We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Extreme Iceland

Extreme Iceland
Book In Advance
More Info
$118.71*
and up
Glacier Walk on Solheimajokull Glacier
More Info
$256.40*
and up
South Coast and Jokulsarlon - Day tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Extreme Iceland Tour Operator! Extreme Iceland is a fully licensed travel agency that offers scheduled tours and private tours, both day tours and multi-day tours. We organize extreme winter super jeep tours, activity tours, day trips, longer tours, car rental self-drive tours, accommodation, all sorts of celebrations or just basically anything you can think of. A strong focus is placed on providing the best available service. The tours are operated by Extreme Iceland directly or teamed up with other accredited travel agencies of high professional standard. We specialize in tour design and travel operation for both scheduled and private tailor-made trips, summer or winter.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

As other travellers have said the 2 day trip to Glacier Lagoon is not to be missed, was the highlight of our stay and our guide Birta was fantastic. We booked other trips and EI give a discount for multiple trips which is good. Unfortunately we had a bit of a hiccup as we were given the wrong pick up time for the Snaefelssness tour but as the regular tour was only on a Saturday EI arranged a private tour for us on another day which was excellent customer service and has assured I will definitely book through them for my next trip to Iceland.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lel1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,003
    190
    59
    31
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“elusive lights”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

we booked the northern lights in a super jeep tour through extreme iceland and were picked up right on time. we met up with a group of about 10 other white super jeeps and formed a caravan. kind of felt like we were in a james bond movie. our guide was great and informative and the tour leader was absolutely hilarious. we were taken to numerous locations, but the lights didn't make an appearance. the company offered to take us out again on another night, free of charge.

the unexpected highlight of our adventure was snowbogging up and down a mountainside. our daughter was beyond thrilled.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mhigginsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Two day Jokulsarlon tour - way beyond our expectations”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

As budget travellers we were initially a bit hesitant about booking this tour because of the cost, but after reading some reviews and seeing pictures of Jokulsarlon we decided to book this tour. We definitely didn't regret it.

The tour started with a hotel pickup at 9am on the first morning, and we didn't have to worry about anything at all from that point on. It was an intimate tour with 15 people, no huge buses. There was a mixture of ages, from early 20's to 60's and we all got on well and took part in all acitivites. It's a long drive, but there was a stop about once an hour to see a beautiful waterfall, site or have a food and bathroom stop.

Our guide (Jon (Gull)) took the time to get to know our names and what we all did, he also provided many of his own entertaining and interesting stories about the tour and general life in Iceland. He also made short ad hoc stops to see extra sites (e.g. some Icelandic horses near the side of the road). He literally couldn't do enough, taking us northern lights spotting both nights, even letting us wake him up at midnight to go hunting them in the van.

We spent a week in Iceland and saw some amazing things, but day 2 of this tour far surpasses anything else that we saw or did. The weather was perfect for viewing Jokulsarlon and going on a glacier hike.

The best tour and the best tour guide either of us have ever had, can not recommend this enough!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Faye456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Top-notch service and friendly staff”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I booked all our tours with Extreme Iceland online prior to our arrival and I have to say they are on top of their game, they were on time each for departure and arrival. Their staff is really professional and knowledgeable about history, geography, weather conditions and culture.

We did the Golden Circle, The Northern Lights and South Coast, Waterfalls & Glacier Hiking tours with them and we extremely satisfied with their services, if you can get your tickets online before getting there you will get the same prices but you will avoid the crowds and the lines. Extreme Iceland is a very popular tour operator and you'll find lots of people waiting in line to get a ticket.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Abel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Absolute Best-From the First Contact to the Last Goodbye”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is the company to use for tours of Iceland, especially the overnight tours, like the one to Jökulsárlón. My emails were answered by the always helpful Guðrún, who made sure I had no problem with my reservation and payment.
On the tour itself, we lived the Iceland 'rule' of weather changes every 15 minutes! Our trip started sunny, then wet and windy, but our guide, Ragnar, directed us to the best stops and the best views and made sure everyone was getting the most out of the trip. This was professionalism so seamless that the trip just became fun. I am so grateful to Extreme Iceland for two unforgettable days visiting the most stunning areas of Iceland. Don't forget to look them up on facebook.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank jancal26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Extreme Iceland also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Extreme Iceland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing