We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss This!”
Review of Iceland Horizon

Iceland Horizon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Operating only a few select daily scheduled tours which are always in small groups, Iceland Horizon is a small, family run tour operation with no intention of becoming a large bus company. Our philosophy has always been that you are travelling on a guided tour and the bus is just a means of transport, keeping the experience more personal, friendly and fun for both travellers and guides. We also arrange tours for groups wanting a private or individual arrangement.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This!”
Reviewed June 15, 2011

What a fabulous tour! And it is all the more interesting and fun with Dave from Iceland Horizons Tours. This company is smaller than the normal big ones so you get more attention and details. Dave is the perfect guide with a wonderful mix of history and humor. He has a deep knowledge of Iceland and being a British transplant to the country speaks perfect English. If you plan to take any tour while in Iceland, this is the one to take

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank ronco0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,237
    90
    16
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, USA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A great guide!”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

David was fantastic. The tour was very informative. His love of the country was evident.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank tahawus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Odinn was an amazing guide; great, small group tour”
Reviewed June 10, 2011

The tour was phenomenal. Our guide, Odinn, was incredibly responsive and informative. Given the small size of the group, we were able to adjust our schedule to accommodate the weather. We were also able to stop and interact with a small group of Icelandic horses... something you just can't do on one of the big tours!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank lo60435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I Left Wanting More....”
Reviewed June 2, 2011

My recent trip to Iceland culminated with a tour of the Golden Circle hosted by David of Iceland Horizon. David apologizes for speaking so much, but he is so full of knowledge of the country and he wants to share it with his guests...no complaints here. His stories weren't "canned" and you felt his pride of being a part of the Icelandic culture. David watches for the crowds and changed the order of destinations visited to minimize congestion with the other tour groups on the same route. The tour group was small and inviting. Iceland Horizon will be my first contact on my next trip to Iceland.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank K1SMET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Do this tour first”
Reviewed May 26, 2011

A great introduction to Iceland. David provides the perfect introduction to the country, not only the sights but an insight into the essence of the place. Entertaining and informative with the personal touch. He uses a minibus rather than a big coach, which has advantages in flexibility and avoiding the crowds, as far as this is possible for such a popular circuit. this will set you up for a great holiday in Iceland.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Merlyn29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iceland Horizon also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Iceland Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing