We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Icelandic Mountain Guides
from $201.60
More Info
from $88.25
More Info
from $1,699.46
More Info
from $306.86
More Info
Reviews (1,355)
Filter reviews
1,110 results
Traveler rating
945
116
19
9
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
945
116
19
9
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glacier walk blue ice experience ice climbing skaftafell national park hotel anna northern lights glacier tongue solheimajokull glacier ice picks hour hike nights tour hiking boots amazing glacier dairy farm hot springs glacier experience lava cave
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 1,110 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2018

The Guides were very good, very knowledgeable and very friendly. We were provided with all the gear at no extra cost and they made sure that the groups were comfortable & safe during the hike. My wife and 11 year old daughter did the glacier hike and they loved every minute of it and spoke very highly of the knowledge passed on and the attention they paid. I did the Ice climbing and enjoyed it fully.
Most importantly they (the guides) are very concerned of our safety and the natural damage that i done to the glacier.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Chithalka_Ambrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMGMountainGuides, Guest Relations Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2018

Hi,

Thank you for your review.

While it gives us great pleasure to hear you had such a wonderful day, we would also like to thank you for mentioning safety and our environmental concerns.We take safety very seriously at Icelandic Mountain Guides, and we always have the safety of our guests in mind at all times. We are also always conscious about the delicate environment of Iceland, and the ongoing effects of climate change. We try to play our part as best we can, having announced our very first carbon neutral tour last year. However, the fight goes on...

Thank you for your kind words, and thank you for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2018

On our last day at Iceland (we visited the country for 5 days), at that point, we thought the trip had already reached it's highlight. We never thought that our last activity would be the cherry on top of the trip to make it just one of the best trips I've taken!
We did a private tour on the Sólheimajökull Glacier Walk with our guide Dieter (Icelandic Mountain Guides).

It's important to mention that this company really went beyond to help us book a tour (thank you!) We had done a tour with another company (Artic Adventures) and were supossed to have this tour with them again, once our tour was cancelled because of the weather, they really didnt helped us at all rebooking or finding something new to do. They were really useless unfotunately. When we went to Icelandic Mountain Guides, they really helped us finding a solution to book an alternative tour that we may like. At the end, they gave us the best experience of all the trip!

Please DO take this tour with this company! Notice that as we took it at 8am, there was NO ONE at the glaciar but us 5!!!! Also, Diter was amazing! He was funny, explained everything and really took great care of us :).

Would DEFENITELY recommend this tour to anyone in TripAdvisor and to my friends.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank CarolinaAE_Lima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMGMountainGuides, Guest Relations Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2018

Hi Carolina,

Our warmest thanks for this lovely review.

We are delighted to have been able to help you find something, and that this proved to be the best trip of your whole vacation...we are honored.

We will make sure Dieter hears of your nice comments about him, and we hope you will join us again on another adventure someday. Thank you so much for recommending us, and thank you for choosing us.

Regards from all the team at Icelandic Mountain Guides

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2018 via mobile

We took this tour as part of an Icelandair tour package. Our guide Kamil was very entertaining and informative. We had taken the tour on a visit last summer and this time the visits to the tomato greenhouse and the dairy farm were added which were very interesting. The baths were pleasant and we had an excellent dinner. It was too cloudy to see the northern lights which was the only disappointment. There were 9 in our group and 2 more couples which was a very pleasant group.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank 593clyded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMGMountainGuides, Guest Relations Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2018

Hi Clyde,

Thank you for your review of Golden Circle and Magical Nights.

We are pleased to hear you had a great day with Kamil, and that you had such a pleasant group too! While we wish we could guarantee the lights on each trip, unfortunately we cannot, but we are glad that this did not affect your enjoyment of the tour.

We hope to see you again if you decide to come back to Iceland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2018 via mobile

We took the Golden Circle Tour with Icelandic Mountain Guides and gad a wonderful time. Our guide, Clara,was fun and knowledgeable as well as being a good driver.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank AngusDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMGMountainGuides, Guest Relations Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2018

Hi,

Thank you for your review of Golden Circle and Magical Nights with Clara.

We will make sure she gets to hear about your nice comments, and thank you for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2018 via mobile

The glaciers and ice cave was really nice. Worth visiting! Pity that we couldn’t hunt for the northern light due to the bad wearther conditions. Bjatur was a good driver and guide!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Piyo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMGMountainGuides, Guest Relations Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2018

Hi Piyo,

Thank you for your review.

We are sorry to hear the lights did not make an appearance, but we are very pleased you had a nice day with Bjartur visiting the glaciers and ice caves.

We hope you will choose us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews