We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had fun”
Review of Grillhusid

Grillhusid
Ranked #120 of 483 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Praha
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I had fun”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

I came here for a quick snack and I got more than I expected - I ordered fish teryiaki with rice and it was fabulous. If I stayed in Reykjavik longer, I'd probably come here more often. I watched other meals that staff were serving to other guests, and I have to admit that I would taste everything. Good location in the center of the city yet away from the tourist spots.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Petr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    146
    46
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Our waiter, Daniel, served up delicious food with a charming personality when our group visited Grillhusid on Tryggvagata 20 in Rekjavek. The restaurant has fun 60's decor and music, and Daniel wears a smile even when he's not with the customers. We highly recommend this spot for tasty food, good value, and staff who enhanced the experience.

Chuck Northrop
cmnorthrop@msn.com

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Icelandic roadhouse”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great food, slow service, reasonable prices (for Iceland)! We ordered the hamburger and fries and the fish and chips, standard roadhouse fare...the food was excellent, but the service was very slow, maybe because the restaurant was so busy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank madamepapillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I went there with my wife and the service and the food was fantastic I had a pepper steak and my wife had lamb skewers and it was just great. The atmosphere was really nice and our server one of the best.

Great place and fairly priced

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs improvement”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We came here after a long day of traveling.
Friendly staff, And the food came so fast, we were surprised.
And sadly not in a positive way.
We ordered fish n chips, side salad, onion rings And beer.
The chips were soggy, And full of oil which tasted old deepfried oil. As did the onionrings And the fish.
The beer was served warm as well, the only plus side was my pepsi Max with ice.
Too bad, i think everything wouldnt have tasted the same,
If the cook just would have cleaned her deepfryer And changed
the oil!
Salad was so And so, dressing looked old And tasted warm as If it Had been on the counter since the day before.
I'm Sad to say, we left with a bad taste in our mouth.
We left within 20 minutes.
Really hope they up their game,
Until then, we will go elsewhere!

Helpful?
1 Thank Håkon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grillhusid also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Grillhusid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing