We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Volcano and Glacier Walk day tour”

Icelandic Mountain Guides
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.09*
and up
Half-Day Lava Cave Exploration Tour from Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Icelandic Mountain Guides is Iceland's premier adventure tour operator. For over 20 years we have been in continuous operation of offering adventures in the wilderness of Iceland and Greenland. The company was established in 1994 by four young mountain and outdoor enthusiasts and pioneers whose aim was to introduce the wonders of Icelandic nature to travelers from all over the world. We started by offering Glacier Walks in Skaftafell and later on Solheimajokull. Hiking, backpacking and other adventures and expeditions in Iceland and Greenland soon followed. Today Icelandic Mountain Guides is a company that offers adventure tours ranging from short day tours to longer multi-day expeditions in the great outdoors in both summer and winter. So whether it is the exploration of the icescapes of glaciers, crossing of impressive highlands, trekking in the extraordinary rhyolite massifs or hiking in fascinating valleys, our aim is to Make Every Moment an Experience.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Volcano and Glacier Walk day tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Iceland overall was fantastic, easy to drive and see on your own, but to see the Volcanoes and Glaciers the right way, taking the day tour with Icelandinc Mountain Guides was the best decision. The cars are five passenger jeeps outfitted for off road driving, our guide was very knowledgeable and a lot of fun, and the whole day attractions were great, no stops at souvenir shops or boring stuff which was great.
The Glacier walk was not challenging and easy for all ages and the guide was very nice

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LuciaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    658
    97
    13
    8
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We did the 'Blue Ice Experience' - where we got to hike around on Svinafellsjokull Glacier. The guide was great, the tour was amazing, and overall I would definitely recommend. We got lucky in that the weather was perfect - blue skies, sunshine - so I am sure this helped with my experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We did the walk through fire and ice tour, apart from being a very tiring day it was exhilarating, fascinating, beautiful and interesting. Our guide was nothing short of perfect, safety was paramount and a thoroughly good day was had by all!! He was extremely knowledgeable, friendly and funny. Thanks IMG!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catnapzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly guide, fascinating tour.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We went for the Blue Ice Experience. Some of us didn't have shoes, but thankfully they lent us hiking boots without any extra charge.

The tour itself was good, and the guide shared some tidbits of his obviously vast knowledge regarding glaciers with us. We saw deep cracks, blue ice, and at the end, we also had the chance to peer down a deep and seemingly endless glacier hole. Definitely worth a visit!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank koochiehsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice gentle glacier walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We went on the short glacier walk. We were driven to the glacier after being measured for crampons. It was then a short walk to get up onto the ice and when we got onto the glacier we were shown how to put the crampons on and how to tie them securely. This didn't make much difference as mine came undone quite a few times, but the guide was happy to help fasten them again, you just had to keep an eye on them so you didn't trip over them.

Our guide was friendly and informative and answered all our questions about the glacier. We were given an ice axe but didn't need to use it. Because of the way the glacier forms, however, we were often walking in single file so if you were towards the back it meant you missed out on some of the conversation.

We were shown some of the crevasses and small holes and tunnels that were safe to look at. We were given safety information about walking on the glacier and reminded about our crampons when we started to walk back down in case we had become too accustomed to them and didn't pick our feet up well enough!

We were given time to take photos and the guide also offered to take photos of everyone when we got to the highest point we could walk to.

It's amazing to be on a glacier as you can't really appreciate how thick the ice is and how complex the 'construction' of a glacier is from a distance. It's a little scary when you see how deep the crevasses are and how the holes have appeared in random places...and when you hear about the people who haven't made it off the glacier. Not much danger of this on this tour though! If you have an average level of fitness you could manage this walk without difficulty. It's not particularly strenuous, you do obviously go uphill, and walking on ice is obviously more challenging than normal, but they choose an easy and manageable route and you have appropriate footwear to help with that. If you want something a bit more challenging, this isn't for you, but if you want a closer look at the glacier which is still relaxing then this is just the thing.

Would agree with other reviewers about wearing layers. It had been about 4 degrees in Reykjavik and we had several layers on but it was a clear day and I felt quite warm once walking on the glacier. If it's a windy day I should imagine it's quite exposed up there. Waterproofs and windproof clothing would be a good idea and definitely gloves and hat. We wore clothes we have previously worn for skiing holidays and these kept us warm and dry. Don't forget your sunglasses too as it can be quite bright on the ice.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icelandic Mountain Guides also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Icelandic Mountain Guides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing