We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 14, 2012

It is s very nice place to stay, modern hostel, very clean. Very helpful staff (even at 3 in the morning). Great location - close to the centre of the city and 5 min walk to the harbour. The room was spacious with en-suite (clean!!!) More expensive that the City Hostel but it's higher standard too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trzy_ptaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

383 - 389 of 493 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

I stayed here three nights in a women's 10-bed dorm, and it was lovely. The room was modern, clean, roomy, and the beds were comfortable. There was also a nice ensuite bath and large lockers for each guest. There was room for two nice wicker arm chairs and table, with vintage posters on the walls. Security was great, desk staff helpful, and guest kitchen was well-stocked with utensils, baskets for storage, as well as communal items like tea and spices. The kitchen did get crowded with some serious self-caterers. Location was lovely--just a few blocks from the old town square, harbour, and a short walk on to all the downtown attractions. It was also a quite street, which is great if you need to get some sleep in the land of the midnight sun! The hostel will arrange pick-up for tours and airport buses. It was really the nicest hostel experience I've ever had.
Tip: don't purchase your Blue Lagoon entry at the hostel--you'll pay a few euros more.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtw_rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Well located and clean, Reykjavik Downtown Hostel was a lovely base to call home for our two night stay in Iceland. I'd recommend KEX for a drink/bar/social scene, but since my friend and I were jet lagged, we appreciated the quieter Reykyavik Downtown for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is not a hostel, it's an hotel ! :-) I'm joking, of course, but you really have the feeling of being in a hotel. This is because this hostel is really nice, with large rooms and big bathrooms. Reception staff is friendly and helpful. Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiaraK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I arrived early and was able to get checked in within a few minutes of my arrival. I was treated with respect, friendliness and kindness - something that is often lacking in the hospitality industry.
Breakfast buffet was adequate, just enough to get your day started. My curious day started with a well thoughtout tour from the receptionist who listened to my needs as a first time visitor.
Renting a car through the hostel was as esay as asking "where can I rent a car?". All arrangements were made and I was picked up at the front door of the hostel.
My overall experience was positive - the room was always cleaned and the facilities was laid out to make me feel at home and welcomed. The live music in the lobby was a surprise and the timing was right.
I am not a seasoned hosteller, however, I must say that this experience will make me think twice about accommodations the next time I travel.
Well done HI Reykjavik team!

Room Tip: Ask for budget single or twin room on top floor. Has view of harbor and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Out C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This hostel was excellent, very friendly and approachable staff. Staff went out of their way to find day trips and tours suitable for you. Rooms were very clean, lockers were available in each room. Bathrooms were very clean. The hostel is in a great location, easy walking distance to the harbour and the downtown shopping area. Would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone travelling to Iceland.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The location is absolutely perfect, you can walk everywhere from here within the city. The value for money ratio is good and the service is great. Very friendly and helpful guys and girls at reception. Nice facilities for breakfast, bought or self catering. Clean and comfortable. Loved it there and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biene1486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
4th Floor Hotel
#48 of 55 in Reykjavik
414 reviews
Hlemmur Square
#9 of 110 in Reykjavik
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Loft HI Hostel
Loft HI Hostel
#5 of 110 in Reykjavik
425 reviews
Galaxy Pod Hostel
#2 of 110 in Reykjavik
256 reviews
Miõborg
Kex Hostel
Kex Hostel
#4 of 110 in Reykjavik
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel

Address: Vesturgata 17, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: $49 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hostel, voted by guests as the Best HI Hostel worldwide 2015. A beautiful boutique HI Hostel, ECO certified**, modern, comfortable and welcoming. Located stone's throw from the old harbor and the city cultural center, in a quiet residential street. Facilities include a fully equipped kitchen for guests, lounges and a Cafe. Laundry facilities and luggage storage on the site. Fast and free WI-FI across all areas. Free Computer access. Board games, children's corner. Hearty breakfast buffet with organic & vegan options. A wide selection of great rooms! Free linen is included in all rooms. Spacious shared/female only 10 bedded dorm rooms with en suite facilities and lockers (bring your own lock or buy one at the desk). Family rooms for up to 5 persons with en suite facilities and lockers. Comfortable twin/double rooms with shared or private facilities (towels included). No elevator in the building. Reception / Tour Desk / Cafe : open 24 hours a day. Our hostel staff knows the City inside out and are on hand to help with anything you need. All excursions, Car Rentals and Airport trips are bookable with free pickup / drop off. **Reykjavik Downtown Hostel is Eco Certified with the Nordic Swan. The certification is a trusted ecological label in the Nordic countries, which demonstrates a well-considered and thorough sustainability policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Downtown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing