We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Coast Tour”
Review of Season Tours

Season Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Whether you are interested in sailing, hiking, driving, strolling or flying above Iceland, Season Tours can fulfill your dreams and cater to all your wishes. Specialized, knowledgeable guides provide the rest as they educate, inform, entertain and inspire you on your travels. Season Tours is a company that specializes in small groups and personalized services. The staff is dedicated to rendering quality service. The guides were educated at the University of Iceland and will not only show you around the beautiful and inspiring nature of Iceland but also tell you all about the Vikings, the Icelandic Sagas, the history of Iceland, the geology, culture, cuisine, flora and fauna. The interesting and well documented 1100 years of human habitation of this volcanic island in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean will come alive at the places where the most significant events took place.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“South Coast Tour”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

After doing some research before our trip to Iceland, I booked the South Coast tour based on the overall brilliant recommendations from fellow TripAdvisor users. The South Coast tour is 8-9 hours long: starting from around 8:30am hotel pick-up to drop-off at the hotel around 5:00pm. But if you are in a hurry or have other schedule straight after the tour, just let the guide know! The pre-trip e-mail communications with Gunnsi who I believe owns or co-owns the tour group was very clear, making my trip arrangement much easier.

Alexia was our guide. There were only 2 couples in this tour, so we had a really good time, customized to our needs. Alexia is very knowledgeable and professional. We talked about many topics, from Icelandic history to language, politics, to food and lifestyle in the car. We learnt about which town has more teenagers who have bleached-hair and drive fancy cars.

The weather in Iceland was really changeable. We started off with a snow storm and ended in the south coast with brilliant sunshine. Around the waterfall that we can walk behind (Seljalandsfoss), I was so frightened by the slippery icy walkways. But Alexia was there to literally hold my hand! The walk on glacier experience was once in a lifetime. The wind and waves in Vik on the south coast was also an experience - hold the cover of your camera tight or it will be blown away! We learnt that if you drop anything in the sea at Vik, the next stop is Antarctica!

I strongly recommend the south coast tour and you have to do it with Season Tours to get this personalized and relaxing service. The scenery is important, but it is the people who made it a memorable experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MazanaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnsi, Manager at Season Tours, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. It means a lot to us to know how we are doing. The rating by them selves doesn't say it all when we want to know what we are doing right and what can be done better. Thanks again and be sure to write again for your next visit to get tips on what to see!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Northern lights spectacular”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Taken me a while to write this - we did the Northern Lights excursion in October and haven't stopped talking about it since. It was incredible. Gunnar brought his camera and shared all sorts of photography advice and told Icelandic sagas on the way back to town. Great tour.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mollybutterfingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnsi, Manager at Season Tours, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is most appreciated. Hope you received the link to the pictures I took, if not, please let me know.
Gunnsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food & Saga Tour - #1 Thing We Did In Iceland”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I went to Iceland in November 2012 and had an amazing time all around, however, the food and saga tour was our very favorite activity! I can't recommend this tour enough. We were picked up by Tyffi, who is an extremely friendly and knowledge guy. He drove us around on a guided tour of Reykjavik, showing us not only the touristy spots but also the “real” parts of the city where normal people live and work. Among numerous other things, along the way we got to feed miniature horses, see the President of Iceland's house up close (there isn’t any security, who knew?), and eat shark meat. We really enjoyed going to the local shops to pick out our cheese and drinks. The meal itself was outstanding: it was one of the best meals of our lives. Tyffi brings you into his home and cooks it in front of you, which is really cool because people just don't do things like that in the USA. In short, do this tour: you will not be disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Damon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Totally brilliant!!!!!!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I booked with Seasons Tours early in 2012 as I had planned a surprise trip to Iceland for my partners 50th birthday. From the first email I made to Gunnsi, I knew I had made the right decision choosing this company for our tours.
We arrived in Reykjavik on Friday 18th January and were booked to be picked up at 8pm from our hotel to go on the Northern Lights tour. I received an email when we were on the Flybus from Gunnsi to ask if he could pick us up earlier as he was concerned it was getting cloudy and we may not have seen any lights later on. I agreed, so we went for dinner. At 6pm, Gunnsi rang to say that it was getting too cloudy and that we wouldn't have a chance of seeing the lights that night. I am totally sure, many other companies would have still taken us out and taken our money, knowing full well we would see nothing, but Gunnsi, being the true professional and gentlemen, would not!! Although we were disappointed, I really appreciated Gunnsi's honesty.

The next day, he picked us up at 8.30am and took us on an amazing day of adventutes on the Golden Circle tour.We spent over 9 hours(whuch literally flew by!!) visiting geysers, volcanoes,waterfalls, trolls tombs,beautiful churches, hot springs, a bakery(thank you for our cake and coffee!!) and many other fantasticsights of Iceland.Gunnsi knew so much about everywhere we went. The details brought the history and geology of Iceland to life, making it one of the most incredible days of our life!!

Then to top it off, Gunnsi told us that he thought the conditions were much better that night for us to try to see the Northern Lights. He dropped us off at a restaurant back in Reykjavik, then picked us back up at 8, even though he must have been exhausted with all the driving that day and drove us to where he thought the lights would be best. Unbelievably, on the way, we saw them starting in the sky. Gunnsi pulled over and we got out to see the most incredible vision of lights in the sky. Daryls camera refused to work, but Gunnsi was there to the rescue, photographing it all. It was magical!! Then on our way home, we were trated to more in the sky...

The following day, Gunnsi took us on a walking tour of Reykjavik. We learned so much about the buildings and the history of the city . It was fascinating!!

I cannot express my gratitude enough to Gunnsi for making our weekend so memorable. Every moment was enchanting..the time sped by so quickly. He went out of his way to make sure that everything was perfect. If you want the trip of a lifetime, I wouldn't go with anyone else!!

Thank you so much Gunnsi xxx

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SHEENA1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnsi, Manager at Season Tours, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your review and all those kind words. I am so glad you finally did see the Northern Lights. Looking forward to meet you again in the summer time! Remember to write before your next visit to get an Itinerary example from us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Farmhouse overnight, don't bother”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This company offers some good day tours, but I wouldn't recommend
staying overnight at the Farmhouse. It truly is rustic as it has the
most uncomfortable pillows you can imagine along with what sounded like
a rodent scurrying in the walls. Needless to say, it was a rough
night's sleep. Given the age of the property, be warned that the
staircases are extremely narrow, and not particularly easy to climb.

Along with your stay, which isn't inexpensive, you get an evening meal
cooked by Tyffi, but it is certainly not of chef quality. It is a basic
preparation as Tyffi's spice of choice seems to be black pepper. We
were served a thinly sliced, small portion of lamb along with some
roasted vegetables. For a similar price, I had eaten the chef's tasting
menu at one of the better restaurants in Reykjavik, so I know better
options are available.

Typically when there is an overnight at a B&B type establishment one is
served a hot breakfast, but again Tyffi fell short simply putting out
multiple cold items including bread, cheese, and smoked meats. When I
questioned him about his selections, he stated that it was typical
Icelandic breakfast.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FreqTravPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnsi, Manager at Season Tours, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry you didn't like the old farmers house at Húsafell. In our emails we told you about that being an old house and you could choose between that one and another one that is newer. I can assure you that there are no rodents in the walls, the sound you heard is most likely from the wooden roof in the cold.
It is always good to know what we can do better and we thank you for telling. We for sure will explain more to our customers about how the accommodation is and also the long drive between Snæfellsnes and Húsafell. To bad the cloud cover wasn't favorable to see the Northern Lights, other wise I am sure you would have enjoyed the tour more. In case you come back to Iceland in the summer time, be sure to write us and we will be happy to send you an itinerary example.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Season Tours also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Season Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing