We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Coast and Jokulsarlon Glacier Lagoon”
Review of Extreme Iceland

Extreme Iceland
Book In Advance
More Info
$118.54*
and up
Glacier Walk on Solheimajokull Glacier
More Info
$256.05*
and up
South Coast and Jokulsarlon - Day tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Extreme Iceland Tour Operator! Extreme Iceland is a fully licensed travel agency that offers scheduled tours and private tours, both day tours and multi-day tours. We organize extreme winter super jeep tours, activity tours, day trips, longer tours, car rental self-drive tours, accommodation, all sorts of celebrations or just basically anything you can think of. A strong focus is placed on providing the best available service. The tours are operated by Extreme Iceland directly or teamed up with other accredited travel agencies of high professional standard. We specialize in tour design and travel operation for both scheduled and private tailor-made trips, summer or winter.
Hvidovre, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“South Coast and Jokulsarlon Glacier Lagoon”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Generally we were very satisfied with the trip. Our guide was very flexible, planning detours and what not, based on the weather conditions and the wishes of the group. During the drive between the variouse activities he would tell about the local history and the scenery. The tour is not cheap but it is worth every isk.

Day one could appropriately be called the day of the waterfalls, and the second day; the day of the glaciers. This is so because during the first day the main activities are the two waterfalls Seljalandsfoss and Skogafoss and a stroll along a beautiful black sand beach. The second day you see the glacial lagoon, the Black Beach with washed up glacial pieces, and you will hike on a glacier. Both nights we went hunting for northern light, unfortunately with no luck.

A few words regarding the accommodation: We found the rooms to be satisfactory (we choose the cheapest possible accommodation). There is no television, but you won't need it since you will be exhausted. There is WiFi, but we did not have any luck with it. You should expect to pay about 4.800 isk for the dinner per person. The dinner is a two course menu with complimentary coffee and chocolate. We found the dinner to be well worth the price. Both the lamb and the fish are from their own farm, and given the remote location they could easily have charged more.

We forgot one of the lenses for our camera on the hotel. We mentioned this to our guide and he actually got one of the public bus drivers to pick it up from the hotel and drop it off later on his route, so our guide could pick it up. This was a very nice gesture, and we were very grateful.

Generally the only pre paid meal is the breakfast on the second day. It is a good idea to bring some food for both days. The first day the luck break was around 15.00 which is pretty late. The second day we were back at Reykjavik at around 20.00, and there was no possibility stop for dinner. So bring food from home or stack up along the way.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank mikkel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,002
    190
    59
    31
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“2 day Jökulsárlón visit & glacier hike was the highlight of our trip”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Jökulsárlón is an infamous place in Iceland to visit for the surreal icebergs. There are various tour companies who do trips there but Extreme Iceland seemed the most interesting because of the glacier hike.
Extreme Iceland were great because Ingo our guide, with Jon in the other minibus, were absolutely fantastic; extremely knowledgeable on Icelandic facts and generally being hilarious which is a good trait to have when you spend over 10 hours in minibus with them. Ingo did say upfront he was going to be strict with us on the time and you really get the sense that he wants to show you as much as possible in the short daylight we had.
I won't cover what was seen on the trip as that could be read on their website. What I will say is you couldn't be in safer hands when doing the glacier walking. Ingo was straight to the rescue when a lady started slipping and kept her company whilst the rest of us went for a further walk.
It's not a particular point about Extreme Iceland but given the necessary route to get there, the lunch offering was what was available en route which is mostly fast food fodder (which they also pointed out themselves) which isn't a great way to experience Icelandic cuisine. However I couldn't think of any faults for Extreme Iceland. Excellent service, good fun and a memorable trip.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Thuy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fabulous 2 day Jokulsarlon tour”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We (2 adults and a 9 and 11 year old) joined Extreme Iceland's 2 day tour in October and thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Bjorn at Extreme Iceland was incredibly efficient in helping me book on the trip and answer all my questions. We were amazed at how much was fitted into the 2 days... the itinerary was action packed and we were so impressed by the energy and knowledge of our driver. We certainly wouldn't have wanted to visit Jokulsarlon from Reykavik in one day and while we could have driven ourselves we would have missed out so much information learnt from our driver about Iceland, its history and geography. There was a lot of driving and the days were very long but this trip was one of the highlights of our Iceland visit.

We travelled in a small minibus (there were 10 of us in total) and really appreciated being part of a small group.

There were too many highlights to mention but some would include
> visiting the stunning waterfalls along the South coast at Skogafoss and Seljalandsfoss (you can walk behind this one)
> driving through the lava fields and watching a spectacular sunset
> walking on the black sand beach at Vik
> spending time at the spectacular Jokulsarlon glacial lake
> doing a trek around the national park area near Svartifoss falls
> doing an ice walk on a glacier. The children enjoyed putting on crampons and using ice picks.

The guest house we stayed in was situated in a stunning location and was very clean, with good dinner/ breakfast. We were even taken out for a Northern Lights drive after dinner, but it was cloudy and we didn't see anything.

We would recommend this trip to everyone.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank trailgirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“tour clearinghouse - not a tour company”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Unlike all the vans you see around town advertising Grayline or Reykjavik Excursions, Extreme Iceland does not actually operate any tours - it's a clearinghouse. We did the South Coast and Snowmobiling tour which is advertised as a combo standard South Coast tour and one hour of snowmobiling. Well, after your two hour drive from Reykjavik, you spend several hours at the snowmobile place and only get to see the glacier and two waterfalls - and it was too dark to see the falls by the time we got there. We didn't get to go to Vik or see the black sand beaches as advertised.

When we first boarded the bus, I thought we'd be transferred to a more comfortable coach, but alas, we weren't. Our tour guide spent the entire drive out to the snowmobile place droning on about thermal energy - he was Moroccan, by the way! I immediately regretted this tour choice and dozed off. But, turns out the tour guide was a very nice guy and had been living in Iceland long enough to know it well even though he is not a full-time guide.

However, we did enjoy the snowmobiling and walking on the glacier. But, time management was a serious issue here. I feel like we didn't see enough for as much as this trip cost.

Also, BRING A CHANGE OF CLOTHES if you go snowmobiling - you WILL get snow into your snowsuit and you will end up sitting in wet clothes for the rest of the day.

I can't recall stopping for food at any point on this tour, come to think of it. Glad I brought my own food.

The van they use to transport you is small and insanely uncomfortable. Also, no wifi on board as with the other tour companies.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank maxfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
582 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Good but too short on Glacier”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Sorry I do not remember our guides name but he was a good guy. He did his best to get the group going but I think groups in front of us slowed ours down. Try to be in the first group out of your bus and first at the bottom and you may get more time and get higher on the glacier. Other groups in front of you may slow you down. The group I was with wanted to get higher up and be there longer,..it was a really cool place to go and how often will be able to do such a thing? They supplied foot wear if needed, spikes on your feet to walk safely on ice and a pick,...nothing scary about it and not too tough, (just follow the guides rules),. and I think they were giving rest stops as we went up and talked thinking some may be not in shape for the climb. The ice was beautiful, the weather changed quickly many times so dress appropriately. There were some ice caves, great views,...deep down a great adventure.
Tough was the day,...11 or 12 hours on a bus with so many little tours packed into one day. The Northern lights could not be found but "that's the way she goes",...bring lots of water proof, wind proof clothes for stops at the water falls, bring drinks and food (snacks), (there may be a stop at an hour away from the glacier at a gas station for food, bathroom (use it) and a liquor store is across the parking lot), bring a small LED flash light also as it gets dark quickly and you will need it at other stops.
I think it is a must do trip, a once in lifetime just be prepared for a long day.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rockiroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Extreme Iceland also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Extreme Iceland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing