We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love fish!”

Fiskfelagid Fish Company
Ranked #11 of 465 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $80
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Miõborg
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“I love fish!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

One thing i loved about Reykjavik is the fishes. and at the fish company, their fish is excellent in general, however you have to be careful what you order.

Before i say more about the food, i must note the atmosphere is 5/5, very pretty and unique restaurant and their bathroom is extremely grande too, in a sort of traditional cottage way.

I personally ordered the 3 course around Reykjavik, which to be honest i was a little disappointed. The quality of the ingredient was good, but you have a feeling that they cramped it to become a 3 course, because my wife ordered just the main course which consisted of the catch of the day.

Catch of the day is the best in Reykjavik restaurants, and especially this one. Everything was fresh, and nicely served up. In Reykjavik they tend to use a lot of salt with their fish, so it's good to ask for less salt in your fish (especially when they cook cod)

So in short, don't bother with set menus, just pick and order what you see fit and enjoy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 0oGeraldo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,143
    298
    83
    36
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“An enjoyable and memorable dining experience!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stumbled across the Fish Company when comparing restaurant menus and we hadn’t heard any reviews or hype about the restaurant so had no prior expectations to our visit. We wanted to try an Icelandic tasting menu which didn’t feature puffin or whale so choose this restaurant and I’m so glad we found it.

It’s not cheap but eating out in Iceland is really expensive and we found that paying a little bit extra works out much better value in terms of service and food quality than going for an overpriced standard restaurant. The plates are smaller as is standard in a fine dining restaurant but I thought the Icelandic tasting menu worked out really good value (£40 per person). The food at each course was exquisite, especially the lamb and the savoury sorbet served with dessert. The setting and décor is also appealing and I enjoyed the atmosphere. All the staff were really well-informed about the ingredients and the concept behind each course and I enjoyed listening to their explanations. Only criticism is that alcoholic drinks are very expensive but we found this everywhere in Iceland.

Overall, I was really impressed and I am glad we had the opportunity to visit – the food was definitely a talking point when we returned home and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it if you’re visiting Reykjavik. We didn’t make reservations but the restaurant was full so I’d call in advance.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaireLouEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The lobster salad is lovely!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The lobster salad is lovely - i always ask for the sauce on the side tough. This is one of my favorite places for a week day lunch - then it is very fairly priced. Nivce atmo and service.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TobbaMarinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Night Out ....Eating”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Being my 65th birthday, we wanted something special, and boy did we get one.........the place was packed always a good sign, and out of season as well. We had the taster menu,which was for two, and you have a portion of everything on the main menu, to sustain the quality throughout so many dishes and sweet, was incredable.
The service was first class, as full as the place was, and friendly.
We was lucky to get in, so make sure you book a table...........

P&C

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great local seafood prepared in a creative manner”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We chose Fiskfelagid (Fish Company) based off the positive trip advisor reviews and also our guidebook. On the weekend we visited Reykjavik it also happened to be Gay Pride weekend. The restaurant had a great fixed price menu because of the amount of visitors to Reykjavik on this weekend. The menu had some excellent choices and we were able to substitute a couple of items on the fixed price menu to make the perfect combination. We chose the wine pairings as an accompaniment. They have an extensive wine list as well. Most of the options included fresh seafood. However, we also tried the lamb which is considered an Icelandic specialty. It was deliciously tender and flavorful. We also enjoyed the lobster and arctic char dishes. Absolutely enjoyed ambiance as well as the presentation/flavor of the meal. Would return again if in Reykjavik!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doingstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fiskfelagid Fish Company also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Fiskfelagid Fish Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing