We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Cheerful”
Review of Grillhusid

Grillhusid
Ranked #125 of 473 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Our first evening in Reykjavik so we decided to wander and find something to eat. Grillhusid was one of the first restaurants we came across. I admit we chose it to get out of the biting wind but I'm glad we did. It's warm and welcoming and the food is good. The staff are particularly friendly. I would definitely recommend it if you're on a budget or just desperate for a good, juicy burger.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    145
    46
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for with friendly service”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Inviting restaurant which was very busy .... A good sign you would think ?
We we're met at the door by a friendly waitress who showed us to our table . We ordered local beer and a starter of chicken wings and mozzarella dippers , the food arrived hot, fresh and tasty .
The vibe was quite loud with foreign students .
Our mains were served quickly ,,,, maybe a little to quickly with the burger being very rare and dripping with fat but the chips were incredibly good , I ordered the pork ribs which were very poor quality however the rest of the food was good .
Service was quick and friendly in a nice atmosphere , two drinks , two starters and two mains came to around £40 so a very reasonable place to eat however the food wasn't great you def get what you pay for here .

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Happyhillwalker_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Retro diner style, nice food”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Nice location near to the harbour & art museum. Diner style with booths, loud music/videos (50's-80's). Lovely waitress (perfect English), we chose fish n chips - it arrived promptly& was well cooked. Good value too, would definitely recommend. (Also learned tipping is not the norm/expected in Iceland).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This little place has a fabulous ambience....it's like stepping back into the 50s/60s....lots to look at and good music while you're waiting for your meal!

We all had fish and chips which was beautifully presented by a charming waitress. It tasted delicious and we all completely cleared our plates. We requested water, which came to the table icy cold and in a bottle with an old fashioned stopper on it....what a lovely way to serve it, straight from the fridge!

I would highly recommend this restaurant for the excellent food and the very reasonable prices in an otherwise very expensive country....do try it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 207Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Here
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It Serves Food, When Others Fail To Provide”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

OK expecting a meal at 430pm on a Friday afternoon may seem like madness, but when you have finished your breakfast at 9.00am walked for miles, tired of coffee and cake, you just want to sit down, relax, have a drink and something to eat, what else can you do? We had spotted this restaurant on our walk around the harbour and dismissed it as too American and not traditional enough. However, after failing to get into our first choice (our nemesis restaurant Icelandic Fish & Chips) and realising that most of the others offering more than pizza, burgers and kebabs were shut, we decided that maybe American Food was good and traditional was not all it was made out to be. We entered Grillhusid and noticed straight away that there was no one about, not even staff......at this point a waitress appeared and everything started to get better. After apologising for the lack of fellow diners, she showed us to our booth. We then enjoyed lamb on skewers and salad and it was very, very good. The restaurant is based on an American Diner and serves the usual burgers, ribs etc, however having recently sampled a Hard Rock Cafe, I would say that I prefer the Icelandic Version. The lamb was perfectly seasoned and cooked and the salad was not just there for decoration. The waitress was friendly and the service impeccable. I am really glad that we finally chose Grillhusid and will not be so dismissive of American Style Restaurants, in future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarcusDante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grillhusid also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Grillhusid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing