We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Reykjavik
Post
Inbox
Search
Review Highlights
The golden circle super truck and buggying experience

Incredible experience, great super truck! Timings all on point, Pedro our tour guide was brilliant... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
clairewX1313BG
,
Prestwick, United Kingdom
via mobile
Glacier Hike with Vjeran

We did the glacier hike with Vjeran. He was a fantastic guide. He was very knowledgeable and funny... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
WorldWideTL
,
New Orleans, Louisiana
Read all 3,020 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Reykjavik
from $40.22
More Info
from $119.00
More Info
from $134.00
More Info
from $267.00
More Info
Reviews (3,020)
Filter reviews
3,020 results
Traveler rating
2,350
411
100
57
102
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,350
411
100
57
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glacier hike day tour golden circle ice caving northern lights dry suit south coast jokulsarlon lagoon the bus black sand beach gas station hot chocolate and cookies lava tube super jeep small group arctic adventures snaefellsnes peninsula
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 3,020 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a great day trip! This excursion is rated as "easy" and, for those who hike regularly or somewhat active, I agree. However, it might be more challenging for those who don't enjoy walking or the great outdoors. The walk is over snow, wood ramps, uphill, uneven surfaces, etc. Participants are provided crampons and a hard helmet. Some people might benefit from walking/trekking poles. Our guide was very informative and answered all our questions. It was a great day and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this tour.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank LizzyKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barte S, Customer Care at Extreme Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi LizzyKee!

Thank you for booking your adventure with us, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed it!

The natural ice cave is a unique phenomenon and I am glad to hear you have enjoyed exploring it. It is good to hear you were happy with your guide as well.

If you make your way back to Iceland we would love to have you with us on more adventures!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had an incredible experience at the glacier hike today! Everything from pickup to drop off was enjoyable. Our bus driver was fantastic- conversational when he was telling the bus (which only had about 15-20 people in it!) about the areas we were going through. We stopped at Skogafoss waterfall on the way to the hike and had about 20 minutes to take photos. We also stopped at a gas station about half way to pick up some lunch. The bus had 3 different groups on it- the glacier hike, horse riding, and the volcanic cave tour. The glacier hike was dropped off first, and we were split into two groups. My group had two couples, me, and another solo traveler in it. It was extremely manageable and let everyone really hear and talk to our excellent guide, Bart. He was knowledgeable, helpful, funny, and just generally an excellent person to take us on this hike and ice climbing experience. I felt in good hands!

We got kitted out at the parking lot- everyone ended up needing to rent boots and I am SO GLAD I did, the ones I thought would be great would not have worked at all and it would have been unpleasant at worst and unsafe at best to try to even hike in them, much less attach crampons! We also put on climbing harnesses and got our ice picks and crampons.

After that, our group went up the glacier. It’s a bit of a walk- probably 45 minutes from the parking lot until we actually reached the area where we were going to climb! We put on our crampons and learned how to use the ice picks on the way up. A lot of it was uphill on slick ice and rock and slush. It wasn’t rushed at all, but it would not be a good experience for someone without some cardio strength. Once we got to the ice climbing wall Bart chose (it was in a crevasse where everyone could fit and was a good height) we learned how to use the ice picks in the ice and practiced using our crampons in the wall. Much more difficult than I expected!

After that, Bart went to attach the climbing anchor to the top of the wall and one by one we climbed the wall. Whoah is it hard- but everyone made it up the wall, and Bart was incredibly helpful and patient!

After everyone finished, we took a long walk onto the top of the glacier. Again, this was not for people without any endurance. Some hiking experience would also help, or at least enough endurance to get up and down hills or rocky areas. The walk was about 90 minutes and it was a loop around the top of the glacier and back down. We learned a ton about the glacier, got some amazing photos, and really just had a great time.

In terms of clothing: dress warm! I run cold and I wore: two layers of high-quality base layer pants, fleece lined pants from Eddie Bauer, crewneck long sleeve silk base layer, a good quality base layer turtleneck, a looser base layer top with a good, a fleece quarter zip, and a ski coat and rain pants. I would NOT wear pants that can’t sustain possibly being caught on crampons- mine got caught and the
crampons ripped the interior of both legs down by my ankle! I also had a balaclava, which was a pain because it didn’t fit right under the helmet- something more form fitting that still allows you to pull it up over your mouth and covers your ears would be helpful.

Overall, it was an incredible experience and I recommend it! Extreme Iceland/Arctic Adventures is clearly a great tour company. I loved that the tours were small, including on the tour bus!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank MariahHanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barte S, Customer Care at Extreme Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mariah,

Thank you for booking your adventure with us, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed it! Your detailed feedback is greatly appreciated and I am sure it will be very helpful for our future customers.

It's great to hear that you were happy with your guide. Bart is a true professional and is always trying to ensure the best experience for the travelers

I would like to mention that Blue Ice is indeed not an easy tour with the minimum age requirement of 14. Hence, as you rightly mentioned some physical endurance is required.

We are sorry to hear that your crampons ripped the interior of both legs, hopefully, it will never happen again.

We hope you made lots of great memories in Iceland & will be back someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked the trip before travelling as part of my friends 40th birthday weekend away in Iceland - due to the cost this was to be the highlight of the trip.

We stayed in Reykjavik and had hired a car for the weekend, and planned to travel to Gullfoss ourselves to meet for the transport to the tour. it just so happened that this coincided with a serious snow storm, so it took us 2.5 hours to get there and had almost zero visibility for some of the drive. my point is that if you are going when storms are expected, you may be better to opt for transport from Reykjavik with an experienced driver, rather than driving yourself!

When we arrived at Gullfoss Cafe a vehicle awaited us that resembled a cross between a minibus and a monster truck, but due to the conditions on the route up the mountain this sort of transport is exactly what was needed! With the conditions as they were, the journey was a bit treacherous and we had to stop a few times, but got there in the end.

The staff at the snowmobile station were great - very attentive, helpful, and good at putting at ease people who were nervous. the guys that take you out were good at explaining where you were, what you would see and to look out for, as well as the usual safety briefings.
The tour itself was really good - last about an hour with a few stops for photo's & breaks along the way, and they were good at keeping the group together. If we had any complaints, it is that you follow the same route up the mountain then back again, rather than going around on a 'tour' and the area itself is actually quite barren with not a lot to see. Having said that, visibility was very poor on the day we went so on a better day you might see a lot more.

The snowmobiles themselves were very good - modern and easy to use.

A few points for anyone booking:

- If you book to share a snowmobile, you have the opportunity to swap half way so the other person can have a turn
- If you take your own gloves, dont take thick ones. they provide leather mittens to put over your gloves, but if your own gloves are too thick then its not so easy to control the snowmobile.
- Dont wear long coats (knee length) - my wife had a long coat on and you cant wear it under the snow suits they provide.
- I've seen reviews that the drivers are miserable, in my experience they were really good, and there are sections of road that are really difficult, so if they're not talking there is probably a good reason!
- The tour may seem expensive, but when you see the equipment used to put the tours on and the 'monster truck' buses used, you quickly realise that its not that bad.

Our day was spoilt somewhat by the weather, but there was nothing the team could do about that and provided the best experience possible.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Rkidby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barte S, Customer Care at Extreme Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Rkidby,

Thank you for booking your adventure with us, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed it!

We really appreciate you taking the time to write us such a details review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

It's a pity that the weather was not the best during your tour. But as you have experienced yourself, winter is indeed quite extreme in Iceland.

I am very happy to hear that you were satisfied with your guides, they are true professionals and are always trying to ensure the best experience for the travelers.

We hope you made lots of good memories in Iceland and to see you back one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was by far the coolest experience we had in Iceland. Our guides were amazing, and even thought the winds were very high, they still let us wait for the wind to die down and let us paddle out into the lagoon. Great safety briefing and instructions, and the trip leaders were the best part. Would recommend to anyone who has a sense of adventure and doesn't mind running the risk of getting a bit wet (paddle splash).

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank DBGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barte S, Customer Care at Extreme Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi DBGlobe,

Thank you for booking your adventure with us, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed it!

Our guides are true professionals and they are always trying to ensure the best experience for the travelers. We could not be more happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip this much and that we could have been a part of it!

We hope you made lots of great memories in Iceland and to see you back one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had an incredible jaunt up the glacier with our exceptional guide Vjeran. A truly beautiful location, an unforgettable experience, and all brought to fascinating life by Vjeran's expert knowledge. Can not recommend highly enough

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank hughf751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barte S, Customer Care at Extreme Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear hughf751,

Thank you very much for this great review, we are very happy to receive it.

Our guides are true professionals and they are always trying to ensure the best experience for the travelers. We could not be more happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that we could have been a part of it!

We hope you made lots of good memories in Iceland and to see you back here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews