We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding 'Secret Ice Cave' tour”

Icelandic Mountain Guides
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Icelandic Mountain Guides is Iceland's premier adventure tour operator. The company was established in 1994 by four young outdoor enthusiasts with a passion for nature, travel and environmental advocacy. These pioneers aimed to introduce the wonders of Icelandic nature to travelers from all over the world. We started by offering Glacier Walks in Skaftafell and later on Solheimajokull glacier. Hiking, backpacking and other adventures and expeditions in Iceland and Greenland soon followed. Today, Icelandic Mountain Guides offers adventure tours ranging from short day tours to longer multi-day expeditions in the great outdoors in both summer and winter. So whether it is the exploration of the icescapes of glaciers and ice caves, crossing of impressive highlands, trekking in the extraordinary rhyolite massifs or hiking in fascinating valleys, our aim is to Make Every Moment an Experience.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed July 21, 2018

We did the Secret Ice Cave tour that departs from Vik. It's only offered in April/May because the caves are temporary, formed by the springtime melting of the glacier. I thought this 4-hour tour was a great way to get a taste of the glacier experience—ride in the big ice truck, strap some clampons to your shoes, and climb the cave—without committing to a much longer full-day hike.

The cave itself was very cool, although it was clearly melting fast, with water cascading all around us. Parts of the cave had clearly collapsed in recent days, so I'm shocked that they took us in. But we survived.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank ReadyForThisJelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMGMountainGuides, Guest Relations Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Hi ReadyForThisJelly, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

We agree that visiting the ice caves are a very interesting thing to see, and we always put our guests safety first when it comes to tours. Hopefully we will see you again when you revisit Iceland, hopefully partaking in a glacier walk or ice climb.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"glacier walk"
in 290 reviews
"blue ice experience"
in 65 reviews
"ice climbing"
in 76 reviews
"skaftafell national park"
in 27 reviews
"hotel anna"
in 11 reviews
"northern lights"
in 136 reviews
"glacier tongue"
in 16 reviews
"solheimajokull glacier"
in 30 reviews
"ice picks"
in 18 reviews
"nights tour"
in 14 reviews
"hour hike"
in 16 reviews
"hiking boots"
in 31 reviews
"amazing glacier"
in 16 reviews
"dairy farm"
in 15 reviews
"hot springs"
in 36 reviews
"glacier experience"
in 11 reviews
"lava cave"
in 19 reviews
Filter

173 - 177 of 1,375 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2018

Date of experience: June 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMGMountainGuides, Guest Relations Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2018 via mobile

Our experience with the Icelandic Mountain Guides was nothing short of incredible. Our guides Ágúst and Gréta were amazing people. Interesting to talk to, inclusive, experienced, and also wonderful cooks! We really enjoyed the tour, so many gorgeous views, and wonderful group mates to match. Nothing could have been better! Hopefully we will have a chance to return!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank hallokr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMGMountainGuides, Guest Relations Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Thank you for writing to us.

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your Laugavegur trek with our Guides August and Greta, and we will make sure they see this review. Our guides love to meet people from all over, and we are glad you all had a great time with them on and off the trail. Hopefully we will have you back for another Icelandic Mountain Guides adventure!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2018

Date of experience: July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMGMountainGuides, Guest Relations Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2018

Date of experience: July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMGMountainGuides, Guest Relations Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icelandic Mountain Guides also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Icelandic Mountain Guides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing