We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South coast tour”
Review of Extreme Iceland

Extreme Iceland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Extreme Iceland Tour Operator! Extreme Iceland is a fully licensed travel agency that offers scheduled tours and private tours, both day tours and multi-day tours. We organize extreme winter super jeep tours, activity tours, day trips, longer tours, car rental self-drive tours, accommodation, all sorts of celebrations or just basically anything you can think of. A strong focus is placed on providing the best available service. The tours are operated by Extreme Iceland directly or teamed up with other accredited travel agencies of high professional standard. We specialize in tour design and travel operation for both scheduled and private tailor-made trips, summer or winter.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
118 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“South coast tour”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

This tour is a must! Visit huge waterfalls and see volcanoes. We also got to watch an educational video on a recent explosion! We lives the cute overnight bed and breakfast in hoft you will love the culture and raw beauty. Also our guide was awesome with only 4 people in our group! We loved every minute!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    980
    187
    58
    30
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
1,050 reviews
878 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Incredible Icelandic Tour”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

A total of 20 of us booked a private tour with Extreme Iceland from 11 to 14 June 2014
covering Blue Lagoon, South Coast including Jokulsarlon, Golden Circle and whale watching around Reyjkevik. Thanks to Hildur who carefully arranged such a tour for us covering nearly all the places that we wanted to visit during our stay in Iceland. To cite a few, the Blue Lagoon, special boat ride in Jokulsarlon, Gullfoss Waterfall, Haukadalour Geysir and also the foothill of Eyjafjallejokull that had erupted a few years ago. The coach was spacious with good
ventilation/air-conditioning and the driver was very careful in driving and customer-oriented while our tour guide Birta was excellent in guiding us through these few days. She was knowledgeable in telling us the history/background/current stories along the places that we have visited in such a way that we could well understand a brief idea on what is going on with the people there. She was also a good time-keeper from the pick-up at hotel, meals arrangements to the timely delivery of us to the cruise ship pier for embarkation with our
cruise ship. We are all satisfied with this private tour and will definitely recommend our friends
to approach Extreme Iceland for the arrangement of tours, short or long, when they visit Iceland.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank YTCHENG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“South Coast tour”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

My friends and I only had a few days to spend in Iceland so wanted to soak up as much of the land as possible in a short space of time. There were 4 of us so we chose to do a private tour of the South Coast including Vik, Dyrholaey, black sands, Jokulsarlon Glacier Lagoon and Skaftafell National Park. We didn't have a lot of time to research before we arrived so wanted a knowledgeable guide who could take us to the best locations and activities. We also wanted to go at our own pace and stop to see things whenever we liked. Our guide Birta was truly amazing, extremely knowledgable, easy going and most importantly fun to be around! This is a long tour with lots of driving and we felt at ease in Birta's care the whole time. We packed in every major site on our journey including geysirs, waterfalls, lava fields, plane wrecks, thermal baths and a glacier hike. We decided on our way home that quad biking could be fun and within minutes Birta had made a few calls and arranged for us to do a fantastic sunset ATV tour to finish off the trip. All in all a great experience. I highly recommend Extreme Iceland. They were able to take our brief and create the perfect trip at short notice and on budget. Thanks again!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank impeccabletaste01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
412 reviews
238 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Truly extraordinary”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My partner and I have been all over the world. When we had the opportunity for a long lay-over in Iceland on our way to Copenhagen for work, I scoured the internet for a company that organized individual tours. Extreme Iceland looked the best online. When we arrived bleary-eyed at 7am from the states and were picked up by our guide, we began a 17 hour adventure that proved they were exactly that: the very best. Our guide Birta was simply the best too. Her knowledge of geology, geography, politics, biology, history--you name it--was astounding. Plus she gauged our fatigue (we are older travelers) and always had a good place to have coffee or food. Clearly she planned the entire route carefully that took us all over south western Iceland--including a snowmobile ride on Langjokull Glacier, unbelievably beautiful views of Gullfoss waterfall, the Blue Lagoon, geysers and lighthouses, and much much more. She deposited us safe and sound for our 1 am flight to Copenhagen--and gave us a map detailing our journey. Having seen much of the world, we concluded that this was far and away the best trip we had ever experienced. Worth every penny.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 787sallyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Landscapes like no other!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We took this tour on June, 26, 2014.

We booked a private jeep tour of Landmannalaugar with Extreme Iceland and were not disappointed. We were picked up at our hotel, on time, and with absolutely no hassles. The landscapes we came across and explored were like nothing any of us had seen before. The colours, the contours, the beauty; were all spectacular. We crossed streams, drove up Hekla (as far as we could; the road was blocked by boulders further up), and hiked the trails around Landmannalaugar. We opted not to use the hot springs, but they did look tempting. Others were enjoying them as we hiked by.

Our tour guide was Birta Johannesdottir. Not only was she professional, courteous, and friendly, but she was incredibly knowledgeable, accommodating, and has a great sense of humour. We very much enjoyed learning about Iceland and Landmannalaugar and being amused by her incredible stories.

Once you get on the road to Landmannalaugar there are no bathrooms or restaurants. Birta made sure we knew of our "last chance" restroom break (don't worry, you can always find a rock if need be) and gave us the option of two different places (a grocery store or convenience store/grill) to purchase food for the day. Once you arrive at Landmannalaugar, there are bathroom facilities there.

I have no reservations in recommending this tour, Extreme Iceland, or Birta!

Wishing everyone well on their journeys through Iceland!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank ChasGO2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Extreme Iceland also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Extreme Iceland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing