staff on site, but someone is easily reachable if needed (locked out, etc). The laundry facilities consist of a single washer and drier that are shared by all of the units.

Our only complaint was that some basic maintanence issues were being ignored. It was obvious that the drain in the shower had been clogged for some time and that it had been overflowing into the room under the wood flooring. The wood flooring around the bathroom was stained from mold and the smell of mold in that area was very strong. This could be an issue for someone with a mold allergy until it is addressed. There was also water damage and mold stains on our ceiling as well.

Overall, our stay was good, and from what I could see the other rooms looked nice. I would consider staying here again, but I would inquire as to whether the maintanence issues have been addressed or request a different room.

Room Tip: Avoid room 201 until maintanence issues are resolved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We found it quite easy to find as there is a sign outside. There is no reception, which I knew already having read prior reviews. When we arrived and called, he had no reservation record for us. After speaking to him for 5min he located our reservation and had a room available for us, although being quite early in the day, it wasn't available yet. We put our luggage in their laundry room and went to a cafe until about noon when our keys were left on the table.

The room was adequate although very small. The kitchen is what I expected although there were no decent knives to cut things with only regular cutlery knives. So, if you're looking to make anything that would require cutting vegetables, fruit or meat, you should probably bring your own knife. Beds were comfy but pillows were terrible - very lumpy and they only give you one each. On the 2nd day, i left a note asking for two more pillows and they accomodated.

The bathroom is tiny. You have to walk into the bathroom, stand almost over the toilet to close the door and then you can get to the shower. The shower was good pressure but the shower curtain didn't meet the lip in the floor to stop the water so everyday we had a little flood in the bathroom (there's no drain in the bathroom floor outside of the shower area, so that was fun). Towels were not great, very thin and replaced only every second day. Sheets get changed every 6th day of staying there.

Wireless is patchy at best and most of the time we had to stand right by the front window to get reception so you're best to use the laptop available in the 'lobby'.

Location was very good. One block from the main shopping street and located at one end so walking everywhere we wanted to go was never more than 10-15min. Room was very quiet as well (with the exception of other guests coming and going).

All-in-all this is an average place to stay for a decent price. We weren't in Iceland to spend time in our room so it served its purpose well but there are some small changes that could be made to make it a much better, more comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz8723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

About these appartments especifically I can´t say much because although I had reserved for these appartments when we got there and after 10 minutes wasted on what might be our room and how to enter (because there´s no receptionist "that´s why we cut costs!"), it was only after I read a sign with a phone number to call and a phone in the "lobby" free of charge to use that on the other side they told us they were overbooked and we´d be going to Einholt appartments. Off to Einholt we were in our rented car (although they offered a free taxi) and after arriving we found a key on a piece of paper saying that after all we wouldn´t be staying at Einholt but across the street. All in all, and after this small adventure, i must say we got the winning end of the deal because the appartment (kalli´s appartments) were just splendid. Excellent design, spacious, clean, luminous. Although our problem was efficiently resolved by the owner and operator of the Grettisgata appartments, I think he should have been more careful with the overbooking detail because if I really wanted to stay where the movida was, Grettisgata is it, but the silence of the outskirts was good and the appartment even better.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C-L-forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Alfred's Apartments
Alfred's Apartments
#25 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Einholt Apartments
#35 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Miõborg
Forsaela Apartmenthouse
Forsaela Apartmenthouse
#30 of 100 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Home Red Door
#48 of 107 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Stay Bolholt Apartments
#31 of 107 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Stay Apartments Njalsgata
#68 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Apartments Grettisgata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Apartments Grettisgata

Property: Stay Apartments Grettisgata
Address: Grettisgata 43, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Formerly Grettisgata Apartments)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Apartments Grettisgata 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is housed in an old villa in central Reykjavik. It offers a communal garden, along with modern self-catered apartments and studios with well-equipped kitchenettes/kitchens and free Wi-Fi. All accommodation at Stay Apartments Grettisgata feature bright interior décor, private bathrooms and free local telephone calls. Some have a balcony with garden or city views. Stay Apartments Grettisgata is located less than 300 metres from Laugavegur, the city's main shopping street. Reykjavik's harbour is about 15 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Stay Apartments Grettisgata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing