We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reykjavik Downtown Hostel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

One thing that can be said for Reykjavik Downtown Hostel is that it's great value in an expensive country.

Despite the name it is not really located close to the main shopping street or Hallgrímskirkja, however it is very near to Austurstræti, a street littered with bars and cafés that has a bit more affordable nightlife than the shopping areas. It is also very close to a tourist information centre, but there is a lot of information provided for you at the hostel, and they can help you set up busses to and from places like the airport or the Blue Lagoon.

I stayed in a ten-bed dorm. The rooms were very clean and the bathroom was one of the nicest I've seen at a hostel. The whole place felt really safe, and you're given a cupboard to lock your valuables (bring your own padlock). The beds were comfortable, if not a bit awkward to get up to on the top bunk. The kitchen was massive and stocked with all manner of dishes, plus a lot of free food from past travellers - it was super convenient for those of us who weren't looking to spend 3000-4000 ISK per meal. The only issue I had with the kitchen was that a huge group that were touring together put a sign on it saying they had reserved the entire area for two hours each over normal breakfast and dinner hours - not sure if the hostel knew or approved of them doing that, but it seemed a bit ridiculous to hog the shared kitchen from other starving travellers.

Staff were super friendly from the moment I booked. I stupidly booked a day earlier than I was arriving and only realized less than 24 hours before my flight landed, but even though I contacted them on such short notice they took my booking off the first night and charged me nothing. They let you store your bags with them if you arrive before check-in time as well. And on my last early morning when I was waiting for the shuttle, the guy at the counter suggested I leave earlier to catch my plane, sorted everything out for me, and then chatted with me while I waited. Super friendly people all around.

Honestly the only thing lacking from this hostel was some energy. There is a bit of a sitting area when you first come in but there wasn't really a good place to meet other people. Looking through the photos on here, it looks like they've hosted some live music events, but there was nothing special going on even though I was there around the weekend.

Overall, a good place to stay. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Larissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    145
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
27
108
164
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
South Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

This hostel ticked all the boxes for an enjoyable no-frills stay in this notoriously pricey city. Rooms were sparse but clean. Bathroom was fine once the hot water eventually came through. Breakfast (1,450 kr each) was help yourself to hot drinks, juice, cereal, yoghurt, toast, spreads, cold meats and cheese. All very nice. Location is handy to the old harbour area but a bit of a walk to the main shoppong street and new cathedral. The hostel staff are intelligent and helpful, giving the place an easy, relaxed atmosphere. Overall, an excellent low-cost option.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bikesandtunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife NWT Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

The downtown hostel is a good value for your money. It is centrally located, just one block from the waterfront and has good facilities. We rented a double room with bathroom for about 10000 IKR a night, which is good for such a central location. The room was clean and quiet. Breakfast was offered for an additional 1400 IKR, but we opted for the kitchen instead and prepared our own. The kitchen was also clean and well organized. The staff was helpful and friendly and there is a small coffee shop in the main lobby. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FranH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Myself and my hubby stayed at the hostel for 4 days and it was a very good stay.The hotel has a very good ambiance and good location.Just a few minutes to the port and the Viking Museum.The hotel staff are very friendly.One great thing which i wanted to mention is the guest kitchen which is very well equipped with pots/pans,four hot plates,two big refrigerators,microwave to store your food and individual plastic baskets where you can write your room number and use your food the next day.

We had paid for the breakfast buffet,but the spread was not that great.We could have bought food from the supermarkets and fixed a breakfast for ourselves.The breakfast was priced at 1450 ISK per person-per day.Also,I would have preferred a cupboard in our room to store our stuff.

I would definitely recommend it for young travelers. No elevators.

Room Tip: Take the rooms on the third or fourth floor to get a good view of the port and the ships.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rknkcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Kind, helpful staff. They offer breakfast and you do have to pay for it, but if got in late and have to leave in the early morning , or simply don't feel like cooking, it is budget friendly and delicious. The bonus is that they also have a cafe bar right in the lobby.
Clean rooms and clean bathrooms. I stayed in both the dorm and double room and there were bathrooms right in the rooms.
There are lockers in the dorms for storage, but a suitcase would have a hard time fitting into them.
The internet was quite slow, or perhaps it was just the computer, but at least it is offered.
Lots of information pamphlets available in the lobby.
This hostel is located on the western part of downtown and is very close to most sights.
Also, a very quiet hostel, since it's in a residential area. There's bars about a 5 minutes walk away, but you don't get the nightlife noises. Very few people are up past 12am here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moop M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed here in a 2 bed en-suite room for 4 nights. Friendly staff, clean facilities and a short walking distance to city center. The prices are a good alternative to a hotel, especially if you book a private room with a bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

With age one begins a bit more hesitant to staying in party-going hostels or run the risk of a loud snorer in the dorm, however after seeing the prices of hotels in Reykjavik we decided to stay in a private room (+ bathroom) in a hostel instead. We really enjoyed our stay!

The rooms was very spacious with a desk and two chairs and good heating plus the bathroom was also very large and clean. Great if you're a couple on a budget. The room was also very quiet (we stayed on the ground floor)

The kitchen was well-equipped and organised! The staff were EXCELLENT. Very friendly and helpful.

A small note: While we really enjoyed our stay here, as a couple, I'm not sure if this hostel is a good place for solo travellers (I could be wrong..). The reason I say this is because there was no cosy communal area with a TV area or relaxing area to unwind. Yes, there is the seating area which is part of the lobby (which is good!) but I don't know how conductive the arrangement is to meeting new people. Not a biggie though - I imagine most of the time is spent outside of the hostel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hools007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#3 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Hlemmur Square
#8 of 98 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Galaxy Pod Hostel
#2 of 98 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Downtown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Downtown Hostel

Property: Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
Address: Vesturgata 17, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 98 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Reykjavik Downtown Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hostel, recently voted by guests as the Best HI Hostel worldwide 2015. A beautiful boutique HI Hostel, ECO certified**, modern, comfortable and welcoming. Located stone's throw from the old harbor and the city cultural center, in a quiet residential street. Facilities include a kitchen for guests, lounges and a Cafe. Laundry facilities and luggage storage on the site. Fast and free WI-FI across all areas. Free Computer access. Board games, children's corner. Movie nights. Hearty breakfast buffet with waffles and organic & vegan options. A wide selection of great rooms! Free linen is included in all rooms. Spacious shared/female only 10 bedded dorm rooms with en suite facilities and lockers (bring your own lock or buy one at the desk). Family rooms for up to 5 persons with en suite facilities and lockers. Comfortable twin/double rooms with shared or private facilities (towels included). No elevator in the building. Reception / Tour Desk / Cafe : open 24 hours a day. Our hostel staff knows the City inside out and are on hand to help with anything you need. All excursions, Car Rentals and Airport trips are bookable with free pickup / drop off. **Reykjavik Downtown Hostel is Eco Certified with the Nordic Swan. The certification is a trusted ecological label in the Nordic countries, which demonstrates a well-considered and thorough sustainability policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Reykjavik Downtown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Downtown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing