We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sets the standard for guided tours”
Review of Iceland Horizon

Iceland Horizon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Operating only a few select daily scheduled tours which are always in small groups, Iceland Horizon is a small, family run tour operation with no intention of becoming a large bus company. Our philosophy has always been that you are travelling on a guided tour and the bus is just a means of transport, keeping the experience more personal, friendly and fun for both travellers and guides. We also arrange tours for groups wanting a private or individual arrangement.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
244 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Sets the standard for guided tours”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We did this tour on our own the first time we visited Iceland some years ago and we found the experience so much better and fulfilling thanks to the excellent tour guiding done by Dave. The tour itself gives a great overview of Iceland, its history and its people, and basically covers the major sites in south west Iceland. It cannot be overstated that our tour operator was exceptional - Intelligent, thoughtful, on-time, and a consummate professional through and through.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Volkolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,214
    88
    15
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chigwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend - Golden Circle Tour !”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We booked with Iceland Horizon for our Golden Circle Tour (consist of 3 – Thingvellir National Park, Geysers & Gullfos (Golden Waterfall) and I would highly recommend. We joined the tour on 22 April 2013. We were only a small group in a mini-bus. Our tour guide and driver - David -he is very friendly, entertaining. He provided a lot of information with regards to Iceland population, geography, history etc - very informative!. We first visited a place called Kerid, a volcanic crater lake small waterfall. We pulled over to see some horses. Majority of us got off the bus and took some photos while stroking those horses. It was amusing to see the horses scratching their back and head to the fence/pole. We then headed to the Thingvellir National Park. It was windy and started to rain so we rushed. The view from the top was remarkable. Then the last stop was the geysers - we walked around and we nearly got wet - just missed a second from spouting geysers! We really enjoyed our one day tour. I would recommend that you with Iceland Horizon!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank slruiz67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great, informative tour”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time on this tour. Our guide, David, was very friendly and informative and made the day fun. David gave us an overview of the day to begin with so we could decide where to eat lunch etc.

It was a reasonably small group on a mini bus which was great. Meant we could stop occasionally, like to see the Icelandic horses, and did not have to wait for 60 people to get on and off the bus.
We made a few extra little scenic stops also which I doubt would be possible with a big group.

The places we visited were great. All must sees for a short visit. Unfortunately the weather wasn't great for us but David rearranged the order of places to visit to ensure we had the best weather possible in each place.

I definitely recommend this tour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant day”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was a great trip, and David our guide kept us entertained throughout with stories about Iceland and Icelanders. The sights are amazing!

I think a mini-bus tour like this is better than the big tour buses - we were able to pull over at the roadside to see some horses, and when we arrived at an attraction we were only 15 people trying to see something rather than 60. Be aware though that it's a bit more cramped than a big bus, with not such a good view out of the windows.

We loved it and would use Iceland Horizon again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank johnwccres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Snaefellness trip- all 4 seasons every hour.”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We did the same trip as 606gerald (although we did not know that).It was amazing..however there are only 6 people in the world including our unflappable guide Gerta who will ever experience this trip. It could not be replicated due to the weather conditions on that day.We had the experience of driving through a white out blizzard,dropping down to sea level and being able to see for miles, then climbing through snow topped lava fields ending up eating dried shark in an isolated museum.
It felt that we were explorers not tourists as we travelled empty roads seeing only locals.
We really had the best time- although hiking along a cliff edge in a snow storm trying to take photographs might take some more practice.
I had travelled with Iceland Horizons on a previous trip to Iceland. It was the obvious choice again this time and the small groups taken on each trip came into its own this time.
Book this trip....but don't expect to see what we saw.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank markhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iceland Horizon also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Iceland Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing