We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

The hotel is quite central, friendly staff, clean, the rooms are very pleasant and the beds confortable. Couldn't hope for best !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hey_joh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    152
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
30
114
169
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Urbana, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

I've been traveling a lot and had a lot of experiences with hostels but this, is the one, everything is outstanding. It's location is great, 2min walk to the town center, although the pavement is amazingly slippery in winter.. Room's nice, bright and clean, lockers are spacious, bathroom is per dorm but the they clean it at least daily. Staff members are very very very helpful. Great stay (:

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zitian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

This was the first time I stayed here, and couldn't have been happier. The hostel was always very clean, we often saw staff cleaning rooms or sweeping floors. Speaking of staff, they are all so nice and very easy to talk to. Everyone is very eager to help and will offer assistance whenever necessary. The lobby is very nice and cozy, also a great place to meet and hang out with other travelers. The kitchen is great, you can often find food and toiletries left behind by other guests so it makes a cost effective alternate to eating out every night (which is expensive in Iceland). We had an issue with a roommate (we were in a 10 bed dorm) for a couple nights so the staff let us stay in another room. Much appreciated!

NB: If you are taking a big bus with Reykjavik Excursions from the airport, they let you off at City Center which is about 2-3 blocks away. Just be ready to wheel or carry your luggage with you the rest of the way, though it is an easy walk.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krpnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

This is a great hostel. The staff were outstandingly helpful and were able to book all our tours for us. The rooms were lovely and clean as were the bathrooms. The location is great and near to loads of restaurants and the main street. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

Helpful cheery staff, great rooms, clean and spacious, good atmosphere and all this real cheap.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raynarryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

This hostel was something of a disappointment for me, especially after reading the reviews. The location is quite good as it is in a neighborhood on the west side of town where it is easy to reach the harbor. Next to that the cleanliness was passible, although it varied throughout the hostel: my 10 bed dorm was emptied of trash every day, but the guest kitchen (a separate building) was usually littered with dirty pans and overflowing trash.
From here on out things were mostly geared towards getting good reviews, to the point of excess. Wait times at the tour desk were excessive and less informed than my outdated lonely planet, membership in hosteling international was mandatory if you wanted to get the preferred rates (a lousy setup in today's world), and the bathrooms were nice but minimal. And when I say minimal I mean there were very few of them. The building must have been apartments in a previous life because there were no bathrooms in any of the hallways. This meant either waiting forever to get into the stinky bathroom in the 10 bed dorm (where I stayed) or going all the way downstairs to the reception (you leave one building and step immediately into the next). Why not put one into the hallway?
I stayed during a busy weekend, and perhaps that was to do with the poor review, but fair is fair. All in all not the beginning to my european travels that I expected, but things got better elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDHmanager, Manager at Reykjavik Downtown Hostel, responded to this review, January 21, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and observation. Information like this does help us to plan and train our team on customer service and area information. I would like to apologize that our hostel did not meet your expectation.
Been not for profit, Hostelling International (worldwide) is a membership organization that opens its facilities to everyone regardless of cultures. In an effort to bring individuals together and promote cultural understanding, our facilities are designed with common spaces, such as a kitchen and we also ask our guests to make themselves at home.
It is our hope that we may be able to regain your trust in order to welcome you back to our Hostel in the near future.

Sincerely
Sigríður Ólafsdóttir, manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

I stayed at the Downtown Hostel for three nights and as many reviewers have noted, this hostel is beyond outstanding. Spotlessly clean both in the rooms and public areas, comfortable beds, wonderfully helpful staff, excellent location, reasonable price - this place can't be beat. The 10 person mixed-gender dorm room was well laid-out, with very nice lockers, ensuite toilet and shower with cubbies in the bathroom for each person to put their toiletries, a window that could be opened or shut as was comfortable, and plenty of room for everyone. Every staff person I dealt with was incredibly patient and helpful, answering myriad questions, booking a next-day tour late in the evening for me, giving honest, helpful advice about local attractions, and having a sincerely helpful attitude. In the lobby/reception area, you can buy delicious Skyr (Icelandic yogurt) and what looked to be incredible baked goods at any hour. There is a computer and also free wifi, and plenty of outlets in the common area. (There were only a couple outlets in the room, but everytime I needed to charge my phone one was free). The hostel is within walking distance to just about everything you'd want to see in Reykjavik. In short, this place is perfect!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Hlemmur Square
#9 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Galaxy Pod Hostel
#2 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Downtown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Downtown Hostel

Property: Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
Address: Vesturgata 17, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Reykjavik Downtown Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hostel, recently voted by guests as the Best HI Hostel worldwide 2015. A beautiful boutique HI Hostel, ECO certified**, modern, comfortable and welcoming. Located stone's throw from the old harbor and the city cultural center, in a quiet residential street. Facilities include a kitchen for guests, lounges and a Cafe. Laundry facilities and luggage storage on the site. Fast and free WI-FI across all areas. Free Computer access. Board games, children's corner. Movie nights. Hearty breakfast buffet with waffles and organic & vegan options. A wide selection of great rooms! Free linen is included in all rooms. Spacious shared/female only 10 bedded dorm rooms with en suite facilities and lockers (bring your own lock or buy one at the desk). Family rooms for up to 5 persons with en suite facilities and lockers. Comfortable twin/double rooms with shared or private facilities (towels included). No elevator in the building. Reception / Tour Desk / Cafe : open 24 hours a day. Our hostel staff knows the City inside out and are on hand to help with anything you need. All excursions, Car Rentals and Airport trips are bookable with free pickup / drop off. **Reykjavik Downtown Hostel is Eco Certified with the Nordic Swan. The certification is a trusted ecological label in the Nordic countries, which demonstrates a well-considered and thorough sustainability policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reykjavik Downtown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Downtown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing