We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous introduction to a beautiful country.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iceland on Track - CLOSED

Iceland on Track
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous introduction to a beautiful country.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

I found Iceland on Track online. We booked two formal tours through IOT and they arranged a spur of the moment tour of a geothermal power plant for us. We took the Golden Circle Super Jeep tour. Our guide, Oli was the greatest. Though the super jeep is more expensive than the bus tour, we felt is was worth it because of the personal attention and flexibility it gave us. We tried to get up to the glacier, but the road conditions did not cooperate. We also took the Northern Lights tour. They pushed us to take the tour on the same night as the Golden Circle Tour. We thought they were just doing it for their convenience, but this was not so. They pushed us because they knew it was our best chance to see the aurora, given solar and earth weather. They really wanted us to have the best possible experience, which we deeply appreciate.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    1
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good, but not worth the higher price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

We recently visited Iceland and knew that the Golden Circle tour was not to be missed. We also wanted to do the hour snowmobile ride, so I searched around for reviews on trip advisor for companies that offer this trip. Iceland on Track came out on top with the best reviews, although they charged 36000 kronas for the trip, whereas most of the other companies charge around 34200. We thought we didn't mind paying the extra cost as the reviews were so good.

We were picked up just before 9am (despite being told that the Super Jeep would be outside our hotel at 8.30am) and there were only two other people in the group. We then had to go to three other hotels and wait around for people who had also booked the tour, however they weren't ready and waiting outside of their hotel, so our tour guide had to go in and try to wake them up - this didn't happen, so we wasted a lot of time on waiting for these people who were too lazy/hungover to be ready on time!

Our tour guide started off a bit slow, he didn't seem to want to be there, was unenthusiastic and didn't give us as many facts about Iceland as it seems the other tour guides on trips others have been on do. He started to warm up a bit more after the first few stops and by the time we got onto the glacier for the snowmobile ride, he was much more enthusiastic. The snowmobile ride was great, would definitely recommend to all!! I don't know why we didn't get the off-road experience others seem to have written about on here either!! We were on main roads the whole time.

On our way back to Reykjavik we got talking with the other two people on our trip and they said they had booked their Golden Circle tour through Reykjavik Excursions and only paid 34200 - they were on the exact same trip as us!! Yet we paid 36000. Throughout the whole tour, there was no mention of Iceland on Track at any point, the Super Jeep had 'Mountaineers of Iceland' on the side of it, so I'm not sure what this was all about. I have emailed Iceland on Track to ask about this and see if I can get a refund for the difference paid for the exact same trip, but I have not even had a reply from them. Very disappointing.

I would honestly recommend booking with the cheaper companies as it seems they all use the same Super Jeep companies in the end anyway.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our tours were wonderful and unforgettable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

The four of us could not have had a better time seeing the wonders of Iceland with our guide Oli Kristjansson, who combined skill and knowledge with graciousness and good humor. We did two tours with Oli and only wish we could have done more. We could not recommend him more highly!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank sandywillBrookline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Professional & Knowledgable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

Iceland on Track did a great job with our Gullfoss Geysir Extreme Tour. Omar (one of the owners) was a wealth of information and very professional. We had a group of 7 total, which was perfect. We had such a personalized experience & were so happy we weren't on one of those massive tour buses herding groups around. Omar's customized truck was high-end and equipped with audio so he could speak on a mic while driving. Everywhere we stopped, people gawked at his truck & took pictures. It gave us a good laugh. I highly recommend Iceland on Track to others! You'll feel like a VIP. (helpful tips: wear lots of layers, many spots are WINDY. bring gloves and your own water/snacks. the tour stops for lunch, but is long enough that you might want some additional sustenance.)

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank 2Ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Guided Tour is the Perfect way to start a trip to Iceland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

Omar took us on two private day tours when we first arrived in Iceland. The first day there was a lot of ash falling in the area where we were originally planned to go so he had a couple of great alternate suggestions. We ended up driving on a glacier and going through an ice cave, crawling through a lava cave, and seeing lots of amazing sights. I think it ended being better than our original plan would have been! The next day we went on some amazing hikes, seeing amazing waterfalls, and hiking up a glacier. It was really an amazing time and it felt so much more natural than being on a canned tour. Omar will go at whatever speed you like and we really enjoyed getting do much more than we expected! I highly reccommend doing a guided tour with Iceland on Track!!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ssedlac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iceland on Track also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing