We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic hostel”
Reviewed July 15, 2010

We only stayed one night in this hostel but were impresses with the high standard. It has the feeling of a small hotel in terms of efficiency, cleanliness and comfort but is definitely feels like a hostel when it comes to meeting people. The kitchen is very well equipped and organized. The staff is friendly and helpful and the breakfast was fine too. We will certainly book there again when we return to Reykjavik one day.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiraneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    152
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
30
114
169
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

The hostel is in a great location. Just a short walk to everything. The staff was amazing and very wiling to provide any assistance you might need. The rooms were very clean an large in size. One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in and I would recommend it as an option for all travelers.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingGnome09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2010

This is a great hostel, situated in the centre of Reykjavik, close to the harbour, to the Tourist Information Centre and to one of the main bus stations where you have many connections. There are at least 2 supermarkets around and a booze shop. It is very clean, staff is very nice and the kitchen is very well-equiped, In the same building with the kitchen there is a cozy lounge upstairs where you can enjoy reading a book and drinking a cup of tea.
I totally recommend it, I had a great time there!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anktudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2010

I slept on this hostel last Friday 23th april. I acknowledge my stay there and thank specially the warm, professional and excellent staff working in this hostel, specially in those hard times with the volcano crisis.
They helped me for my flight booking and other thousand of arrangements I needed.
It was great to know a very good place to stay.
Safe, clean, warm and close to the main restaurants

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubiconcultura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

This was my first trip to Iceland and first time staying in a hostel/dormitory. Reykjavik is pricey for hotels and not many brand names besides Hilton and Radisson, Hostelling International has 2 properties. I stayed at the downtown location. The location is very central to many attractions, shops, restaurants, and stores. It is a couple blocks back from the main square so it is quiet. Definitely feel like a hotel, very clean, bathrooms in room, staff courteous, and modern yet simple decor. Breakfast is 1000kr or about $8 is all you want but if u looking to save you can easily save 200-500kr in a little coffeeshop. ALso bring a sleeping bag, sheet sack, and a pillowcase and/or pillow to save a linen fe.e. Best hostel ever stayed in dont say much cuz its the first, but the ba is set high for all others around world.

Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2010

This hostel was brilliant value for money. It was centrally located, 2 minutes from restaurants & bars and close to local attractions. The room was spacious & clean with lovely fresh linen & a beautiful bathroom.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast consisted of fruit juice, coffee, cereals & bagels with cheese & spreads.

It really exceeded my expectations and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGR14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2010

Reykjavik Downtown Hostel is an excellent place to stay right in downtown Reykjavik. It just opened in April 2009, so the hostel is brand new and clean. I was pleasantly surprised by the comfortable twin beds with soft duvet covers! The hostel itself is centrally located on a quiet, cobblestone street in downtown Reykjavik. I had the best sleep on those nights, as it was on a quiet street that's close to the bars but far enough away from the noise. The hostel is only a very short walk to some of Reykjavik's best coffee shops, restaurants, major attractions.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaJToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Hlemmur Square
#9 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Galaxy Pod Hostel
#2 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel

Property: Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel
Address: Vesturgata 17, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hostel, voted by guests as the Best HI Hostel worldwide 2015. A beautiful boutique HI Hostel, ECO certified**, modern, comfortable and welcoming. Located stone's throw from the old harbor and the city cultural center, in a quiet residential street. Facilities include a fully equipped kitchen for guests, lounges and a Cafe. Laundry facilities and luggage storage on the site. Fast and free WI-FI across all areas. Free Computer access. Board games, children's corner. Hearty breakfast buffet with organic & vegan options. A wide selection of great rooms! Free linen is included in all rooms. Spacious shared/female only 10 bedded dorm rooms with en suite facilities and lockers (bring your own lock or buy one at the desk). Family rooms for up to 5 persons with en suite facilities and lockers. Comfortable twin/double rooms with shared or private facilities (towels included). No elevator in the building. Reception / Tour Desk / Cafe : open 24 hours a day. Our hostel staff knows the City inside out and are on hand to help with anything you need. All excursions, Car Rentals and Airport trips are bookable with free pickup / drop off. **Reykjavik Downtown Hostel is Eco Certified with the Nordic Swan. The certification is a trusted ecological label in the Nordic countries, which demonstrates a well-considered and thorough sustainability policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Downtown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing