We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is not really authentic, and service is poor”
Review of Nepalese Kitchen

Nepalese Kitchen
Ranked #65 of 465 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This place is temporarily closed. It plans to reopen mid of April 2017. Nepalese Kitchen restaurant offers a delicately spiced Nepalese and Indian Grill & Curry. Kitchen's Nepalese dishes originate predominantly in the Newari cuisine, praised for its rich taste as well as for its dietary benefits. All our food is glutein free. If you have any allergies, please let us know and we will adjust the food for you.
Versailles, France
Level Contributor
200 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Food is not really authentic, and service is poor”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I was at this restaurant in December 2013.
The waiter was very stressful (almost rude) as soon as we arrived because his staff was on vacation and he had to cater to all the customers all by himself. Therefore, the service was extremely long (it took him one hour and a half to serve us a couple of beers, and then another one hour to serve us our entry and main dish).
The food was average minus (I understand that for most westerners, this would be considered good Indian food, but I can assure you that true Indian food is way better than this. My understanding is that there is very little competition in terms of Indian restaurants in Iceland, and very few native Indians to "test" the food).
What is more, prices were very high for an Indian restaurant.

Disappointing experience ...

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lacordaire83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    160
    59
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Just what you need to warm you up on a cold winters evening. Staff were great food was excellent. Very well priced. Would recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joy020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High quality Nepalese food with original flavour.”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We ate here on our first day in Reykjavik in mid November. The staff were very welcoming and the food was excellent. Would recommend to anyone. Fresh and authentic.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jhrathband27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had dinner on Christmas Day, we enjoyed the mixed grill and my wife ordered chickpeas. Both tasteful, little meat on the plate but ok...very friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank Vrslider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“odd tasting food/rude”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We had Nepalese food before so when our dishes arrived (veg korma and lamb special that owner recommended) we couldn't believe how odd it all tasted - not salty, not sweet, not sour, but somehow bitter and bland at the same time - very odd. Rice was dry, tasteless too. Veggies probably just steamed and tossed inside, so everything was just a mush.

Owner was bossing the new waitress around. She brought our food and tried to place it in front of us; he cut her off mid sentence and took the dish from her hand mid-air and said something in abrasive tone. He also used the same tone with me when I said food was not very good.

We couldn't believe our eyes - we finally FOUND ONE RUDE PERSON in the whole ICELAND!! We were beginning to think they didn't have any.

we paid about 80$ for dinner. Def NOT worth it and wouldn't recommend it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LatteAddict12333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nepalese Kitchen also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Nepalese Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing