We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Amazing guest house, host and country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Our House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Our House
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing guest house, host and country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Can't believe I am just now writing a review for this place. Stayed here for 5 days the first week of July 2013. Was greeted by Ernesto, the caretaker. He gave me a warm welcome and tour of the guest house. It is well appointed, cozy and in a prime location (5 min walk to main downtown strip). I had the single guest room straight up the stairs.

The guest house (I don't want to call it a "Hostel" because it really isn't) is fantastic. Has two clean bathrooms, a nice kitchen, living room and other amenities (sauna, etc.). They use a color system to identify personal food items and communal items. There is a nice espresso machine for your use.

I can not say enough nice things of Bedda. She was kind, quirky, informative and helpful...all in the best of ways. She is a music nut (like myself) and knew I played guitar and one day brought over one of her personal guitars for me to strum. Bedda...THANK YOU again! I owe you a vinyl.

Iceland became a very personal, special place to me because of the experiences I had. I will be back for sure and will not stay anywhere other than Our House.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zachary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
56
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
195 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Located near the cathedral, this hostel is in a great location. Bedda is so welcoming, and you can really make yourself at home here. Nice to meet other travelers and compare notes. It was the perfect place to land after being on the road.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our House was the perfect place to stay in Reykjavik. Bedda goes out of her way to make you welcome and ensure you have a great time in Iceland. She provides everything you need, and more, including ear plugs and eye masks (if you're a light sleeper), as well as free wifi and use of computers. The rooms are basic, but very comfortable, and there is an assortment of free things to use, ranging from shower gel to biscuits, some left by previous guests and some provided by Bedda. The atmosphere is warm and friendly and everyone I met loved it there. I shall definitely stay there again, if I'm lucky enough to return to Iceland, and am already recommending Our House to my friends. Thankyou Bedda for such a fabulous stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catbel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We love Our House!!!! My friend and I stayed there three nights as a home base while we did the Golden Circle tour, South Coast tour and Blue lagoon. Our stay was fantastic and it will be our first choice when we go back to Iceland. The entire house, from the kitchen to the sun room, to the bedrooms and bathrooms, is extremely cozy and cute. We stayed in Iceland for 10 nights and I think Our House had the most comfortable beds and pillows.....also clean, clean, clean!

The decorations and design are very homey, artistic, creative and intelligent...just like the photos on their website depict. :) Overall, the place feels ....like home, actually better!! Classy mid-century and up furniture, and great quality wood work...impressive for a country that has few trees.

Before our stay, I emailed Bedda a bunch of times and she responded with great advice and helpful information, including places to eat, things to see, car rental info, how to get there, etc. There is a live in caretaker, Ernesto, who helped us with all our travel needs and questions. He booked a tour for us, made dinner reservations for us, looked over our itinerary and provided us with recommendations for our trip around the country. He is extremely kind, so down to earth and friendly.

We found the location of Our House to be perfect. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go including Harpa, The Fish Company, the Sea Baron, Seafood Grill,
Hallgrímskirkja church, Haiti Cafe...which, by the way, were all awesome.

Other great features: the sauna, great water from the refrigerator (I'm a water snob and wanted to take some home), basic breakfast included every morning, free laundry, wi-fi and use of their computers, complimentary ear plugs, a collection of adapters for charging batteries, phones, etc, travel books and maps. Everyone we met there was so friendly. It was fun to meet others and share itineraries and experiences.

The selfish part of me wants to keep Our House a secret but more than that I want to share how great Our House is I would love to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waiverly176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Having nearly had a nervous trying to find any place for a reasonable price, booked Our House. The bedrooms are basic BUT the ambience of the place is off the scale. It is probable that there is no other place in Iceland, in the same category, as good as this. The place is set up to provide everything you need. Sauna, showers, corner Jacuzzi bath etc. Kitchen has a huge fridge/freezer full of basics for breakfast - which you make yourself from a good choice of cereals, breads and jams available. Nice sun lounge, Tv lounge, dining kitchen. Could go on and on. Very impressed.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard_uk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I loved it here. Bedda makes you feel immediately at home in her warm, spanking clean, cosy and beautiful house, and she has an excellent system for everything from breakfast, nightlife tips, bathroom use, electronics, and even earplugs and eye masks if you need help sleeping! The location is unbeatable, there's always nice music playing, and as a bonus the other guests tend to be considerate and interesting. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would be thrilled to return. Thanks for your lovely hospitality, Bedda! :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed at Our House last summer & recently have been daydreaming of returning to Reykjavik & to Our House. Bedda was a wonderful host, the house is perfectly located, and the atmosphere is so very cozy! The breakfast was awesome, the all-day coffee kept me going, and the sauna helped me wind down at the end of a busy day. The rooftop patio was great... when I woke up at 3AM one night I popped outside & hung out on the patio until I was sleepy again. Cafe Babalu right down the street is yummy, I think I ate there at least 3 times. I highly recommend Our House for your stay in Reykjavik!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigskychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#2 of 59 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 stars 829 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
#7 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#5 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Hlemmur Square
#6 of 90 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Our House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Our House

Property: Our House
Address: Karastigur 12, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Our House 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This guesthouse is located right in the city centre, surrounded by quirky little shops, bars, cafés and museums. Kárastígur is a residential downtown side street only a few steps away from the main shopping street and the iconic Hallgrímskirkja church. We call it a guesthouse but you could also call it a hostel or a Bed and breakfast with more emphasis on the bed than the breakfast. We run it but the guests pretty much take care of themselves. You get your own key, the facilities are all included in the price, and all you have to do is make yourself at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Our House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Our House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing