We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
I wanna go back

What a great experience it was to travel trough Iceland for 5 days with Extreme Iceland. I... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Patty P
via mobile
Snaefellsness Small Group Tour

Extreme Iceland and/or Arctic Adventures are the same company. We booked a tour of the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Hilda T
via mobile
Read all 2,238 reviews
  
Reviews (2,238)
Filter reviews
2,054 results
Traveler rating
1,626
249
79
41
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,626
249
79
41
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scuba iceland glacier hike day tour ice caving golden circle northern lights south coast dry suit jokulsarlon lagoon the bus black sand beach caving tour small group dive master hot chocolate and cookies clear water lava tube
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,054 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

What a great experience it was to travel trough Iceland for 5 days with Extreme Iceland.

I definitely will come back.

Thank Patty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Extreme Iceland and/or Arctic Adventures are the same company. We booked a tour of the Snaefellsness Peninsula with them and pick up was painless.

Our guide was also very helpful with information about the sites. Enjoyed our time with this tour provider. Highlight is the lava tunnel cave tour. Amazing! Iceland is stunningly beautiful.

Thank Hilda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We took this two day tour along the south coast and saw all the main sights including waterfalls, icebergs, glaciers, lava field and off-roading then exploration of an ice cave. The driver was super friendly and kept us informed of each stop and what to expect. The sites were spectacular and the weather was great, and we had plenty of time at each stop. The company were easy to deal with on email. I highly recommend this tour.

Thank QualityBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a great time on the tour, the organization was superb, bus was comfortable and the whole package was really great.
We don't normaly do guided tours because we like to roam and not stick to a schedule, but the setup here was so well planned and the guide so amazing that we easily overlooked this.
Having visited in autumn the days are a bit shorter and you don't have that much time to stay at each location as you would probably like to... it's a small price to pay to be able to do so much in just 6 days.
A paragraph apart for the amazing tour guide we had. We've done a few other tours with Arctic Adventures and all the guides were really great, but we were super lucky to get Vignir on the 6 day tour, he was simply outstanding! kudos for a great experience, and we will certainly miss your stories Vignir!

Thank Esteban R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fun experience and great guide! We’d definitely do this again! Hike was about an hour each way and definitely further than a previous hike we’d taken. Start time was 9am and that was great. There was almost no one on the glacier when we arrived. When we were coming back down we passed LOTS of other tours just starting up.

Thank Marla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We did the trip today. A memorable experience. They do the tour in conjunction with Arctic Adventures. We were picked up in Rekyjavic in the morning g and dropped off by the glacier. We then met up with our your guide Simon. It was a great experience. Simon was knowledgeable and assisted my wife throughout as she was nervous on the ice.
After the hike we were then collected by our minibus and taken to a couple of waterfall. Skogafoss and Seljalandsfoss which I was able to experience walking behind, though I had to be very carefully of the icey steps on the way up.

Thank rayavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We knew it would be cold but go extra prepared or you waste time sitting on the bus. I personally had thermal socks, leggings, t shirt on top of jeans and massive jumper, coat, hat and gloves and was still cold. It’s the wind that makes it extra.

We seen the northern lights mostly through the camera as they were fairly weak but that’s the risk you take and this trip includes complimentary pictures so you don’t miss out.

Our tour host, Nick, was comical and fun. We seriously don’t know how he stays warm every night!

My sister and her boyfriend got engaged last night and Nick helped arrange a set up so it would be picture perfect.

All round good tour!

Download an app called “northern lights” - it’s the difference between getting complete darkness and then some lights!

Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great day out on this tour. Best day of our holiday in Iceland. Picked up on time on a super bus stopping along the golden circle with the highlight being the trip to the glacier and the snowmobiling. The tour guide made sure if you wanted to go faster when we would stop to pass out slower people and longer on them than what I thought we would be. Would highly recommend booking this tour in Iceland.

Thank churley2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The place and experience is amazing, definitely worth the visit but disappointed about the tour company.
The tour was managed by Arctic Adventures, the guide was really nice but not professional, completely lost on the explanation, on the cel phone while driving and did not seem to very knowledgeable. The super jeep was a shame, it as all tearing apart, making noise, seats broken, absolutely not well maintained, it was a mess, for the cost of the tour they should have much better conditions of the car. Once at the cave, many other tours have lamps on the helmets while we need to carry one on hand which limited you on holding on slippery and icy floor, taking photos and not everyone gets one.
My expectations of the tour were much higher.
The three stars are only because of the amazing place.

Thank 903elee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birna Björk H, Sales Agent at Extreme Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Ele E,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us this review.
We are very disappointed to read that you did not feel that our service was up to standard.

We're very sorry to hear that you did find the vehicle awful and that your guide was not up to your expectations.
That is not what we want our customers to experience.

We will take this under our Operational Department as your description of the vehicle does not meet our standards and guidelines.
Once again we sincerely apologize that the tour did not meet your expectations.

We do hope that you enjoyed your overall stay in Iceland.

Best regards,
Birna
Arctic Adventures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this Golden Circle Food tour the day prior because the tour we had scheduled, with another company, cancelled at the last minute. This tour had virtually the same agenda, and pleasantly was less expensive. It was a fantastic last minute find.

The tour guide Thor was great. It literally rained every time we got into the bus and stopped every time we got out.....I don’t know how he did it, but he said he was a god.

We not only saw the geysers and waterfall, but also stopped at a farm, greenhouse and turf house. The food was as good as the scenery, and my husband finally tried the fermented shark.

This was a great way to spend the day!

Thank kwall1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews