We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jokulsarlon 2 day trip, Extreme Iceland”
Review of Extreme Iceland

Extreme Iceland
Book In Advance
More Info
$258.21*
and up
South Coast and Jokulsarlon - Day tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Extreme Iceland Tour Operator! Extreme Iceland is a fully licensed travel agency that offers scheduled tours and private tours, both day tours and multi-day tours. We organize extreme winter super jeep tours, activity tours, day trips, longer tours, car rental self-drive tours, accommodation, all sorts of celebrations or just basically anything you can think of. A strong focus is placed on providing the best available service. The tours are operated by Extreme Iceland directly or teamed up with other accredited travel agencies of high professional standard. We specialize in tour design and travel operation for both scheduled and private tailor-made trips, summer or winter.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Jokulsarlon 2 day trip, Extreme Iceland”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Can't recommend this trip more. Jokulsarlon is stunning and so is the beach covered in ice close by.
The guides let us use hiking boots free of charge (so we could use cramp-ons on the glacier) which I thought was excellent.
On the last night on the way back to Reykjavik the northern lights started to appear and the guides drove us around for hours chasing them, really appreciated their efforts as we didn't get back until very late and they had done a lo of driving!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,016
    192
    61
    31
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great sights but short on integrity”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

After 9 hours of our 11 hour trip we realized that the weather would not allow us to see the storied Northern Lights. The driver/guide promised to pick us up several days later when the weather was forecast to improve and take us to complete our tour however when we called the company to arrange the time, they refused to honor his offer. A sad ending to an otherwise favorable experience

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
“Buri caving tour”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The tour description and pictures show lovely ice formations but forget to mention that they are not there in the summer time such as August. Extreme Island's website also includes only pictures from the flat part of the cave which is not the first 800m of a difficult rocky-up and -down path. It also fails to mention that this cave trip is rated on the difficult scale as 4 out of 5. It's a great scenic cave otherwise.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Regina666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, best way to make the most of your time in Reykjavik”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have been on a cruise to Iceland and had almost two days to spent in Reykjavik. As the tours offered by the ship did not completely meet our needs, we did some research on the internet and decided to trust Extreme Iceland and booked two tours with them. Our first tour (which most companies told us was impossible to do in the time we had!) started at 11:30 am and finished after midnight! It included a scenic drive through the south of Iceland, with stops at magnificent spots (waterfalls, lava formations etc), ending at Jokulsarlon, the famous glacier lake. Just the lake made the trip worth it, although it was such an exciting ride overall! Our driver (and guide) was Anrar, he was just great!! Friendly, informative, an excellent driver, he certainly added value to our whole experience! Fortunately we booked the golden circle tour with the same company for the next day. We started early as we had to be back to the ship at 2:30 pm, but our driver (and guide), Ragnar, made sure we didn't miss anything and gave us at the end of the excursion a short tour of Reykjavik! An overall excellent experience, highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ACKCYPRUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lava cave tour with family (kids ages 5-13)”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We went on a lava tube tour with Ragnar and had a fantastic time. Our kids talk about it as one of their Iceland highlights. We were picked up along the minibus route, right on time. Extreme Iceland provided helmets (essential! so you don't injure your head on projections), flashlights and gloves. They even had a little helmet for our 5 year old and took the time to make sure it was correctly fitted. Ragnar was wonderfully friendly, professional, knowledgeable and really made the adventure fun for all. We walked in over the mossy lava fields which was beautiful in itself. You could go in the entrance of the cave by yourself, but having a guide made it much more safe and interesting. On your own it could be easy to get lost in there. Highly recommend the Extreme Iceland tour.
(It might be tricky if you mobility issues or are pregnant, there is a fair amount of bending.)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mamabirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Extreme Iceland also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Extreme Iceland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing