We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food but......depending on days the service is lacklustre”
Review of Gallery Restaurant

Gallery Restaurant
Ranked #154 of 473 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $85
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Gallery Restaurant was chosen the best restaurant in Iceland 2012 by Nordic Prize.The restaurant is set in an intimate room with beautiful artwork all around and offer several kinds of private rooms for groups and individual. The selection of our gourmet menus includes fresh Icelandic ingredients, steaks and seafood for lunch and dinner. Gallery Restaurant has never been better than right now, whether you are looking for a romantic meal with your loved one, dinner with friends or a family feast, this is the place to celebrate all that is good in life.Our walk-in wine cellar includes about 4000 vintage wines - why not try wine tasting in our cellar to set the mood for a memorable evening?Open every day from 12-14pm and 18-22:30pm.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food but......depending on days the service is lacklustre”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Over the past month I have returned to Gallery restaurant 3 times. Each time the food was excellent. The beef is fantastic, the fish dishes are fresh and perfectly spiced and as usual the wine list is extensive.

On two of the occasions we had a very nice waiter: helpful, knowledgable and extremely friendly.

Last time around it was a different one and at some point, on top of the pushy serving and rough movements, we thought this person was mocking us and talking us down. Not a very pleasant experience but luckily the food was great.

I usually give a second chance to all waiters and I will be back and hopefully this was an isolated event (although I have heard from others that this person is plain rude at times).

Still the best "côte de boeuf" in town

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ON_iceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saradogg, Owner at Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear ON_Iceland.

Thank you for the kind words about our food and most often about our service. Since you are one our many loyal return guests, it is very important that we listen and learn from your review. I would greatly appreciate it if you would please contact me at your convenience to help me find out when you dined with us so we can investigate fully and make sure we take the necessary measures to eliminate this sort of behaviour from our team.

Warm regards,
Friðgeir Ingi Eiríksson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    35
    15
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
“really nice restaurant in center of reykjavik”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

high class french cousine. super good restaurant, beautiful, tasty and honest food with really nice presentation. the bar is really nice old school with huge wine collection recommended for people that are into french wines and of course all sorts of wines specially wisky

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeturOrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saradogg, Owner at Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Pétursson,
Thank you very much for writing us a great review.
I hope to see you at Gallery Restaurant when you visit Iceland soon.
Enjoy Norway !

Warm regards,
Friðgeir Ingi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Knoll Shores, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Never Expect It but Great”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Iceland of all places to find Cordon Blue Chefs, fresh fish (OK we expected that), fresh veggies from their miles of hothouses, and wonderful presentation. This is one of the top places to eat in Iceland and there are many! The service & the ambiance are superb. Don't miss it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Franco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Outstanding menu and preparation”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Try a little of the local food here or have classic European or American well prepared and elegantly served.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“‘Old world’ ambiance & great food”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great ‘old world’ ambiance - dining surrounded by magnificent works of art. The food measures up. We had a fine dining experience ordering the Chef’s Menu. The wines were also excellent. My only disappointment was the lamb being too done, but everything else was perfection. Service was attentive but not great, but overall it was a successful evening and I recommend!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Azadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gallery Restaurant also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Gallery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing