We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guided Glacier Walk Sólheimajökull ”

Icelandic Mountain Guides
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Icelandic Mountain Guides is Iceland's premier adventure tour operator. The company was established in 1994 by four young outdoor enthusiasts with a passion for nature, travel and environmental advocacy. These pioneers aimed to introduce the wonders of Icelandic nature to travelers from all over the world. We started by offering Glacier Walks in Skaftafell and later on Solheimajokull glacier. Hiking, backpacking and other adventures and expeditions in Iceland and Greenland soon followed. Today, Icelandic Mountain Guides offers adventure tours ranging from short day tours to longer multi-day expeditions in the great outdoors in both summer and winter. So whether it is the exploration of the icescapes of glaciers and ice caves, crossing of impressive highlands, trekking in the extraordinary rhyolite massifs or hiking in fascinating valleys, our aim is to Make Every Moment an Experience.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed March 7, 2018 via mobile

This was an amazing tour. The guides are very professional, knowledgeable and cautious with safety. We had an amazing trip. It was worth the $149 PP. Our guide ICE TEA was amazing!

Thank ekbecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMGMountainGuides, Guest Relations Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed the tour. Our guides love to take people on adventures and safety is our top priority and it is great to hear that our guide made you feel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"glacier walk"
in 255 reviews
"blue ice experience"
in 58 reviews
"ice climbing"
in 60 reviews
"skaftafell national park"
in 27 reviews
"hotel anna"
in 11 reviews
"northern lights"
in 128 reviews
"glacier tongue"
in 16 reviews
"solheimajokull glacier"
in 29 reviews
"ice picks"
in 18 reviews
"hour hike"
in 13 reviews
"nights tour"
in 12 reviews
"hiking boots"
in 28 reviews
"dairy farm"
in 15 reviews
"amazing glacier"
in 13 reviews
"hot springs"
in 35 reviews
"tomato soup"
in 12 reviews
"tomato farm"
in 13 reviews
Filter

160 - 164 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2018

I admit we got really lucky with the weather - clear and sunny. But, this was a spectacular, easy way to spend a winter day in Iceland. Margaret was a fantastic guide, and a boss driving the bus on the icy roads. We got to stop and see some of the waterfalls, Seljalandsfoss and Skógafoss. We arrived at the glacier mid-afternoon and they allowed us to break into two groups (fast and slow) and explore the glacier with a guide. My group went with Marco; hiking the glacier was one of the coolest experiences of my life. We had a nice meat soup dinner at a local restaurant, then spent time watching the northern lights. If you really want to see them, you need to have a good camera. Some of the folks on the tour brought them and we could really see the cool colors. I would absolutely do this tour again.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank anastasiakudrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMGMountainGuides, Guest Relations Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2018

Hi Anastasia,

Thank you for reviewing your experience on Glacier Walk and Northern Lights.

Margrét will be very pleased to hear your feedback, as well as Marco. We are pleased you enjoyed the soup, and even more pleased you saw the lights!!

We would absolutely love to have you on the tour again, so please keep us if mind if you decide to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I had a great time on a two day trip. Pascal was a very informative, expert and fun guide. She took great care of us( adjusted schedule on the fly because of weather (high winds) which gave us a beautiful day and extra time on the glacier and ice cave. A truly memorable couple of days. The company is run by guides so they have a great culture. Would definitely use them again.

Thank jelmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMGMountainGuides, Guest Relations Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2018

Hi,

Thank for your review of Northern Lights and Ice Cave Adventure.

The weather can change rapidly in Iceland, so one our multi day tours, we sometimes have to change the schedule to keep everyone safe, but still maximise on the experience.

It is nice of you to mention that the company is run by mountain guides, this means that we are extremely passionate about Iceland and it´s nature, and you are always in expert hands. Our company is made up of proud Icelanders, like Pascale, and non-Icelanders who are equally proud to call Iceland home.

Thanks again for choosing us, and please keep in touch if you ever decide to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2018 via mobile

If I could give them 6 stars I would!

12 hour trip. Very fun. Minivan to Glacier. Lots of interesting scenery on the way.

Spent 3 hours on the glacier hiking. Very interesting. Like nothing I had seen before. The clamp-on spikes make it easy to walk up or downhill on ice.

We had a traditional Icelandic meal for dinner. Primarily a meat soup/stew. Excellent. There was also a very good asparagus/onion soup?

Then we saw an illuminated waterfall and chased the Northern Lights.

Our guide had interesting stories of world events involving Iceland. He also played some excellent Icelandic pop music.

Great fun.

You don't have to be in great shape to do the walk. I was concerned. 51 y/o. Desk job. Seriously overweight but I do a bit of rowing machine and calisthenics.

My college aged son thought it was very easy.

1  Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMGMountainGuides, Guest Relations Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2018

Hi Eric,

Thank you for your review of Glacier Walk and Northern Lights, it sounds like you had a blast!

Thank you also for commenting on fitness requirements, as we agree that you do not exactly need to be in prime physical shape for a glacier walk. Almost anyone over ten years old, who is in at least moderate shape, can join us. Sometimes, the ascent can be a little steep if steps have not been chopped beforehand. However, for more information, you can always contact us if you have any concerns about fitness levels, knee and back problems, etc and we can advise.

Thank you for choosing us, and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

We did the Golden Circle with Northern lights tour and everything was perfect. Our guide Pad was one of the best guides we've had on any trip around the world. He was a perfect combo of intellect and humor. The stops and food were more than memorable, so much so that we booked a trip to South Iceland for their "Take a Walk on the Ice Side" tour. You could choose any of the countless other tour agencies in country but the adventurous spirit of Icelandic Mountain Guides puts them far above the rest. An absolute MUST, HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!! Shout out to Pad one more time for a excellent job!!!

Thank dibs0369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMGMountainGuides, Guest Relations Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2018

Hi,

Thank you so much for your review of Golden Circle and Magical Nights.

Pad will be delighted to hear that you had such a nice day with him, and this is one of our very favorite tours. We are also very pleased you chose a second adventure with us for Take a Walk on the Ice side.

Please keep in touch, and if you return to Iceland, we hope you will join us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icelandic Mountain Guides also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Icelandic Mountain Guides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing