We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fiskfelagid Fish Company

Fiskfelagid Fish Company
Ranked #11 of 455 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $80
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Scandinavian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We had lunch there on our recent trip to Iceland. The fish was fresh, well prepared with wonderful side dishes. The bread was warm and tasty and the butters (they give you a variety) delicious. It is well located and definitely cozy. For Iceland the price was reasonable. We sat there for a long time and very much enjoyed a leisurely lunch. Oh yes, the cappuccino was outstanding. A definite revisit on our next trip.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,094
    293
    77
    35
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good variety of excellent seafood, creative presentation, good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We live in Seattle and are used to good fresh seafood, but we just had one of our best fish dinners ever. I had ocean perch and fish soup. Soup was so tasty and rich that I would have been happy with nothing else. Best ever. Perch was nicely done with wonderful accompaniments. My wife had lightly salted cod lightly cooked so firm but still translucent, just right. Excellent flavor. Service was very pleasant. Only downside was high price ($150 for 2 with drinks) but worth it.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Our hotel (Bjork) concierge recommended this restaurant for local food. We ordered 3 Icelandic Fish Platters for the main course and were not disappointed. The fish was very fresh and the sauces accompanying them were delicious. There were 3 types of fish - Plaice, arctic charr and one more... The ambience was not great. The service was also not exceptional.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alka_dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Amazingly delicious food and atmosphere... The starters and bread/spreads were even to die for!!! The portions were a tad small if you are used to giant American meals but i thought it was just right. The combination of tastes were thoughtfully put together.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Veronica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delish!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We really enjoyed the Fish Company. We were happy to be seated right at our reservation time and the service was pleasant and helpful - especially considering we were not that familiar with some of the fish on the menu. We thought everything was very good and had some interesting flavors that make this place stand out compared to other restaurants.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 809GHKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fiskfelagid Fish Company also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Fiskfelagid Fish Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing