We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“great hostel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reykjavik Downtown Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Liked this hostel nothing to complain about.
the kitchen was clean and comfortable.
The room was clean and bathroom was fine.

only small warning is that the dorm room that i stayed in, didnt have locks on the lockers, when i tried to use my own lock, but the locker was too thick so normal locks don't always work.

But it was great. I checked out the sister hostel Reykjavik Loft hostel. I liked the view from there and location, i would recommend there also

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahmaob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    135
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
103
158
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is in a strategic location literarily in the middle of the best restaurants, bars, and clubs of Reykjavik.

We spent one night in a double room enclosure with private bathroom facing the sea. It was bright, spacious, and very clean. The whole hostel is very modern and looks new or recently renovated. The staff was nice and helpful and there was free WiFi everywhere.

The price was in line with other similar accommodations in the area. However, we had to pay an additional fee per person as non-members of Hostelling International. Since the surcharge is per night, if you're staying for a few days or you're planning to sleep in other hostels during your trip it's recommended that you buy a HI membership card instead (it can be purchased at the hostel).

Overall, the Downtown Hostel is a very good choice for a short stay in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Very welcoming en friendly staff. They offered to make phonecalls about our lost luggage. Perfect location, in the city center. Nice,clean room with our own neat shower en toilet. We even had seaview. Good boxspring bed in our 2 bedded rooms with. Warm, cosy kitchen in the backyard where we cooked our dinner. This place makes me feel happy!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YvonvdZalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hostel is well located, close to the harbour, vlose to the main shopping/tourist area without being right in the centre of it. The staff is helpful and efficient. There is a sitting area next to the lobby, where you can buy coffee/tea. I stayed in a dorm and it was surprisingly quiet. The communal kitchen and the rooms are very clean. Most importantly if you go in the summer, the curtains are thick enough to block the sunlight.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MlleBlah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I'm a teacher who took 21 students on a tour of Germany. We had a free stopover in Iceland and decided to see what we could in only 2 days. We chose the Downtown Hostel because of its proximity to the harbour. The front staff was super helpful. They suggested a fabulous Thai restaurant nearby that could accomodate our large group and not break the budget. The staff also arranged for us to have our breakfast early since we had to leave before breakfast was normally served. The 12 girls in my group stayed in a large dorm type room with bunk beds and the boys stayed in a separate dorm room. The additional chaperoning teacher and I stayed in a room with twin beds. The bedding was comfortable as were the beds. I was worried about my room getting dark enough to sleep since we were visiting Iceland at a time of year when the sun never sets, but the black out shades blocked the sun quite nicely. I appreciated the free wifi so that I could send a few emails. Breakfast was served in the main lobby of the hostel. Yogurt, muesli, cereal, bagels, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, and different types of bread with jam/butter/honey were offered. My students were able to eat a hearty breakfast before heading out to tour Iceland. This hostel was super clean, friendly and relatively affordable when you consider how expensive everything in Iceland is. I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sadiea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We loved this place, just out of the main hustle and bustle but still within walking distance of the main streets. The twin room with ensuite was bright and spacious (especially for a hostel!), comfortable and clean. The staff were very friendly and helped us decide what to do each day and booked tours for us. The breakfast is light but very good and they even had gluten free rice cakes for me. The reception area is comfortable but can get crowded at breakfast. I only wished that there was a lift for our heavy bags and that the kitchen was closer to the rest of the rooms (it is out the back - slightly annoying on a rainy night when you want to pop down and make a cup of tea).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTraveller530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is in the middle of everything and the FlyBus will take you directly there from the airport. Friendly staff and very nice room. We stayed in a double private room on the top floor. It was a perfect little room with a beautiful view.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank falcor1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#2 of 59 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Miõborg
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Miõborg
Kex Hostel
Kex Hostel
#6 of 95 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Downtown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Downtown Hostel

Property: Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
Address: Vesturgata 17, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Reykjavik Downtown Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hostel, recently voted by guests as the Best HI Hostel worldwide 2015. A beautiful boutique HI Hostel, ECO certified**, modern, comfortable and welcoming. Located stone's throw from the old harbor and the city cultural center, in a quiet residential street. Facilities include a kitchen for guests, lounges and a Cafe. Laundry facilities and luggage storage on the site. Fast and free WI-FI across all areas. Free Computer access. Board games, children's corner. Movie nights. Hearty breakfast buffet with waffles and organic & vegan options. A wide selection of great rooms! Free linen is included in all rooms. Spacious shared/female only 10 bedded dorm rooms with en suite facilities and lockers (bring your own lock or buy one at the desk). Family rooms for up to 5 persons with en suite facilities and lockers. Comfortable twin/double rooms with shared or private facilities (towels included). No elevator in the building. Reception / Tour Desk / Cafe : open 24 hours a day. Our hostel staff knows the City inside out and are on hand to help with anything you need. All excursions, Car Rentals and Airport trips are bookable with free pickup / drop off. **Reykjavik Downtown Hostel is Eco Certified with the Nordic Swan. The certification is a trusted ecological label in the Nordic countries, which demonstrates a well-considered and thorough sustainability policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Reykjavik Downtown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Downtown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing