We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great walk”

Icelandic Mountain Guides
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.09*
and up
Half-Day Lava Cave Exploration Tour from Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Icelandic Mountain Guides is Iceland's premier adventure tour operator. For 20 years we have been in continuous operation of offering adventures in the wilderness of Iceland and Greenland. The company was established in 1994 by four young outdoor enthusiasts with a passion for nature, travel and environmental advocacy. These pioneers aimed to introduce the wonders of Icelandic nature to travelers from all over the world. We started by offering Glacier Walks in Skaftafell and later on Solheimajokull. Hiking, backpacking and other adventures and expeditions in Iceland and Greenland soon followed. Today, Icelandic Mountain Guides is a company that offers adventure tours ranging from short day tours to longer multi-day expeditions in the great outdoors in both summer and winter. So whether it is the exploration of the icescapes of glaciers, crossing of impressive highlands, trekking in the extraordinary rhyolite massifs or hiking in fascinating valleys, our aim is to Make Every Moment an Experience.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great walk”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

The guide was great, informative and provided clean and new equipment. The walk was interesting, and worth a half day. We opted for the Blue Ice Experience, and I would say that it was long enough. If you are looking for adventure maybe the actual Ice Climbs would be better, because although it is beautiful and unique, it doesn't really offer any thrills. Overall I would definitely recommend this activity.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KRob147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    682
    99
    15
    8
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome walk through ice and fire”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This was awesome, and our guide Sigi very nice. I did the tour on a very rainy day, got soaked, but nevertheless I enjoyed it a lot and will never forget it! We first went hiking then to the glacier, where we got crampons. Book the whole day for it (left at 8:30, returned after 21:00). Highly recommendable! bring waterproof everything (shoes,pants,gloves...)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for glacier walks”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Our party took part in the blue ice adventure(2 hours) and the Solheimajokull exploration ( 4 hours)

We thoroughly enjoyed the trips, the glacier was so beautiful and fascinating. The guides were excellent on both trips, very informative and friendly.highly recommended

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank julia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Phenomenal experience”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We had an amazing time during our 4-hour tour on the glacier. I'm extremely glad that we opted for the longer tour. Arni (?) our guide was knowledgeable, professional, and had a great sense of humor. The sights out on the glacier were better than I could have pictured- absolutely beautiful. Our group was pretty athletic, so I feel as if we really got to cover a lot of ground and fully explore the area. Hands down the highlight of our trip.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank K A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Iceland Essential Tour-A Must”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

I can't imagine going to Iceland and not doing this small (6ppl) keep tour of west and south central Iceland. It was the highlight of my trip. Our guide Kristjen was very competent and informative . Highly recommended!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peacock8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icelandic Mountain Guides also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Icelandic Mountain Guides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing