We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Northern Lights bucket list”
Review of Season Tours

Season Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Whether you are interested in sailing, hiking, driving, strolling or flying above Iceland, Season Tours can fulfill your dreams and cater to all your wishes. Specialized, knowledgeable guides provide the rest as they educate, inform, entertain and inspire you on your travels. Season Tours is a company that specializes in small groups and personalized services. The staff is dedicated to rendering quality service. The guides were educated at the University of Iceland and will not only show you around the beautiful and inspiring nature of Iceland but also tell you all about the Vikings, the Icelandic Sagas, the history of Iceland, the geology, culture, cuisine, flora and fauna. The interesting and well documented 1100 years of human habitation of this volcanic island in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean will come alive at the places where the most significant events took place.
Troy, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Northern Lights bucket list”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The Northern lights was on my bucket list of things to see. Took the trip with my Family & Friends hoping to see the Northern lights. First night was cancelled because of the cloud coverage. Went out the second night with Gunnsi. The Northern lights started off with just a sliver and by the time with left the entire sky was green swirls. Gunnsi helped us to set up 4 different cameras to settings we could take pictures of the lights. He also did special effects of us in the pictures with the Northern lights behind us. It was an amazing night. We were only suppose to be out for a couple of hours but Gunnsi kept us out until we were ready to go back. Would highly recommend this tour. The entire experience was AMAZING! Thank you Gunnsi

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnsi, Manager at Season Tours, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you too for selecting Season Tours for your Northern Lights tour. There are lot of other spectacular places to photograph in Iceland, both in summer and winter! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
“Northern Lights - Just Heavenly”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Mar 29, 2014 - Our first family visit to Iceland was wonderfully memorable! The Northern Lights were actively aglow - just heavenly! We had the honor and pleasure to be lead by tour guide, Gunnsi, for three hours. Gunssi is very passionate about his work and was very accommodating with our group of 8. He is very knowledgeable about the science of the Northern Lights as much as he is about sharing his photography expertise (with the various camera's). He captured some of the best moments, as well as teaching us some humorous photography tricks. We would highly recommend Gunnsi to anyone considering a tour.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank APV42139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnsi, Manager at Season Tours, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. Hope to see you again in Iceland again at another season to show you more of our beautiful country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Silver Wedding Anniversary”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

My husband planned this trip for our 25th wedding anniversary. I thought I was going to Hawaii.---but that is another story!! Visions of golden sands, sunshine and volcanos were supplanted - but wait a minute - Iceland has all that- sort of like Hawaii North!!!. So after I got my head around this I began planning and started to get very excited. !! From the moment I contacted Gunnsi I was not disappointed. He returned all my e-mails very promptly and helped with the planning every step of the way
We booked the Golden Circle, Chef Tyffi's Dinner Tour and the Snaefelles Peninsula. As we were in Iceland for a special event I asked if there was a possibility of getting our vows renewed. This was to be a surprise for my husband and Gunnsi is very good about keeping a secret!! He arranged everything and it was magical. Will write more on this later.
The first trip with Gunnsi was to the Golden Circle and as we were the only folks on this tour it was truly personalized. Sharing the stories,history and folklore of Iceland Gunnsi obviously is passionate about his country and rightly so. We stopped many times and he freely took pictures for us which was a lovely bonus. This was our first day In Iceland and it was magical.

Our vow renewal on April 1- our actual wedding date-- no joke- was superb. Gunnsi had arranged for the priest and organist to play some traditional Icelandic music at the beautiful Hallgrimskirkja in Reykajvik. He even surprised us by coming to the church to take some photographs. He made this special day even more so by being a part of it on such a terrific memorable occassion. Tyffi,picked us up afterwards and we began our Dinner Tour. Tyffi knows "his stuff" and once again we were not disappointed. He was engaging and entertaining. We thoroughly enjoyed his company as well as being with baby Jack, Jen and Jim from Edmonton. We toured parts of Rekyavik we may not have visited on our own. Stopping at the fish shop , butchers and beverage store was great fun,too. But the meal was superb. Don't even bother eating anywhere else special after that. -- nothing can compare. A lovely added touch was that Tyffi hade some champagne and a toast for us- very welcoming. It was great to meet his wife when she came home from work,too.

The last tour we took was with Tyffi to the Snaefelles Peninsula. We thoroughly enjoyed all the detail he put into the trip and we went to many interesting places. The ruggedness was quite amazing.in contrast to the area around the Golden Circle. We loved the stories about the trolls and all the interesting facts about Iceland. Tyffi took many photos and shared them with us,too.

As someone mentioned before, we felt like we were with friends rather than tour guides. We will have fond memories that will last a lifetime. These guys are truly special and have such love and enthusiasmfort Iceland. You cannot go wrong if you book with Season Tours but you will be disappointed if you don't. ! They provide an experience totally out of the box.

Would love to come back again before too long-- somehow, Hawaii just doesnt have the same appeal any more.

Gunnsi and Tyffi you are the best and thanks for giving us such superb memories to last a lifetime. We would recommend your company to everyone.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnsi, Manager at Season Tours, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
With such great customers, it isn't possible to go wrong. Thank you for your review and welcome back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous trip”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had the privilege of meeting all three guides - Gunnsi, Tiffy, and Helle - over our three-day stay. Helle took us out for Northern Lights viewing the first night (not much activity, unfortunately, but she gave lots of good photography advice). Then we spent a day and a half with Gunnsi on the Golden Circle and part of the South Coast, and Tiffy finished off the South Coast. Gunnsi and Tiffy were both excellent and knowledgeable, and went out of their way to make sure we had a great time, and customized the tour to the things we were most interested in. They also all took photos and shared with us afterwards. I would definitely recommend them to anybody.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kendell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnsi, Manager at Season Tours, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. We all had a great time with you. Thank you again for choosing Season Tours for your vacation in Iceland. Looking forward to see you again when you visit Iceland in summer! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Less a tour guide - more a family friend”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This was our second visit to Iceland in the last few months to see the Northern Lights We failed on both occasions. However we went on two tours with Gunnsi - Snaefellnes Peninsula and Golden Circle and they were both wonderful. As the review title suggests we were treated less as clients of a tour company and more like friends who were being shown around. The organisation was great and the trips themselves could not have been bettered. We had booked to see the Northern Lights but for a whole week the cloud prevented it. What was impressive was that unlike other tour companies who take your money and take you out regardless - offering a free second chance if you see nothing - Season Tours will not take you if the forecast is poor and email every night to let you you know what is happening. Not the most commercial way to do business perhaps but customer service of the highest order. If we go back we will have no hesitation in using them again and would recommend them to anyone. We will remember the whole experience for many years to come.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank staffordfatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnsi, Manager at Season Tours, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure travelling with you and to show you around Snæfellsnes and the Golden Circle. Hope to see you again in Iceland next time you visit. The landscape is totally different in summer time and more opportunities to hike, and less demanding when there is not snow or ice everywhere. Though that didn't stop you going to the gorge in Raudfeldargja in the Snæfellsnes peninsula even though you had to climb and make the path to it in the snow.
Kind regards,
Gunnsi Guide and Manager at Season Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Season Tours also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Season Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing