We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite lodging in all of Iceland”
Review of Our House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Our House
Ranked #22 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our favorite lodging in all of Iceland”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We love Our House!!!! My friend and I stayed there three nights as a home base while we did the Golden Circle tour, South Coast tour and Blue lagoon. Our stay was fantastic and it will be our first choice when we go back to Iceland. The entire house, from the kitchen to the sun room, to the bedrooms and bathrooms, is extremely cozy and cute. We stayed in Iceland for 10 nights and I think Our House had the most comfortable beds and pillows.....also clean, clean, clean!

The decorations and design are very homey, artistic, creative and intelligent...just like the photos on their website depict. :) Overall, the place feels ....like home, actually better!! Classy mid-century and up furniture, and great quality wood work...impressive for a country that has few trees.

Before our stay, I emailed Bedda a bunch of times and she responded with great advice and helpful information, including places to eat, things to see, car rental info, how to get there, etc. There is a live in caretaker, Ernesto, who helped us with all our travel needs and questions. He booked a tour for us, made dinner reservations for us, looked over our itinerary and provided us with recommendations for our trip around the country. He is extremely kind, so down to earth and friendly.

We found the location of Our House to be perfect. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go including Harpa, The Fish Company, the Sea Baron, Seafood Grill,
Hallgrímskirkja church, Haiti Cafe...which, by the way, were all awesome.

Other great features: the sauna, great water from the refrigerator (I'm a water snob and wanted to take some home), basic breakfast included every morning, free laundry, wi-fi and use of their computers, complimentary ear plugs, a collection of adapters for charging batteries, phones, etc, travel books and maps. Everyone we met there was so friendly. It was fun to meet others and share itineraries and experiences.

The selfish part of me wants to keep Our House a secret but more than that I want to share how great Our House is I would love to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waiverly176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    16
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
58
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Having nearly had a nervous trying to find any place for a reasonable price, booked Our House. The bedrooms are basic BUT the ambience of the place is off the scale. It is probable that there is no other place in Iceland, in the same category, as good as this. The place is set up to provide everything you need. Sauna, showers, corner Jacuzzi bath etc. Kitchen has a huge fridge/freezer full of basics for breakfast - which you make yourself from a good choice of cereals, breads and jams available. Nice sun lounge, Tv lounge, dining kitchen. Could go on and on. Very impressed.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard_uk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I loved it here. Bedda makes you feel immediately at home in her warm, spanking clean, cosy and beautiful house, and she has an excellent system for everything from breakfast, nightlife tips, bathroom use, electronics, and even earplugs and eye masks if you need help sleeping! The location is unbeatable, there's always nice music playing, and as a bonus the other guests tend to be considerate and interesting. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would be thrilled to return. Thanks for your lovely hospitality, Bedda! :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed at Our House last summer & recently have been daydreaming of returning to Reykjavik & to Our House. Bedda was a wonderful host, the house is perfectly located, and the atmosphere is so very cozy! The breakfast was awesome, the all-day coffee kept me going, and the sauna helped me wind down at the end of a busy day. The rooftop patio was great... when I woke up at 3AM one night I popped outside & hung out on the patio until I was sleepy again. Cafe Babalu right down the street is yummy, I think I ate there at least 3 times. I highly recommend Our House for your stay in Reykjavik!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigskychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at Our House in April as a couple when we first got to Iceland before going around the country. We couldn't recommend it higher! Bedda the owner was away for the weekend, but Ernesto was really welcoming, showing us everything that we needed, giving us recommendations of bars, music, restaurants and more. The room was perfect for what we needed, comfortable and warm. The house itself is brilliant with the kitchen well stocked for breakfast and anything that you could want to cook. The bathrooms are great, and we especially liked the decoration and little book in the bathroom upstairs (if you go, you should have a look, it's really something). It was definitely the best place we stayed on our whole trip, and the best guesthouse that i've ever come across. We will be back again at some point in the future for the Northern Lights and couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessEdreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a warm guesthouse close to Reykjavik downtown. Bedda and Ernesto are so helpful, kind and welcoming and the house is originally decorated. The kitchen is well equipped, the three bathrooms clean and well kept and all the facilities are excellent. The rooms are clean and cozy and the location is perfect. Few guesthouses made me feel so comfortable. We definitely had a great time, we really couldn't have been happier with our stay. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simona_Francesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Myself and a friend stayed in a twin room for 3 nights, this is a wonderful little place to stay. The atmosphere was extremly welcoming, all rooms are all individually decorated. Great location, tea, coffee, hot chocolate available all day. Toast and cereal is available for breakfast each morning. Ernesto was very helpful with showing us the best places to go and recommended a great veggie restuarant. Only drawback is there are only 2 bathrooms in the property, which wasn't an issue when we stayed there as it wasn't fully booked. Regardless of this I would happily stay there again and would highly recommend this guest house to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittonx77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Rey Apartments Hotel
Rey Apartments Hotel
#1 of 102 in Reykjavik
474 reviews
Miõborg
Loft HI Hostel
Loft HI Hostel
#4 of 102 in Reykjavik
385 reviews
Miõborg
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
#22 of 109 in Reykjavik
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa
#17 of 109 in Reykjavik
101 reviews
Ambassade Apartments
#13 of 102 in Reykjavik
95 reviews
Mengi Apartments Reykjavik
#20 of 109 in Reykjavik
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Our House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Our House

Property: Our House
Address: Karastigur 12, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Our House 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This guesthouse is located right in the city centre, surrounded by quirky little shops, bars, cafés and museums. Kárastígur is a residential downtown side street only a few steps away from the main shopping street and the iconic Hallgrímskirkja church. We call it a guesthouse but you could also call it a hostel or a Bed and breakfast with more emphasis on the bed than the breakfast. We run it but the guests pretty much take care of themselves. You get your own key, the facilities are all included in the price, and all you have to do is make yourself at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Our House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Our House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing