We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Odinn Reykjavik Apartments
Ranked #13 of 109 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Literally just returned (5/8/11) from seven days in Reykjavik staying at the Odinn. Great value for money, costing 840 euros. We had a triple room next to the communal kitchen. It appeared that we were the only guests using the kitchen so effectively it was like staying in a small flat. The Odinn is spotlessly clean and all the facilities are modern. The choice of food at breakfast time (8am to 10am) was extensive and the breakfast room itself is on the third floor with great views over the city and to the glacier beyond.

The owner, Olafur, was always prompt in his replies to our emails when organising the stay and whilst we were there he was very friendly and helpful, for example getting on the phone on our behalf to check details of proposed outings.

Small downsides are that some nights we were disturbed by others, tourists or locals, making their way home noisily and the shared bathroom (ourselves and up to two other rooms nearby) had the potential to be frustrating though in practice it wasn't much of a problem.

All things considered, a great place to stay, superb location for all the attractions of a classy city and the use of a kitchen helps to keep costs down.

Room Tip: Ask for a discount if staying for more than say three nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 109 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2011

We appreciated very much the kindness of the Odinn-owner who answered very patiently all our questions and who took us to the bus station, so that we could manage to catch the bus to the airport!
Besides the guest house is good located and has a very pleasant kitchen or living room!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbu72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseOdinn, Manager at Odinn Reykjavik Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2011

Dear guests,
Thank you very much for the feed-back and I am glad you enjoyed the stay with us. It was my pleasure to take you to the Bus Terminal in order for you to catch the FlyBus to Keflavik airport. ... so you would not miss the flight back home.
Wish you all the best and hope to see you again one day.
Kind regards from ODINN Guesthouse,
Olafur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Guesthouse Odinn has played a bigger role than we ever believed it would during our trip to Iceland. If you haven't been to Iceland yet, make it happen! The panoramic scenery is breathtaking. I concluded that only poets can do justice to the beauty of this country: they have a magical way of putting words together to bring about feelings. Icelandic nature is unlike anything seen elsewhere on such a scale - it stirs your soul!

We arrived in Iceland with the intention of traveling for a week. We rented a car to do so. We stayed at Guesthouse Odinn for the first two nights, traveling to the north western peninsula on the first day and returning to Reykjavik for the night. The next day was to see us travel through the southern part of the country. After two hours of driving (stopping many times for picture opportunities), we unfortunately had an accident. The network of roads are great with over 130,000 km of roads in the country, but for some reason, we hit the gravel on the side of a perfectly straight road, and ended up skidding and flipping 4 times before coming to a stop, in a field of moss. No other car was involved in the accident.

Immediately, cars stopped and made all the necessary calls. Everyone who stopped did their best to help the situation. Within minutes, police and ambulance crews were on site to take care of business. The level of professionalism was unsurpassed. Two passengers needed to be transferred to hospital in ambulances and upon arrival, treatments received were of first class and the care given was outstanding. In the end, all four passengers walked from the incident with very minor bruises. Unfortunately, our insurance company required us to pay first and the get reimbursed. To my amazement, the cost of ambulance and hospital services turned out to be so much more affordable than I would have thought.

On the day of the accident, with no where to go, we called the owner of Guesthouse Odinn to see whether there was room for us. He accommodated our needs by being able to provide us with rooms for the next 6 nights: we had decided we needed to stay in Reykjavik to heal our bruises. He managed to provide us with rooms that were somewhat isolated from the main areas so that we could feel more comfortable. On the last two days, we were given an apartment-like area where he chose to not rent one of the rooms that was part of that area so we could have more privacy. The owner did everything he could to make our stay as comfortable as possible, providing extra comforters to allow one of us to sleep sitting as injuries prevented sleeping flat on the bed.

Guesthouse Odinn is so clean! The care taken to keep it clean and beautiful is certainly worth an 'excellence in cleanliness' award. There are many rooms, each simple, beautiful and equipped with very comfortable beds and bedding (loved to crawl under the wonderful comforter for a night's sleep). Breakfast is served on the third floor, which includes food to satisfy all tastes. Breakfast was always a wonderful part of the day because of the food and the view from the window, overlooking part of the city, the ocean and the northwestern peninsula. There is also an equipped kitchen on the second floor which we have used and enjoyed.

Iceland is not a cheap place to travel. Accommodation and food are quite expensive in comparison of many other places. In the end, after spending a week in Reykjavik, I believe that the average price per person we paid for accommodation at Guesthouse Odinn turned out to be good value for money (we took the total cost of accommodation and divided it by four - having one double and two single rooms to account for).

Other guests who stayed at Odinn seemed to have enjoyed their stay: we often spoke with other guests during breakfast time. All in all, since this review is for Guesthouse Odinn, I certainly give it a 10 out of 10 for everything it has to offer. If you reserve a room before going to Iceland and think that the price is a bit much (by comparison to what you'd expect at home or other places you've traveled to), I recommend that you check other places in Reykjavik (on the internet) and you'll quickly realize that accommodation is expensive everywhere in Iceland! Guesthouse Odinn sits comfortably in the range of average accommodation cost for a quality room in Reykjavik.

Iceland has so much to offer: incredible people and phenomenal landscapes - what are you waiting for :)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gypsies2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Warm and informative welcome, friendly and helpful staff. We had a very nice stay: rooms are very nice and clean. Excellent location near the town centre.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bedi030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tiana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
640 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eyja Guldsmeden Hotel
#6 of 54 in Reykjavik
245 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,218 reviews
Miõborg
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Odinn Reykjavik Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Odinn Reykjavik Apartments

Address: Odinsgata 9, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Formerly Guesthouse Odinn)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range: $241 - $615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Óðinn Reykjavík is a independent Hotel and Tour Operator in Reykjavík, Iceland. Specialized in creating the dream vacation for small groups an families. Óðinn Reykjavík runs a luxury apartment hotel in the heart of Reykjavík. Furthermore we provide our guests with the option of creating a mesmerizing sightseeing tour in Iceland, driven in a brand new Mercedes Sprinter with panorama windows. Our tours are known for creating a cozy an friendly atmosphere during the tours as well as for the spontaneous stops along the road, allowing our guests to get to know secret spots in Iceland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Odinn Reykjavik Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing