We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Icelandic Mountain Guides
from $71.94
More Info
from $113.16
More Info
from $103.34
More Info
from $81.61
More Info
Reviews (1,661)
Filter reviews
1,661 results
Traveler rating
1,460
137
26
13
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,460
137
26
13
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glacier walk blue ice experience ice climbing skaftafell national park northern lights solheimajokull glacier hour hike amazing glacier hiking boots hot springs glacier experience small group highlight of our trip an amazing experience golden circle iceland trip day tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
528 - 533 of 1,661 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2018

Amazing day at the glacier Solheimarjokull. Fantastic instruction and storytelling on a safe, exciting and complete experinece.

Absolutely worth every penny

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank thetravellingbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMGMountainGuides, Guest Relations Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

We are so happy to hear you had an amazing day and thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate your recommendation and hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Iceland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2018

I had high hopes for my glacier walk, but just over an hour before the scheduled hike, we were contacted and told the tour had been canceled due to weather. The drive from Reykjavik to get to the glacier is 2 1/2 hours. Thus, we were half-way to the meeting point before they tried to contact us. It is understandable that weather conditions change quickly, but just a little bit more planning on the tour company's part could have saved us from a very long drive and let us adjust our schedule to participate in some other available activity. When you're in a country for a limited amount of time, every minute counts so it was a big disappointment to lose more than 1/2 day, even though the drive was beautiful.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank 185chrisgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMGMountainGuides, Director of Sales at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2018

Dear 185chrisgl

First, I want to thank you for your review. Feedback from our customers is a cornerstone of our operation and a key part in providing good service.

I am very sorry to hear about your bad experience and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.

The weather in Iceland can be very unpredictable and can change rapidly. We monitor the weather forecast closely and make our decisions according to the latest forecast to ensure the safety of our clients. We have very clear rules and processes that we follow in case we have to cancel any of our tours to ensure that our customers get all the necessary information as soon as possible.

Although we monitor the weather forecast constantly, we also need to rely on reports from our guides on location. Unfortunately, the weather forecast is just that, a forecast, and occasionally the reality is completely different.

Canceling a tour an hour before departure does not happen often and we understand how inconvenient this can be for our clients. Therefore, a last minute cancelation of a tour is something we try to avoid.

However, if the weather turns on us there is really nothing we can do but cancel the tour and inform our clients as quickly as possible. No planning can prevent a last minute cancellation if the forecast is not accurate or the weather turns unexpectedly.

I assume you have been issued a full refund for the tour and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Iceland.

If you have any further questions or comments, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly at bardi@mountainguides.is

Best regards,
Barði Theódórsson
Director, Sales and Service department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2018

I had the pleasure of meeting Icelandic mountain guides on location at Solheimajokull glacier for a 4 hr glacier hike. Having done one the day before I somewhat knew what to expect, but this time it would be a different glacier and it was great! Our guide Pad was knowledgeable and experienced and made sure that we were comfortable and well looked after the entire time. We started our way from the parking lot and once on the glacier made our way through "Mordor" and then up onto the glacier where we were treated with great views and plenty of opportunities to explore and ask questions! Great experience and great company!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Brett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMGMountainGuides, Guest Relations Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience, we are so glad you enjoyed your tour. Pad will be happy to hear you had a great time! Hope you enjoyed the rest of you stay and hopefully we'll see again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2018 via mobile

We had an excellent Glacier walk handled by Icelandic Mountain Guides. Andrea was a fantastic guide very knowledgeable and skilled, we had an awesome experience. A must do if you visit Iceland.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank hsilbers2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMGMountainGuides, Guest Relations Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the tour! We'll make sure Andrea will get the good message. Thanks for choosing Icelandic Mountain Guides and hopefully we'll see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2018

This tour is great - covering a wide variety of sites and activities: waterfalls, geysers, farms, geothermal spa, and waiting for the northern lights. You cover it all on a minibus with a small group of people and in our case, an amazing tour guide, Kamil. The tour included both lunch (inside a greenhouse) and dinner (at a lovely restaruant with delicious food) next to the Fontana spa.

The day trip was a joy from beginning to end - with each stop feeling like you have enough time to explore or rest as warranted. The stops were fun and varied and Kamil was friendly and informative. He was also generous with his time at the end of the tour, as we waited in a particular spot for the northern lights. When it looked like they just weren't going to happen, we started back to Reykjavik. As we were driving, they started to appear and Kamil pulled over, where we stayed a while. He made sure the group had enough time to take it all in and everyone got the photos they wanted.

I couldn't have asked for a better day.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank ozgirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMGMountainGuides, Guest Relations Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

So glad to hear everything worked out and you had an amazing day! Kamil will love to hear you had a good day with him, we'll make sure he gets the message. Thank you for sharing your adventure and hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews