We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost like a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Reykjavik was our final destination in Iceland after almost 2-week-long roadtrip. We wanted a chance to relax in comfort and booked a double room with private bathroom, bedsheets and breakfast included.

It was exactly like staying in the hotel - comfortable beds, clean toilet and shower, yet at least 30% cheaper than a budget hotel. However, the room and toilet/shower were bigger than average, the breakfast was good and the location simply excellent - within short walking distance to everything.

The greek guy working at reception was very helpful - he gave us a lot of advices on where to go out for a bite to eat and what to do, and also arranged an airport transfer the last possible moment - actually the minivan has just left the hostel, but he called and asked them to come back for us. Much appreciated!

If I end up staying in Reykjavik again, I will stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaarila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 478 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Downtown Hostel is only a short hop, step and jump from all the main attractions in Reykjavik.... and the wonderful staff there will help you book any tours without any dramas at all. I couldn't believe how easy all the tour stuff was - and the tours pick you up from the front door! I stayed in a 10-bed dorm which was fantastic value, and gave me the opportunity to meet many different and interesting people. Quaint little kitchen in the 'backyard' is a cosy little place to make your dinner/have a cuppa. My advice - stay in a big dorm and save some money (its not like you'll be spending heaps of time in the room!....or you shouldn't be if you have gone to Iceland!).....and don't book any tours from your home country - get to Downtown and get their advice first.

Room Tip: 10 bed (female) dorm is warm and cosy with heaps of space - and a huge bathroom. ....AND it has dimm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terriPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed in a 10 bed female dorm, it was clean and quite spacious! The staff were always friendly and helpful when it came to booking buses to the airport and tours. The location is excellent. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brownteapots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Me and my girlfriend booked a private room in this hostel, and we were very happy with staying here. Our room looked exactly as a room in a good hotel, with comfortable beds, clean and modern bathroom and even a desk and chair. The location is right in the middle of the city center, near some very good restaurants. The shuttle bus to blue lagoon and to the airport also stop at this hotel (when asked for it). The staff was friendly and there was also good Internet availability. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Got to the hostel and it was great. My room was empty but it filled up before bedtime. 4 people to a room. One of them was a guy who didn't speak English and once he fell asleep he snored as loud as a jet engine. The guy under me woke him up and told him to try to stop. Few minutes later it happened again and I thought he was going to kill the guy haha. I got up and said "good luck" then left at 2am after about no sleep. I had an early flight anyway so it wasn't an issue. As far as the hostel goes, it was very nice and lots to do. Just make sure you have roommates that don't snore or ask to move maybe.

Room Tip: Get a room without a Snorlax :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 325irollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Let me tell you about Reykjavik Downtown Hostel: friendly and helpful staff, perfect location and very good/clean premises. Shower drain got clogged, but they addressed it immediately. The door lock problem took a while to be fixed, though. Be advised that it is not every padlock that locks the lockers – you need a thick one.
Being a bit obsessed with recycling, I loved the fact they are concerned about environmental issues as well. And the hostel is close to the place you can get your TAX refund!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacktwist00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Lots of room and super clean. All I could ask for in a hostel! A little pricey for what it is but worth it to save money in an expensive city.

The service is also wonderful- as are most people in Iceland.

Highly recommend

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
601 reviews
Hlemmur Square
#10 of 107 in Reykjavik
1,126 reviews
Miõborg
Loft HI Hostel
Loft HI Hostel
#5 of 107 in Reykjavik
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel

Address: Vesturgata 17, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: $48 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hostel, voted by guests as the Best HI Hostel worldwide 2015. A beautiful boutique HI Hostel, ECO certified**, modern, comfortable and welcoming. Located stone's throw from the old harbor and the city cultural center, in a quiet residential street. Facilities include a fully equipped kitchen for guests, lounges and a Cafe. Laundry facilities and luggage storage on the site. Fast and free WI-FI across all areas. Free Computer access. Board games, children's corner. Hearty breakfast buffet with organic & vegan options. A wide selection of great rooms! Free linen is included in all rooms. Spacious shared/female only 10 bedded dorm rooms with en suite facilities and lockers (bring your own lock or buy one at the desk). Family rooms for up to 5 persons with en suite facilities and lockers. Comfortable twin/double rooms with shared or private facilities (towels included). No elevator in the building. Reception / Tour Desk / Cafe : open 24 hours a day. Our hostel staff knows the City inside out and are on hand to help with anything you need. All excursions, Car Rentals and Airport trips are bookable with free pickup / drop off. **Reykjavik Downtown Hostel is Eco Certified with the Nordic Swan. The certification is a trusted ecological label in the Nordic countries, which demonstrates a well-considered and thorough sustainability policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Downtown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing