We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Around the World”

Fiskfelagid Fish Company
Ranked #11 of 464 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $80
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Around the World”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Perfect atmosphere for a romantic dinner for two! We decided to go with the ‘Around the World’ tasting, though I heard from others there that evening that the Icelandic tasting menu was phenomenal as well. Many courses, eight I think, of wonderful dishes including the pork belly, which I think may have been the best version of that dish I ever tasted. Though we did not opt for it, the incredibly knowledgeable wait staff can tell you the perfect wine pairing for each dish. If you go early enough reservations may not be necessary, however our reservation made by the hotel for us saved us the wait around 2000 when the restaurant really fills up, even on a week night. Overall, everything was wonderful, and being American, I got a laugh from the American ‘sliders and onion rings’ course. Very well done.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HomeAgain098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,143
    298
    83
    36
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Dining in style on a budget!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Fantastic setting close to the City centre with a friendly atmosphere.

Top quality fish dishes that didn't break the bank all served with great service.

Would definitely go back for a meal again, one of the nicest restaurants visited in Iceland

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john_i2ipix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
398 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Great lunch food and service”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We came here for lunch. The lunch menu looked good so we decided to try it. It did not disappoint. My partner had the fish course which is starter and mains. I tried the sushi which is very creative and fresh. All the foods were very creative, well presented and taste good. Service was good too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thebudgetbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing trip around Iceland”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We went here as a last minute decision because the restaurant we initially wanted to visit was full. I'm so glad we did because the food was amazing! I plumped for the around Iceland menu which had plaice, charr, lamb and a huge blueberry dessert platter. My other half had only two courses and they very kindly brought him a second starter from my menu so 'he wouldn't have to watch me eat it'. Such a lovely touch. The food was so well cooked, full of interesting concepts and pairings. You'd pay an absolute fortune for food this good in London.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BBQ84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The top restaurant in Reykjavik”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

You definitely need a reservation at this place but it is certainly worth it. The website allows you to review their menu and send a request for a reservation so do it before you leave home - you will not regret it. Of the 3 restaurants we ate in this was head and shoulders the best.
We both had the same thing - starter of Arctic Charr with Scallop & Prawns followed by Fish of the Day which was a mixture of Salt Cod, Salmon and shell fish and it was all top notch. The couple on the next table were having the sampler menu and were raving over every course. All I can say is fine dining at its best. For two courses for two people and a bottle of house wine (a very good Chilean Carmenere) the bill came to just over £100. You would pay similar in the UK for a meal of this quality.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fiskfelagid Fish Company also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Fiskfelagid Fish Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing