We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, Yes, Yes - Don't even think twice”

Fiskfelagid Fish Company
Ranked #12 of 473 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $80
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Denver, CO
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Yes, Yes, Yes - Don't even think twice”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Of all the places we dined in Reykjavik, this was our favorite. Food was over the top. Service was over the top.

All you need to know is what other reviewers have said, "The Around The World" menu. Skip lunch, so you can save room for this outstanding culinary experience. More food than you can dream of, more food that they'll tell you they'll serve. Family style, it's perfect whether you're a group of two or more.

You have a chance to try many local dishes and well as unique preparations of the familiar. Make sure to do the wine pairing as well, as it's the best value for wine in town.

There are many places with similar names, so just make sure to remember it's the place under the book store in the center of town.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank itsallhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,158
    303
    87
    37
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Food festival - blown away!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Wow! We ate here on the first night of the city's "food and fun" festival, the guest head chef here created the most amazing meal. At the festival all the restaurants compete for a coveted award, all offer just 1 set menu- 4 courses at the same price. We were astonished at the quality of the food, it was just wonderful. The head chef himself delivered our main and enquired how we were enjoying it.... Just stunning!
Yes its expensive at £130 for 2 including wine but this is half what equivalent food/wine and service would cost at home in London... Treat yourself, we think this is perhaps the best meal we've ever had.

Helpful?
Thank oscarthedoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A Tour of Iceland at the dinner table”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Superb restaurant, with lots of great decorative touches and subtle lighting that make it intimate.

We chose the 'Tour of Iceland' menu which offered several courses each of traditional meats and seafood from around the country and complemented by a different wine. The waiting staff were very friendly and explained the background to each dish, and also shared some of their own experiences of Iceland.

The food was fantastic, and the service spot on without being over the top. No surprise then, that the bill was pretty near astronomical - am I complaining? No; this is Iceland where it's not cheap to eat, and quality comes at a price (which we were happy to pay). Perhaps the £15 a shot Cognac was a step too far though!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob_Anderson_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Very good food and nice ambiance”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Our group of 16 were given two nice round tables of eight. We had previously ordered an Icelandic tour menu which gave us a taste of Icelandic cuisine. Everyone enjoyed it and the wines, red and white both from Chile, drew positive comments from the party. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RolloMcFluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This might be the first time I've ever given a top rank. I believe perfection is pretty much impossible until I ate dinner at Fish Company. The service and atmosphere knocked my socks off, but the food was bliss. From the amuse bouche to the dessert, every bite was five star. Each component on the plate was there for a reason - every mouthful a tasting delight from an artful genius. I could not find a fault. The evening's excellence gave good value even at Iceland prices. Make a reservation now.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaffronSky1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fiskfelagid Fish Company also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Fiskfelagid Fish Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing