We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price, Great Location, Great Host, Excellent Choice!”
Review of Our House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Our House
Ranked #25 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Our stay at Our House was very pleasant. The host was extremely friendly and helpful, answering any questions and making suggestions when requested. The location was wonderful, with just a short walk to all of the major sights. The kitchen was well-stocked and large enough to accommodate the guests staying in the hostel. Everything was very clean and organized. We would definitely stay at this hostel again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Our House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 171 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

The owner Bedda has thought of everything when it comes to making guests feel welcome and relaxed. I stayed in the 4 bed dorm room and found it very comfortable.
The place has a great energy and offers an opportunity to meet other travellers. Stop looking and book here - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davelinton80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stayed in the private twin bunk room with my teenage daughter. Bathrooms are shared but this was never a problem. My daughter loved Bedda. She reminds you of a middle school teacher. Outgoing. Helpful. Caring. Instructional. The location could not be better. Right next to the church. And literally two minutes from downtown. Which is abouts small a downtown as you will ever see :-). Our House is clean, cozy and warm. Highly recommend Our House. Ruben in Tampa, Florida.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The place is operated by the house owner Bedda. She is extraordinary caring an helping. The sauna room and jacuzzi are fab! Something even expensive hotel cannot offer. Great value and nice people!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandiceLei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

A fabulous place to stay in Iceland - we felt really welcome and at home here. The location is excellent - right in the heart of the city with shops, cafes and bars on your doorstep. We were encouraged to treat the guesthouse like our home - using the kitchen whenever we liked, chilling out with a book in the comfy lounge area or using the sauna after a day of exploring. There is a fab atmosphere between guests - it's a laid back, social place - Bedda takes pictures of all guests as they arrive and places them in reception so you always know who is staying with you. There are a good selection of maps and leaflets available to help you plan your trip in Iceland. There is also a useful noticeboard which is updated every day with events happening around town so you get a chance to do things you may have missed. The breakfast is self service and there is a basic but good selection of cereal, toast, cheese, juice, tea/coffee - you can help yourself at any time in the morning. If you like somewhere with the personal touch, don't hesitate to book this place!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katestevensonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed at Our House because we didn't want to stay at some cookie cutter hotel, we wanted to really see Reykjavik and meet people. As others have noted, it really does feel like coming home, if home has a sauna in the basement and someone there who can answer any question you may have: Ernesto, the caretaker is so wonderful we wanted to take him home with us. One night after wandering the streets looking for something sweet to eat we gave up and went back to Our House - where Ernesto was able to tell us of a place nearby that made wonderful cheesecake and was open late - we never would have found it on our own. Bedda (the owner) posts what events are going on around town every day on a blackboard, complete with mini-reviews of musicians (as she is a musician too), so you really get a window into local life.

The furnishings are kitschy but comfortable. We stayed in a downstairs room and got the chance to see all the rooms, which range from doubles to bunkrooms. This is not the place to stay if you want to be left alone, as the walls are thin, people are friendly, the kitchen, bathrooms, living room, rooftop deck and sauna are all shared with the caretaker and who ever else happens to be staying there at the time. Bedda provides food for make-your-own breakfast, and basic cooking supplies and tools are on hand. There are also lots of guide books and maps on hand, and Ernesto is more than happy to help you figure out what to see and where to go.

The location is great, just around the corner from the Hallgrimskirkja church so you can always find your way home by looking for the church.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fingerlakes_Express
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Our House is a true home from home - Bedda has a fantastic house - several bedrooms with comfortable beds, shared bathrooms (a sauna with shower, a separate bathroom with shower and jacuzzi, and a separate loo). The kitchen is shared and is fully equipped, breakfast being provided but on a help yourself basis.

All of the little details are taken care of - even down to a cabinet in the bathroom containing "hangover pills"! Ernesto is the caretaker and is phenomenally helpful - nothing is too much trouble, from restaurant recommendations to help with navigation.

The house is clean comfortable and beautifully done - as soon as you arrive you feel at home and not as though you are intruding on someone else's home - rather as though you have arrived at your own holiday home in Reykjavik, with CD player, DVD, TV, and all the facilities you would expect at home.

A fantastic place, centrally located and amazingly well done - thank you Bedda and Ernesto

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuroraWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Miõborg
Rey Apartments Hotel
Rey Apartments Hotel
#1 of 108 in Reykjavik
497 reviews
Mengi Apartments Reykjavik
#20 of 108 in Reykjavik
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
#15 of 108 in Reykjavik
110 reviews
Miõborg
Guesthouse Sunna
Guesthouse Sunna
#5 of 108 in Reykjavik
477 reviews
Island Apartments
#22 of 108 in Reykjavik
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Our House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Our House

Address: Karastigur 12, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: $129 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Our House 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This guesthouse is located right in the city centre, surrounded by quirky little shops, bars, cafés and museums. Kárastígur is a residential downtown side street only a few steps away from the main shopping street and the iconic Hallgrímskirkja church. We call it a guesthouse but you could also call it a hostel or a Bed and breakfast with more emphasis on the bed than the breakfast. We run it but the guests pretty much take care of themselves. You get your own key, the facilities are all included in the price, and all you have to do is make yourself at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Our House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Our House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing