We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you don't stay here, you're dumb”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Our House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Our House
Ranked #21 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you don't stay here, you're dumb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

Our House was incredible, and appropriately named. It really felt like home. It was clean and comfortable and in a great location. Bedda was wonderful. How many places have you stayed where the owner gives you a hug when you leave? She has a great dvd selection if you want to stay in and recommendations for live music if you want to go out. She also recommended a cheap car rental company, which was perfect! I can't wait to go back. So, all in all, if you don't stay here, you're dumb.

And in response to the person who mentioned the street noise...we had the same problem at first, but it helps if you close the window ;)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiemcgu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    16
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
58
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

In a country that can be so expensive, it was great to stay at Our House. Not only was it fantastic value for money, but for the 3 nights that I was there, it felt like I had never left home.
Bedda, the host, was incredibly warm and friendly right from the start. She works really hard to ensure a clean, safe and comfortable stay for everyone. She took the time to point out all of the city's hotspots and places to go; nothing was too much of an ask for her.
The whole experience was really personal and the hostel has a real 'family' vibe. Ernesto, the caretaker, was also great and always wearing a smile.

Location wise, Our House is about 2 mins walk from the Hallgrims Church. There are plenty of little cafes nearby, and a small convenience store around the corner that's open late. However, I'd recommend the Bonus Supermarket up the road a bit.

The rooms are cosy, but I got a room on the ground floor next to the road and at times during the night it could be quite noisy on the street.

Other than that, I have nothing but praise for Our House. The bathrooms and showers were spic and span, and the free breakfast, coffee and other food was an awesome touch.

Thanks Bedda and Our House; you made my trip to Iceland just unforgettable!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2010

Bedda was the most lovely and welcoming hostess. I stayed here for 10 days in January and she really makes you feel at home. The location is perfect, right in the middle of everything, and it is the coziest hostel/guesthouse I have ever stayed in. It's the best place to stay in Reykjavik!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

There's loads of really nice things I could say about Our House: great location, really friendly staff, beautiful house, clean rooms, modern, great decor, really relaxed atmosphere, and I could go on and on, but I think the best compliment I can pay it is that it doesn't feel like you're staying in a hostel, but in a friend's house that also happens to be one of the nicest houses you could hope to stay in. I can't recommend it enough. Also, it's ridiculously inexpensive as well, which is good, because Reykjavik can be pretty pricey. If you're planning to a trip to Iceland you'd be crazy not to stay at Our House, which be far one of the best places I've ever stayed in.

One final tip, if you're going to Reykjavik definitely see the Northern Lights, to be honest, we got lucky and saw the best display of the winter, and there's no guarantee that you'll see them, but it was one of the most beautiful things I've ever seen in my life so it's definitely worth taking a risk and booking a tour. Thanks once again to Bedda and Anna for being such great hosts. James, Spike & Dan.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamesnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

I cannot recommend Our House enough...I have stayed in lots of hostels the world over and this is by far the best. Friendliest hosts you'll ever meet, and everything you could ever need is at your disposal. It is really well-located, the rooms are light, airy, and immaculate, and the beds are very comfortable. The sauna is a huge bonus, too. I will be staying here the next time I'm in Reykjavik for SURE!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfeezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

Before arriving in Reykjavik, I was already excited to stay at Our House because of the pictures on the website (all accurate) and because the owner, Bedda, had been so helpful via email prior to our arrival in Iceland. She provided recommendations of other places to stay, eat, and buy groceries, as well as how to get to and from the Blue Lagoon. She is very accommodating and really wishes everyone to have a good trip and a great stay.

Needless to say, Our House is even better in person! The house is really nice and comfortable - a great place to settle in if you're going to be in Reykjavik for a few days given it's central location. You have access to the Internet, a TV/DVD player, sauna, BBQ, and comfortable sitting areas inside and out. She provides a great self-serve breakfast in the morning and posts polaroids of all the guests staying in the house, so it's easy to meet people and also makes you feel secure.

It can get a little noisy at night, depending on who is staying at Our House at the same time as you (as with any guesthouse/hostel), but luckily, Bedda has thought of everything and provides ear plugs for guests so we didn't have a problem at all! The beds were really comfortable (even the cot!) and I slept well each night I was there.

We missed Our House when we left and I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Reykjavik!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 000jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights in July and 1 night in August, at the start and end of my trip in Iceland.

Our House is right in the centre of Reykjavik, near the big church Hallgrimskirkja. I found the location really good to explore the city, as it is close to shops and a short walk to the harbour. There are maps and tourist guides in the reception area.

The owner Bedda was great, she is so welcoming and makes you feel at home straight away. She made the effort to get to know all the guests staying there. One of the loveliest people I met in Iceland! :-)

I stayed in the single room, which was very comfortable. The interior of the house is really lovely, cosy environment. The downstairs is quite open plan with the kitchen/diner going through to a TV room and reception. There is a PC with internet that the guests can use, and DVDs to watch.

It is a great place to stay! I will stay here again if I go back to Iceland! :-)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsweight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Rey Apartments Hotel
Rey Apartments Hotel
#1 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Villa
#18 of 108 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Ambassade Apartments
#12 of 100 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loft Hostel
#4 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Miõborg
Forsaela Apartmenthouse
Forsaela Apartmenthouse
#32 of 100 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Miõborg
Guesthouse Sunna
Guesthouse Sunna
#5 of 108 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Our House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Our House

Property: Our House
Address: Karastigur 12, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Our House 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This guesthouse is located right in the city centre, surrounded by quirky little shops, bars, cafés and museums. Kárastígur is a residential downtown side street only a few steps away from the main shopping street and the iconic Hallgrímskirkja church. We call it a guesthouse but you could also call it a hostel or a Bed and breakfast with more emphasis on the bed than the breakfast. We run it but the guests pretty much take care of themselves. You get your own key, the facilities are all included in the price, and all you have to do is make yourself at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Our House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Our House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing