We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and friendly”
Review of Our House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Our House
Ranked #25 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Our house is very cosy, clean and quiet house in the city. The lovely owner Bedda has a good taste of decorating the whole house and she knows what travellers need so everything you need is there. I really mean everything like you're at home and etra informations about the city everyday. I had a great time with my boyfriend there for my birthday! Highly highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coyoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Our House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 171 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

Feels like your staying with a friend. Clean and cosy. Good kitchen facilites, and plenty of free cake during our stay:) The rooms are practical, with lots of space and the posibility to dry things that got wet during the day, island in November was a rater wet expirience. Good kitchen , and Bedda goes out of her way to make sure every one feels included. Pictures of everyone staying in the house makes a good startingpoint for conversations, small things like pain killers and band-aid in the bathroom, pluss soap and shampoo, and all those little things you don,t bother to bring with you, but like too have close. We got good advice on places to eat and a great tips for a very interesting guide. Close to almost every thing in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venus5_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our House is matchless in every way! As others have said, it really does feel like "your house" when you're there. The environment opens up relationships and conversations with other travelers so naturally. It feels like you're part of the family. Easy, walking distance to some of the best places in the city. And personal hospitality you won't find anywhere else! Our House is a real gem--don't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanlon555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Possibly the nicest hostel I have stayed in! It really does feel like your house for the night. We had just one night and were in a double room. The room was a good size and clean. The shared bathrooms were also well equipped and clean but you do sometimes have to wait a bit to use them. Great breakfast provided - toast and cereal to help yourself to. Bedda and Ernesto are really nice and make you feel at home and there are lots of awesome finishing touches, like Donkey Kong in the toilet!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissCake17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great clean place. Cozy room. Owner of the place was not always around but very friendly when we met her.

Bathrooms were nice and clean. Free basic breakfast! They also upgraded us and gave us free linen with the sleeping bag discount.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k-existence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

The few nights I stayed in this guest house was a great experience. Not only was the service and the staff impeccable, but also the fellow guests a pleasure to be with.
I can highly recommend this guest house to anyone who is looking for a friendly place to stay at.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaudiaSchoenbohm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Wow.

That's all I can say. I will be honest, I have never stayed in a hostel before or anything like a hostel so i honestly did not know what to expect - but I loved every minute of it and I was really sad to leave.

Bedda is amazing. She is just awesome! She is so welcoming and is a fountain of knowledge.
Ernesto is also fantastic - so helpful and friendly.

The place is spotless. So clean and well maintained. There are two bathrooms, and we never had a problem, nor did we have to wait around. Oh yeah, and there's a sauna & jacuzzi.. Yeah, you heard me right!

There is cereal provided and juice and milk, and when you're there, if you have anything left over, you donate it to other guests or future guests.

There are loads of quirky things around the house that just give that personal feel. You have a Polaroid taken on your arrival and it is pinned up so you can see who else you're staying with and help break the ice with your fellow 'house mates'.

It's the little things that make it.

You're literally seconds from the Hallgrimskirkja Church and from a convenience shop that is open until 10pm and the heart of Reykjavik.

I wanted to find an Icelandic CD of a band that wasn't Bjork or Sigur Ros and Bedda recommended the most quirky and fabulous music shop just round the corner, I *think* it was called Tenor 21 or something along those lines, stop by when you stay at Our House. She just knows the best places! (Also see my review for C is for Cookie - you MUST go).

It is called Our House for a reason, you really do feel like you're staying at a friend's house and I feel that we made some new friends.

I want to come back here again for sure and will recommend this place to EVERYONE!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachelRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Miõborg
Rey Apartments Hotel
Rey Apartments Hotel
#1 of 108 in Reykjavik
497 reviews
Mengi Apartments Reykjavik
#20 of 108 in Reykjavik
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
#14 of 108 in Reykjavik
110 reviews
Miõborg
Guesthouse Sunna
Guesthouse Sunna
#5 of 108 in Reykjavik
477 reviews
Island Apartments
#22 of 108 in Reykjavik
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Our House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Our House

Address: Karastigur 12, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: $129 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Our House 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This guesthouse is located right in the city centre, surrounded by quirky little shops, bars, cafés and museums. Kárastígur is a residential downtown side street only a few steps away from the main shopping street and the iconic Hallgrímskirkja church. We call it a guesthouse but you could also call it a hostel or a Bed and breakfast with more emphasis on the bed than the breakfast. We run it but the guests pretty much take care of themselves. You get your own key, the facilities are all included in the price, and all you have to do is make yourself at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Our House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Our House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing