We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Every Penny”

Icelandic Mountain Guides
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Icelandic Mountain Guides is Iceland's premier adventure tour operator. The company was established in 1994 by four young outdoor enthusiasts with a passion for nature, travel and environmental advocacy. These pioneers aimed to introduce the wonders of Icelandic nature to travelers from all over the world. We started by offering Glacier Walks in Skaftafell and later on Solheimajokull glacier. Hiking, backpacking and other adventures and expeditions in Iceland and Greenland soon followed. Today, Icelandic Mountain Guides offers adventure tours ranging from short day tours to longer multi-day expeditions in the great outdoors in both summer and winter. So whether it is the exploration of the icescapes of glaciers and ice caves, crossing of impressive highlands, trekking in the extraordinary rhyolite massifs or hiking in fascinating valleys, our aim is to Make Every Moment an Experience.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed March 21, 2018

Date of experience: March 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"glacier walk"
in 290 reviews
"blue ice experience"
in 64 reviews
"ice climbing"
in 76 reviews
"skaftafell national park"
in 27 reviews
"hotel anna"
in 11 reviews
"northern lights"
in 135 reviews
"glacier tongue"
in 16 reviews
"solheimajokull glacier"
in 30 reviews
"ice picks"
in 18 reviews
"hour hike"
in 16 reviews
"nights tour"
in 13 reviews
"hiking boots"
in 31 reviews
"amazing glacier"
in 15 reviews
"dairy farm"
in 15 reviews
"hot springs"
in 36 reviews
"glacier experience"
in 11 reviews
"lava cave"
in 19 reviews
Filter

258 - 262 of 1,351 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2018

Amazing day at the glacier Solheimarjokull. Fantastic instruction and storytelling on a safe, exciting and complete experinece.

Absolutely worth every penny

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank thetravellingbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMGMountainGuides, Guest Relations Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

We are so happy to hear you had an amazing day and thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate your recommendation and hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Iceland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2018

I had high hopes for my glacier walk, but just over an hour before the scheduled hike, we were contacted and told the tour had been canceled due to weather. The drive from Reykjavik to get to the glacier is 2 1/2 hours. Thus, we were half-way to the meeting point before they tried to contact us. It is understandable that weather conditions change quickly, but just a little bit more planning on the tour company's part could have saved us from a very long drive and let us adjust our schedule to participate in some other available activity. When you're in a country for a limited amount of time, every minute counts so it was a big disappointment to lose more than 1/2 day, even though the drive was beautiful.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank 185chrisgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMGMountainGuides, Director of Sales at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2018

Dear 185chrisgl

First, I want to thank you for your review. Feedback from our customers is a cornerstone of our operation and a key part in providing good service.

I am very sorry to hear about your bad experience and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.

The weather in Iceland can be very unpredictable and can change rapidly. We monitor the weather forecast closely and make our decisions according to the latest forecast to ensure the safety of our clients. We have very clear rules and processes that we follow in case we have to cancel any of our tours to ensure that our customers get all the necessary information as soon as possible.

Although we monitor the weather forecast constantly, we also need to rely on reports from our guides on location. Unfortunately, the weather forecast is just that, a forecast, and occasionally the reality is completely different.

Canceling a tour an hour before departure does not happen often and we understand how inconvenient this can be for our clients. Therefore, a last minute cancelation of a tour is something we try to avoid.

However, if the weather turns on us there is really nothing we can do but cancel the tour and inform our clients as quickly as possible. No planning can prevent a last minute cancellation if the forecast is not accurate or the weather turns unexpectedly.

I assume you have been issued a full refund for the tour and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Iceland.

If you have any further questions or comments, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly at bardi@mountainguides.is

Best regards,
Barði Theódórsson
Director, Sales and Service department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2018

Date of experience: March 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMGMountainGuides, Guest Relations Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2018 via mobile

We had an excellent Glacier walk handled by Icelandic Mountain Guides. Andrea was a fantastic guide very knowledgeable and skilled, we had an awesome experience. A must do if you visit Iceland.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank hsilbers2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMGMountainGuides, Guest Relations Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the tour! We'll make sure Andrea will get the good message. Thanks for choosing Icelandic Mountain Guides and hopefully we'll see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icelandic Mountain Guides also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Icelandic Mountain Guides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing